We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great food, very nice hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hibiscusgarden

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lagartero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hibiscusgarden
Save
You added Hotel Hibiscusgarden to your Saves list
Playa Lagartero, Lagartero, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lagartero
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great food, very nice hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We just spent 5 fantastic days between Playa Lagartero and Santa Catalina. Hibiscus Garden has it all: unique location at the beginning of a very long and beautiful beach where you can walk, ride a horse, find amazing shells, swim, wakeboard, do some paddle board...depending on the tide.
You can relax on a hammock, watch amazing birds, enjoy great meals meanwhile talking to charming hosts, Rosie and Simon, just adorable.
The road to Santa Catalina is easy, so you can go surfing or diving to Coiba or just enjoy the peaceful and lovely atmosphere of the village. We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    34
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
79
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salta, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at Hibiscus garden 2 nights and could easily have stayed longer even though we don't surf.

Simon, the manager, was absolutely charming and spent lots of time socialising with us and making us feel at home.

The food was impeccable and pretty reasonable considering the remoteness and quality. There is also a satisfactory kitchen to use if you want to cook for yourself.

A brilliantly chilled 2 days, I look forward to going back!


Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The place was great, rustic and nice for us with two kids in a family room with bunk beds. And the cost for the room was reasonable. I agree the food is quite expensive, but Sven is an incredible chef with some amazing concoctions. Rosi and Simon are amazing hosts. The beach is great for beach combing, but remember it's the Pacific and it's brown/muddy. There's tons of space and there's a well-equipped kitchen. The road sucks and you should have a 4WD to get there. It's 10km from town, but we were very happy to stay outside of town than in Santa Catalina which didn't seem like it was worth the raving.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Hibiscus Garden because we wanted to dive Coiba, and this looked like the nicest place around Santa Catalina. I was worried at first about being "out of town", but it turns out "town" wasn't much to speak of, so I was really happy with our choice. The place has a nice vibe, we met and swapped stories and tips with a bunch of friendly fellow travellers during the two nights we were there, and I'd have happily stayed longer if we weren't so pushed for time. Simon and Rosie were charming hosts, and Fred (apparently a stand-in for the regular chef) cooked excellent food.

There are several buildings, dotted around a rambling property, nestled among trees between a mangrove creek and a long, deserted beach with views of islands and mountains. Rooms are pretty rustic but cheerful, ours had a balcony with hammock, and a decent bathroom. There's a communal kitchen/dining area if you want self-catering, and a lovely outdoor bar/restaurant area which is a really nice place to sit, eat, drink and chat, I could have stayed there all night.

The only slight niggle is the dirt road getting into the property, which I was a bit worried about tackling after some heavy weather the day before we left. But I managed to get out without any trouble in my rented Hyundai, even with four people and luggage, and I'm sure it's not a problem in the dry season. In any case, if you want off the beaten track, you have to take the rough with the smooth.

Thanks to everyone at Hibiscus Garden... I wish we didn't have to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice place in the nature with all you need to chill out... walks, horses, nice view, beach, river
Simon and Glenn are greats hosts, they offered us amazing nights...the english-kiwi "duetto" is perfect!

Fred prepared us excellent food ... I'm italian and hard to pleas :)

Simon's projet about organic agriculture, and creating new cabanas more merged in the nature are great ideas for this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was an amazing discovery! Very remote and somewhat crude, this was the perfect escape from city life. Room was simple, with just bed, bath, balcony. The grounds were manicured, surrounded by jungle and beautiful green rolling hills. On a bay, versus the ocean, the water was calm and provided an amazing opportunity for shelling. I came home with about 50 perfect sand dollars.

The staff was wonderful. Simon, a delightfully funny Brit, was a great host and we had several wonderful conversations in their restaurant. Co-host Glenn, an equally entertaining Kiwi, kept us laughing all evening. Their chef Fred, was very talented and served up some wonderful meals for us. It was really tough to leave.

Owners are a young couple from Germany who are equally gracious. They have two cute little nature girls who run around the property exploring all that they can.

It was a great, truly relaxing visit. Will definitely return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A little off the beaten track, this hotel is a chilled-out, low key sort of place. The beach itself wasn't really for us, but coming from Grand Cayman it's hard to find a beach we can really enjoy. It didn't matter, because we had a great time relaxing, drinking, and eating at this place. Simon was a wonderful host, very attentive without being intrusive, and himself and Glenn were great company. We ended up playing cards until the wee hours in the restaurant, after an amazing fresh dinner (some of the best food we had throughout our entire trip) and numerous drinks. Simon makes a great Cuba Libre, with fresh limes right off the tree (not sure if they're still growing or not).

The rooms are comfortable enough, if you're used to fiive star rooms with tightly sealed windows you'll be disappointed, as the rooms are airy and have more of an outdoor feeling. The owner has done extensive work in the rooms and across the pubic areas, we especially love the inset mosaics as a nice touch.

Definitely would recommend this place to anyone passing through the area.

ps: Don't expect a high-speed internet connection, in this part of the world it's best to assume you will be disconnected, which we found quite refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hibiscusgarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hibiscusgarden

Address: Playa Lagartero, Lagartero, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Lagartero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lagartero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hibiscusgarden Hotel & Restaurant is run by a German family with 2 little daughters.It is situated right on the Pacific coast in the province of Veraguas next to the little fishermen village called Lagartero and close to the touristic town of Santa Catalina.The hotel has 9 individual designed guestrooms of different comfort- and price levels, which are decorated with natural accessories like driftwood, shells and mosaics, as well as a camping site.We offer the use of a clean and well equipped communal kitchen as well as a Restaurant, which offers a fine selection of regional and international specialties. You can enjoy a wide range of leisure activities around our remote beach, like horseback riding or wakeboarding and we will be happy to help you to arrange trips to our famous Nationalpark Coiba for snorkeling, diving and wildlife watching.We hope to see you soon! Your Hibiscusgarden Team. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hibiscusgarden Hotel Lagartero
Hotel Hibiscusgarden Panama/Lagartero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hibiscusgarden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.