We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location for close to Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ascot Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ascot Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ascot Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   308-318 Great Eastern Highway, Ascot, Belmont, Western Australia 6104, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ascot
Del Valle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice Location for close to Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I am a traveling nanny and my client put me up here after a long (19 hr flight) to rest up before we started traveling together. Since we would meet up at the airport in a day, it was nice to be close to the airport. I know someone said it was a $20 taxi fee but I paid $10.50 AU to get to it and $12 AU to get back to airport.

Rooms are apartment size and while simple furniture, everything was clean and organized. I decided to use the hot tub to work out some long flight muscles and it was great. I didn't use what looked like a lap pool but it was clean and looked nice.

The grounds are well managed and the check in people were very nice and helpful. There is a McDonald's next store and there is a chinese restaurant across the street but this is a very busy 4 lane street so unless you hit it where there is a lull in traffic, I would hesitate to go. You can also have food delivered for a $5 surcharge.

The staff helped me arrange a taxi the next morning. I thought it would be noisy considering it was on such a major street but it was very quiet in the apartment (I did have one not facing the street)

I would definitely stay here again if being close to the airport was important and didn't need to be in the center of Perth for sight seeing.

Room Tip: I would request a room that didn't face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    27
    11
    1
See reviews for
7
19
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Only for business - certainly not for holidays.

Pros:
Comparative good value for hotels in Perth. Hotels in Perth are extraordinarily expensive. This is in part because of the mining community and high-occupancy rate in Perth.
Spacious, clean rooms.
Has washing machine etc - so good for long-term business trips.

Cons:
These apartments are not close to anything of interest nor are they close to the business district.
They are expensive for what they are (but everything is in Perth).
Not that close to the airport - you may aswell go into town.
Reception not open 24 hours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Let's face it, you are not going here for the holiday of a lifetime. But if you want somewhere clean, spacious and convenient for the airport then this place will fit the bill. Stayed there for one night only but was not troubled by noise from other rooms or the highway. Price was ok by Perth standards (which are ridiculous). The roadworks are a bit of a pain but not too bad and finding the place was easy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I would rate this as a 3 star motel - hardly the four star hotel as indicated on some sites. I suppose you expect the loud highway noise, but as others have said, you also get the noise from adjacent rooms with thin walls. Taxi charged $20 from domestic airport - hard to find entrance among all the roadworks. No shuttle available. Nose is assaulted by the strong chemical cleaning fluid/deodorant. Despite many reviewers objecting to this, the management replies that 'one of these improvements is the way we present our apartments for each guest arrival with the use of cleaning chemicals and deodorisers.' Why don't they listen to customers? I spent 15 minutes trying to get the TV to work (not helped by inaccurate information in guestbook) and then nearly an hour trying to get a connection to the internet (no wifi) - broken cable, new cable didn't connect - finally advised by reception that it didn't work with Macs. (A notice to this effect would alleviate the frustration of Mac users.) No decent food nearby (Chinese restaurant across the road if you want to brave the non-stop traffic and roadworks). 15" pizza delivered for $31 plus $2.60 for extra toppings plus $5 delivery fee. Breakfast pack (packet of cereal, quarter-size muesli bar, tub of tinned fruit, small juice carton) for $11. Adequate kitchenette (if you have a car to go and find groceries). Bathroom large enough, but only because there is no vanity (just a tiny hand basin - where do guests put wash bag, cosmetics bag, etc?) and no shower recess (the shower is enclosed only by a shower curtain, spilling into the bathroom floor). Slippery tiles in shower. Cheap bathroom fittings. Toilet didn't flush. No wardrobe (just clothes rack). Skimpy pillows and hard mattress. At least I was given a ground floor room to save me from struggling up the stairs with two suitcases. Yes, it's close to the airport - but might be worth paying a bit more for a taxi or shuttle to somewhere else.

Room Tip: There appear to be suites to the back that look much more attractive than the austere front part. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ascot Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for your comments.

At Best Western Ascot we pride ourselves in excellent customer service and clean rooms.

We have not used any deodorants for over 6 months and only use a basic multi cleaning agent mixed to the suppliers recommended specifications that does contain disenfectant which is used to clean the bathrooms and kitchen areas.

By telling us what you liked about your stay, you are helping us to give a better experience for you and other guests in the future. .

.
Unfortunately the road widing is something we can not control and the works currently under way affects all business's along the Highway and the inconvenience will be for over 12 months. Once the works are completed it will faster and easier access to the airport and shops. All works are completed Monday to Friday during day light hours only

At Ascot there is several shops and restaurants with-in walking distance to have a meal or to purchase such things as groceries or just a loaf of bread
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Clean tidy apartments.
Good location
Handy to Airport
A little noisy
Comfortable bed.
Could do with a few more options for food.
Overall for a short stay, good value compared to the city centre.
Handy to Casino

Room Tip: Rooma away from oadside would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ascot Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear traveller
Thankyou for your comments,
Best Western Plus Ascot have recently refurbished all apartments with new flat screen TV’s DVD players, leather lounges etc. We have a regular maintenance/ cleaning schedule in place which covers cleaning of heavy curtains and carpets.

The widening of the highway road works is mostly carried out during day light hours to limit noise but sometimes they do have to complete works during the night. The use of heavy equipment is monitored.

We have several restaurants which deliver fantastic meals with-in 45 minutes of ordering through reception or you can dine at any one of our 5 restaurants that offer a charge back service. Both services are available through reception and can be charged directly to your room account
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Awoke during the night to go to the loo. Water was off so no flush, no hands washed and nothing to drink. It came back on in the morning, just long enough to get soaped up in the shower and then turned off again!

Probably due to all the road works going on in the area, but it Would have been good to have been warned if this was likely to happen.

Other than that, the room was basic but comfortable. There's nothing to eat in the immediate area, so be prepared to drive or taxi for dinner or order delivery from restaurants.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ascot Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest
Main roads carry out a lot of work after hours and unfortunately the workmen had cut through a main water pipe further down the road and we had no water until this was repaired.

This affected businesses along the the Great Eastern Hwy and we were not notified until the next day when we had called to find out why water had been turned off without notification
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth City
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The serviced apartments were clean apart from badly stained dining chairs, and an overwhelming smell of disinfectant/cleaning fluid throughout the stairs, halls and rooms. After airing out for a couple of hours the rooms were fine, but why so much unpleasant smeel in the first place? The walls are poorly insulated, so be prepared to hear more than you ever wanted to know about your neighbour's sex life. Apart from that the rooms were well appointed and spacious with a comfortable bed, good TV, and full kitchen & Laundry facilities: a home away from home, for what is for Perth a reasonable price. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave E, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ascot Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest
Thanks for your comments

We strive to improve on our customer service and maintenance issues with regular training sessions held.

By telling us what you liked about your stay, you are helping us to give a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ascot Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ascot Serviced Apartments

Address: 308-318 Great Eastern Highway, Ascot, Belmont, Western Australia 6104, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Belmont > Ascot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ascot Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a serviced apartment complex close to Pereth Airport and can provide short or long term accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ascot Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ascot Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.