We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldnt have chosen anywhere better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cueva Pedro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castillejar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cueva Pedro
Calle de Huescar, ,18818, 18818 Castillejar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Castillejar B&B and Inns
Crevillente
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We couldnt have chosen anywhere better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Our visit to Cueva Pedro was just perfect. A lot of attention has been paid to those special touches, such as tea & coffee in the room, that is so rare in Spain.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the 'cave' dining room is just a perfect place to eat when it is so hot outside.
Our hosts (Kate & Ami) were attentive without being intrusive, and the cooking was superb.
The 'honesty bar' with music we could choose ourselves, and the terrace outside, was just a perfect place to spend the late evening and chat away the hours.
We were in Andalusia for a 'triking weekend' and needed somewhere secure to park - no problem for Cueva Pedro, they even sorted that out for us!
We travel away for weekends regularly each summer in Spain, and rarely have we found anywhere as perfect as Cueva Pedro.
Keep up the good work guys! We will be back!
Sue, Frank, Nick & Julie

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Arrived at Cueva Pedro after spending four days in Granada. This was the perfect contrast to the cosmopolitan city and gave us an authentic taste of rural Spain.

It was a novelty to think that our room was once where a donkey was kept! Now it provides an ideal air-conditioned double bedroom with ensuite.

Sally's food was excellent with breakfast being served inside the cave house - an enchanting experience! The evening meal was served on the shaded terrace - great food in lovely surroundings. It was a real pleasure sitting on the seat just outside the gate where there is a wonderful view overlooking the village. For sun bathers, there is a private roof terrace with loungers. When you get too hot, there is the plunge pool.

We were given some sound advice on places to visit such as local markets, lakes, a gorge and surrounding villages.

We were made very welcome and felt like one of the family. Well recommended!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

From the minute we where promptly collected by Ami from Alicante AIrport, our every need was catered for!
Ami cheerily drove us to Cueva Pedro where we where given a warm welcome and a cool drink. We where greeted by Sally & Kate, several freindly dogs and little 'Ali' - Kates 18 month old son, he won our hearts immediatley. From then on he greeted us every morning with a cheekily warm smile.... and an inflatable pig :-)

The first thing I really noticed on arrival, was the peace & quiet...heaven.
Cueva Pedro is at the top of a hill overlooking the village of Castillejar, with stunning views all around. The area is much greener than i expected, although it is surrounded by mountains, there are wild flowers, streams & forests also.

Our accomodation was very comfortable, we where provided with everything we could need. Everything was very well thought out, clean and finished to a high standard. I have seen the renovation photos of the property before the 'bullivants' worked their magic, they really have done an amazing job.

The food? ...delicious! Sally provided us with traditional english breakfasts, all made with local fresh produce. Evening meals where wonderful! We hardley had room for the pudding! We chose a mainly English Food but I know Sally is well known for her Spanish Cooking too! The weather was so warm we where able to eat outside in the evenings-bliss.
I really enjoyed that we where able to use the sun terrace and splash pool whenever we wanted. Bullys Bar at Cueva Pedro is a fantastic idea- a well stocked bar plus use of DVDs, CDs , games etc. We where invited to have whatever drinks we wanted and simply cover the cost at the end of our stay.

Ami was our tour guide for the week and she was fantastic! We saw some beautiful sights including Lake Nagratin and the Gorge Walk-she also took us to the local bars where we met lots of freindly people- locals and other people from the UK who have made the move to Spain (....each one saying 'they wish they had done it sooner!) Ami & Kate both speak very good Spanish and so it made things much easier for us. The cost of food and drink in the area is very reasonable much cheaper than the UK. Everyone made us feel very welcome.

This was a 'holiday' in every sense of the word, we didnt have to drive, we didnt have to cook! The hosts and the surroundings where wonderful. The weather (reached 44 in the shade) and the peace & quiet was amazing! There are busier areas close to where we stayed but we opted for scenic walks and lazing by the lake.

The whole experience for me has been a real eye opener and very inspiring. Our lives are very hectic here in the UK- the pace of life is very different in Spain - yet everyone is happy, relaxed and content. (and its nearly always sunny & warm!)
I dont mind admitting, I cried when I left.
I am already planning a trip back there for asap-it's a truly beautiful place.

Room Tip: Anything you need? Sally will sort it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We have visited cueva Pedro several times before. We have always been welcomed at every visit, nothing is too much bother. If you like a peaceful break this is the place to come, you have the onsite facilities like the swimming pool, the sun terrace, the bar, and if your feeling fit you can hire mountain bikes. Outside the accomodation you have shops near by a selection of pubs, and markets. I would reccomend Cueva Pedro every time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Lincs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Another visit to Cueva Pedro, this time with our teenage son. Had fabulous relaxing time and Sally and Kate make you feel very welcome.

Sally's cooking is fantastic, you NEVER go hungry! All is made with fresh local produce. One night we were very fortunate to be invited to eat with Sally and Kate's family. Ramon (Kates husband) and his friend Jose cooked a typical local Spanish dish which tasted brilliant.

We thought it might be too quiet for our son, but Kate equipped him with a Playstation in the honesty bar and this kept him entertained when he was't in the splash pool (which wasn't very often!)

The rooms are clean, comfortable and air conditioned which was a must this visit. Each room has tea/coffee facilities and small fridge. The terrace area is nice and shady, but the sun terrace is a real suntrap (with fabulous views!) The splash pool was great to cool off (even though the water temperature is more like bathwater)

We are already planning our return visit!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

If you are looking for somewhere very different to chill-out then Cueva Pedro is perfect. Sally and Kate are fantastic hosts, the warm welcome makes you relax instantly and there are so many thoughtful little touches for guests that I felt at home right away. I had difficulty prising myself away from the gorgeous sun deck and cute bar area (still 24 degrees in October!) but if you have more energy, Kate and Sally have lots of info about of what to do in Castillejar and the surrounding area. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Just returned from our holiday staying at Cueva Pedro (B&B), and can't wait to go back!
We had such a fantastic time and the accomodation was a big factor towards it -
The rooms were very comfortable, air-conditioned and clean, with small refridgerator, complimentry tea/coffee/biscuits and water. The 'Honesty Bar' was unexpected but a great bonus and very handy.
The cave breakfast room is delightful and, again, lots to choose from for breakfast. Fresh, homemade jams/curd every morning too - Delicious!
All the lunches and evening meals we had were also superb - proper spanish cuisine and made using fresh, local produce and homegrown vegetables off their land.
The splash pool is great fun, and a must for cooling off in the hot, hot heat!
Kate and Sally know the area very well and will recommend restaurants for eating out, activities to do and places to visit.
If you are looking for a real, uncommercial spanish experience, quiet and chilled out holiday then this is the place to go. If you want more exciting activites to do, then Kate can arrange these for you (we did an evening horse trek, this was my favourite!).
We flew in to Murcia airport (2.15 hrs away) but Granda airport is the nearest to Cueva Pedro (only 30 minutes away), so I'll use Granda airport next time.
I'll definately be going again and without question will be staying at Cueva Pedro!!

  • Liked — The quality of the rooms and services
  • Disliked — At a push I can only think of the creaky bed!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Travelers also viewed these Castillejar hotels
Casa Rural El Molino 5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
View all 0 hotels in Castillejar, ranked by popularity

Been to Cueva Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cueva Pedro

Address: Calle de Huescar, ,18818, 18818 Castillejar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Castillejar
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castillejar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cueva Pedro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cueva Pedro to your Saves list