We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dreamy retreat where you are made to feel like a star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Susegad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loutolim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Susegad
Save
You added Casa Susegad to your Saves list
Salcete, Loutolim 403718, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Loutolim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dreamy retreat where you are made to feel like a star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

My friends got married recently at Casa Susegad. As soon as we arrived, I felt instantly chilled. The place is stunning and has an incredibly relaxing vibe. Norman and Carol make you feel so welcome and are great people to spend time with too.
The staff are amazing and really look after you. They do everything you need so all our time could be spent just relaxing and eating. Every meal was lovely. We had no complaints. There are lots of cats and dogs that habit at Casa. The whole environment just makes you feel like you could stay forever. We were very sad to leave and would love to go back (soon!). I would recommend this as an ideal escape venue with a very special and memorable vibe.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
83
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Spent two nights at Casa Susegad last month. I was with a friend and my daughter. Norman welcomed us with his pack of beautifully behaved dogs. We were shown to our lovely Carnelian room. This opens out onto a leafy garden near the blue blue pool. That night I fell asleep to the sound of a tinkling cascade. Lovely bathroom with a huge sort of rubber water swoosher to get the water off the floor after you shower. This was great. I've always wanted to get my hands on one of those. We had delicious food. The garden was so relaxing. All the staff are sweet and so humorous and kind. Norman and Carole really bent over backwards to help us with our (unplanned holiday) suggesting we go for a special boat trip (which we did, and loved) and even finding us a hotel for the night after we left them. They were very kind. We had such fun. My birthday was a delight - garlands, swimming, lazing, chocolate birthday cake made by the village baker - who also baked for the Queen, i might add! - what more could a girl want. This is a great place to stay and is within easy reach of Panjim for shopping.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

I've just arrived back in London on thankfully not a grey day and thought it my duty to immediately write a review of the most magical Casa Susegad and pay tribute to the entire cast starting with Norman and Carole, who were charming and attentive while not being invasive at all, moving on to the kitchen (superlative pork vindaloo not to be forgotten) and finally all the remaining players including pet dogs and cats etc. The whole experience of staying at Casa Susegad was delightful, the stunning old Portugese house is set in a tranquil village right next to the jungle, plus it was my first time in India so what a peaceful introduction to beautiful Goa. It is a great place to arrive and gently acclimatize, lie by the pool, hear a few stories and do some considerable cocktail work! I would recommend this place to anyone, I stayed with my friend for 2 nights before starting a general tour of Goa, both of us hope to return again and start our trip in exactly the same way, wouldn't change a thing. Sarah O'Keefe (and I know I speak for the other Sarah!)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I went to stay at Casa Susegad to on impulse really to recover after an operation in Delhi. I had a gastric sleeve operation which is very limiting in terms of diet. You have to go from clear fluids to thickened fluids to pureed food etc over 3 weeks. All very boring really but I needed a place to stay that would assist me with the diet and convalescence and be very clean/hygeinic as I needed to avoid stomach infections on top of everything else. Also my family were stressing back in the UK that I would be safe. (Thank you lovely daughter in law Ruth who found me Casa Susegad). Carol and Norman were just what I needed they positively cherished me. Their gorgeous cook Joanita went to no end of trouble on a meal by meal basis to see what I could manage to eat. and the kitchen was immaculate. The food eaten by the other guests looked amazing and very well presented. Just sorry I couldn't try it.(Next time).
I decided to attend the dentist whilst I was there as Carol told me the local dentist was very good and cheap compared to the UK.I had a couple of caps I was unhappy with. Well I couldn't believe the state of the art dentist it was unbelievable. Far better than any dentist I have ever been to here in Britain. As a result of my consultation I decided to extend my stay and have the full monty regarding my teeth. I had all sorts of work done including 4 caps 2 veneers one rootcanal and all my fillings replaced with white ones. The cost was £800 but I had about £2500 worth (UK) done. The work was first rate and they gave me some pretty good pills as I am a nervous patient (abject coward). Carol and Norman sorted me out with a driver from the village Ramdash who looked after me very well he is truly one of natures gentleman. As well as dentist visits he took me to various beaches etc. A full day was usually about £15.
I also had a medical emergency whilst I was there a nasty post op chest infection. Carol and Norman arranged for me to visit their Dr. based at the local hospital who treated me and it was very reasonable about £10 including medicines.
As I extended my stay to 17 days to accommodate the dentistry/lab work I ended up staying in 3 seperate guest rooms to accommodate other guests who had previously booked particular rooms. I was happy to change rooms as they were all lovely, the Turquoise, Carnelian and Rose rooms were all equally beautiful, comfortable and accommodating. With lots of good books in every room. The rooms were quiet having very thick walls. The villa is absolutely gorgeous Portugese about 500 years old and full of fabulous furniture, art and artefacts. The pool is just perfect and the sunloungers are really comfortable with pillows and mattresses, throws etc. Plentiful umbrellas and always one of the boys who work in the garden to adjust an umbrella if necessary . The staff are absolutely lovely. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Most of them live on the premises. As an employer of 25 myself I would say that Carol and Norman treat their staff very well they are demonstrably happy in their work and not exploited. There are dogs and cats around the place. They are all lovely, well trained and good natured. Carol and Norman are very involved in supporting local animal charities in Goa.The place itself is gorgeous surrounded by jungle the long tailed monkeys come down every day and sit on the roof eating pilfered mangoes and figs. The birds and butterflies are just beautiful and it's very peaceful. I absolutely adored it.
As I said previously Carol and Norman really looked after me. As a single traveller it can be difficult. But they made me very welcome. On off days when I just wanted to be quiet and read they gave me my space. Coming to see me and have little chats. Checking I was OK. Whenever I felt sociable they welcomed me into their private lounge (there is a lovely residents lounge) invited me to their weekly card games with their friends (I didn't participate I'm useless at cards). I felt really cherished. And I regard Carol and Norman as friends. I would recommend Casa Susegad to anyone wanting a bit of R n R but it was a fabulous place to recuperate. I will be returning to Goa next year I will need a tummy tuck after my weight loss and they offer it at the local hospital very reasonably priced compared to the UK. I will return to Casa Susegad to be looked after. Many thanks to everyone there.xxx

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We were only staying for one night en route to our timeshare accommodation at Benaulim. From the moment we arrived we felt made welcome by Carole, Norman and all the staff - they couldn't have been nicer and, after an alcohol free internal flight, the offer of a cold beer from Norman (on the house!) was most appreciated. Norman joined us an gave us a comprehensive chronology both of Casa Susegad and of how he and Carole made the decision to 'go for it'. When we were there only one of the other 4 rooms was occupied and we rarely seen the lady that occupied it so we more or less had the place to ourselves and therefore a free run of the place. Norman took us round the village in his 4X4 to give us a feel for the place and to point out places to visit on the walking route map he provided us with.

A candlelit dinner was served on the patio area outside of the room and was a traditional Goan chicken curry which was nice but not brilliant - more of a homecooking feel to it than hotel restaurant if you like. That said we enjoyed it and felt grateful that Carole took on board the fact we made it clear we were not vegetarians and would a appreciate a meat based dinner! All this was washed down with a bottle of 'Big Banyan' Chenin Blanc which, for Indian wine, wasn't bad at all.

The room was nice - the Rose Room- furnished with pieces sourced in Rajasthan. It was clean, comfortable and everything worked so we were very happy with it. We had a tour round the property the next day with Norman explaining what was being built where. A lot of it is still very embryonic and there is a lot to do yet but it is obvious they have a very clear vision of what they want to achieve. We'll certainly return in 2/3 years to see what progress has been made.

One of the things Carole offers to guests is the option of joining her to the main Margao food market. We did this and selected veg and fish which we took back to Casa Susegad and helped in the kitchen to prepare lunch. Its certainly worth doing this if you get the opportunity.

All in all we enjoyed our one night one day visit. The welcome was first class and it is clear that Carole and Norman are eager to please. They key thing to think about is what is it you really want from your stay there. If you want laid back and homely its the place for you. If you want super sharp formality and 5 star service then probably you'd better off at one of the many big resorts on the coast. We think it 'does what it says on the tin' and lived up to our expectations. For us personally, a 2/3 day stay would be long enough here but each to their own I suppose.

Finally, if you have a problem with dogs (and cats although we didn't really see any of these) then perhaps think it through before you book as they are running around everywhere but are all very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I returned to Casa Susegad for a few days in Dec 09 and have to say it has only gotten better. The garden is blossoming, the service even smoother, afternoon tea (or juice or a G&T) by the pool and the beds are as good as I remember.
I was delighted to see how impressed my travel companion was with my plan and we extended our trip from 2 days to 5 as we couldn't drag ourselves away from being so spoiled.
Relaxation is not mandatory but catches up with you. I went running most days, as did a couple of other guests. This may be to assuage the guilt of all the melting moments and other delightful foods on offer. The food is exceptional, delicious, tempting and very different to what you get in any other part of Goa. (Try the mango crumble- Oh my God!)
It is great to see the whole team from my last stay, baby Joe, now at school and the new additions...
Loutilim is not the most happening town, more a real busy local village and Casa Susegad is not a place to go if you want to party hard but if you are looking for a beautiful, peaceful and luxurious sanctuary from the wonderful mayhem of India there is nowhere better.
Norman and Carole are constantly improving little details and their dedication to their guests elegant idleness is impressive. Just one note of warning, anywhere you stay after here might seem just a little lacking...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

This is the most fantstic place. The setting is idyllic. The staff are are lovely. And Carole and Norman are the best! Me and my girlfriend spent two weeks at casa susegad and loved every single moment of it. For her it was the perfect way to end a two month trip around India. For me, the perfect way to end the year. There is little I can say about this beautiful place that hasn't been written here already. It is all true. This is one of those truely special places that you come across so very rarely in life. Thank you Carole and Norman.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Susegad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Susegad

Address: Salcete, Loutolim 403718, India
Location: India > Goa > Loutolim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Loutolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imaginatively restored colonial mansion house only 20 minutes drive from beaches, with all of the friendliness and charm of a rural village setting. Set in one and a half acres of beautiful grounds we are surrounded by forest and jungle in what is often described as Goa's most beautiful village. Enjoy being pampered, well fed and thoroughly spoiled and find your own meaning for Susegad. Car and driver arranged on request; spa therapies, snooker, home theatre, local walking maps, wi-fi and yoga available on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Susegad Hotel Loutolim
Casa Susegad Goa/Loutolim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Susegad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.