We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel on the Loire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Burgevin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Burgevin to your Saves list
Hotel Burgevin
11 rue du Faubourg Saint Germain, 45600 Sully-sur-Loire, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sully-sur-Loire
Baltimore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel on the Loire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I used the Hotel Burgevin as a center for day touring the eastern half of the Loiret. Sancerre is about an hour + to the southeast and Chambord and Cheverny are about equally far to the west. But the Burgevin is a nice hospitable place to rest, relax, and enjoy Sully-sur-Loire. We were warmly greeted each time we came or went, as the family is at the desk all day (and night). We enjoyed speaking with the owners (who speak English, but we prefer to try our French, as they are our hosts). Their advice was excellent. The rooms are clean and modern, spacious by European standards (we has a "superior" room) with a great bed and bathroom. Each evening we enjoyed a fine local wine from the bar, with conversation about food and travel from Mr. Burgevin. There are nice restaurants within easy walking distance. (We skip breakfasts, so no comments there). Parking is on-site and simple. We will happily return on a future visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgevin, Propriétaire at Hotel Burgevin, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Google Translation
Thank you so much !

Puisque vous parlez bien français :

C'était un plaisir de vous recevoir et encore plus de lire votre commentaire TRIP ADVISOR sur votre séjour.

Nous espérons bien vous accueillir à nouveau.

Recevez nos sincères salutations.

Odile et Marc BURGEVIN-GIROGUY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
55
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

In the heart of a small town on the Seine river bank, near a mighty castle, you will find the gem of the Loire.
The history of this hotel goes back to 1898, when E. Burgevin bought the Post Hotel. The hotel stayed in the family till 1967. Only at 2009 Odile Burgevine-Giroguy bought the hotel, and changed the name after her ancestors.
the hotel has been completely renovated in good test. The room is bright and comfortable. The bed is fabulous, nice writing desk, a minibar with two complimentary bottles of mineral water.
I booked the junior suite, which is a long room (probably 3 single rooms from a century ago, that were combined together). It has an old wood beam supporting the ceiling . Great shower with a towel warmer.
The big plus of the hotel is Darren Hawkins, he is a part of the family and while on duty at the hotel's reception, you can get all the help you need-in English-!!!!! He booked us a wonderful restaurant at a nearby town, and gave us some recommendations for the area. Hotel Burgevin got a secure parking for the guest's cars, which is a big plus!!!
I was very thrilled to meet madame Giroguy, who made all the efforts to make the dream of this great hotel come true.

Room Tip: The junior suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a very nice and exceptionally well run hotel a bit off the major attractions in the Loire Valley (apart from being located right next to an impressive castle). Our room was meticulously clean and was OK furnished, on the brink of being sterile. The front desk was very helpful suggesting where to eat, etc. The breakfast was excellent and reasonably priced, especially given the variety offered. In short, this is a nice hotel, it’s only shortcoming is the surrounding village that is very small and not very interesting. You definitely need a car when staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Booked this hotel for a short Easter break. It's lovely. The position is perfect for access to site-seeing up and down that section of the Loire and particularly good and close to the cycle paths on the banks of the river. Local restaurants and bars are excellent ranging from posh to pizza. The hotel is elegant and beautiful without any sign of stuffiness. My room was a delight and breakfast was judged perfectly. We had 3 rooms between our group - all different sizes and prices and all excellent. There's plenty of onsite parking. The owners and staff are extremely helpful and generous without being intrusive. I hesitate to recommend this hotel as much as I would like to - I really want to be able to book it again myself!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel Burgevin was by far the best stay in our Loire trip. It is located in the center of Sully but the location is quiet. There is a huge internal parking. Rooms are vast and completely renovated with absolutely all necessary amenities. Beds and pillows are very comfortable - I slept like a baby. And the service is just magnificent! The personnel did everything to help us in all our enquiries. Our stay was finished witha cup of coffee for all of us in the cozy lobby - and the coffe was courtesy of the hotel! Thanks guys - you have a great hotel running in Sully!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

on our trip from Spain to Holland we stayed in hOtel Burgevin.
Very friendly staff and really beautiful rooms!!
Everything looked clean and beautiful. Only the beds were a little too firm.
Breakfast was perfect.
All together one of the best places in France.

Room Tip: Best room is located at the free parking area of the hotel. Most more quit than the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel has a history that is to be discovered by watching at the pictures on the walls. It has been completely refurbished, room is large enough, TV is LED HD and all spaces are very well decorated. Buffet breakfast is very good, and the best of it all is the distance to the castle, just 200 metres away. In the evenings, guests have a couple of options to dinner by the 3 restaurants around the hotel, which offer very good dishes at afforadable prices. One nighst stay here is a good option after seeing the region, and it is just 1 hour and a half by car from the centre of Paris.
It is important to say, that the lady at the front desk in the evening was very kind and explained all services provided by the hotel. In general, all the staff was nice to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Burgevin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burgevin

Address: 11 rue du Faubourg Saint Germain, 45600 Sully-sur-Loire, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Sully-sur-Loire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sully-sur-Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'HÔTEL BURGEVIN has been completely renovated.The Hotel in composed of 16 air conditioned roomsincluding 1 room with access for people with reduced mobility.Bedding 160x200 or 180x200, Flat screen LED TV, TNT -Canal + -Canal Satellite, office desk, mini bar, telephone, internet access (WIFI), safe.Bath room with shower 100x100 or shower and bathtub.Business centre.Secured entrance and parking, video surveillance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Burgevin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Burgevin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.