We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Martin Hotel

Save Saved
You added St. Martin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Martin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, place Edmond Paillaud, 14480 Creully, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Creully
monmouthshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were calling into Bayeux before moving on, and we had stayed in the past at the Logis in Crepon, but this caught our eye, and we stayed overnight.
Cruelly is a small, pretty, typical Normandy village, easy access to the coast, and Bayeux, and the Hostellerie St Martin was the old market hall, but now an excellent hotel.
The rooms are small, which is no surprise, with the bathroom even smaller, but it is clean and comfortable, and fully meets an overnight stay.
The dining experience I can only comment as excellent, a considerable and wide ranging choice,which should meet all tastes..
There is an extensive range of wines, but are expensive, so a class maybe the better option.
English is spoken which clearly helps is certain cases. We were there on a Monday night, and the dinning room was practically full, in a hotel with only eight rooms. Clearly popular with local residents.
The breakfast was very poor, one of the least of choices we can recall in all our visits to France.
However it would not stop us using St Martin again, and I certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is not a review for the hotel itself, but for the hotel's restaurant.

We were staying at Ferme de la Rançonnière in nearby Crepon, and passed by the St. Martin Hotel on a trip into Creully to go to the local grocery store. Looking at their menu, we decided to eat there for dinner that evening after a trip to Mont St. Michel. What a wonderful choice we made!

The owners of the hotel are twin brothers that not only seated us, but took our orders and served our meals. They speak perfect English, and took the time to sit and chat with us like were long lost friends.

The food in their restaurant was amazing. The appetizers of local oysters and another of prosciutto were extraordinary. The main courses of salmon, pork and steak served with fresh vegetables, and potatoes were amazing. The wine cellar is extensive and reasonably priced and the brothers took the time to go over some choices of local vintages and make superb recommendations of wine to go with our meals and apéritifs after we had finished. We ended up going back there the next night for dinner as our final meal in France.

C'est Manifique!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We only stayed for one night due to the close proximity to the ferry port at Oustreham (about 30minutes drive) but really wish we could have stayed longer. The room was small but clean and tidy. The hotel and restaurant is owned and run by two brothers who speak perfect English. We had a set meal from the restaurant 3 courses for around €13.00 which was delicious .This really was an enjoyable place to stay ,just having a beer outside the hotel on a warm summers evening in Cruelly is something I remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay here. The room was enormous and very comfortable. The service was excellent. We had dinner there and enjoyed an excellent meal with good wine. Breakfast was good too and all in all this was a very good place to stay and excellent value, particularly considering its proximity to the D-Day beaches.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay in this old hotel which is an excellent base for this part of Normandy. The room was a decent size, clean and although a little basic was nicely decorated. The en-suite was clean and had a decent shower above the bath. The breakfast was typical continental and fine and all the staff were very helpful. We used the beautiful restaurant each night and the menu was vary varied and beautiful food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronneby, Sweden
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

This lovely hotel is a part of the Logis de France concept. Situated just a couple of minutes (10-20) outside Bayeux it makes a perfect starting point for excursions in the neighbourhood.

The rooms are very nice with a personal touch. The building is old with narrow stairs to the top floors making big bags a bit of a problem, but the rooms are worth the trouble. The hotel is clean and has a privat parking area for approx 5-6 cars. The castle of Creully is situated right behind the hotel and has an other parking area with free parking. There is a small supermarket next to the hotel.

Being a part of Logis de France the hotel provides an excellent dinner restaurant with good value menues!

The breakfast is a small (really small) Frence-style breakfast with 2 pieces of white bread, tea or coffé and a jam.

I liked the hotels:
* Dinner restaurant
* Situation
* Helpfull staff
* The price

I disliked:
* No shower curtain in the shower
* The small breakfast
* The early latest check in (1800) if not other arranged

  • Liked — The resturant
  • Disliked — The early latest check-in if not other arranged
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Martin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Martin Hotel

Address: 6, place Edmond Paillaud, 14480 Creully, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Creully
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Creully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Martin Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your St. Martin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Martin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.