We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant is EXCELLENT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Martin Hotel

Save Saved
You added St. Martin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Martin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, place Edmond Paillaud, 14480 Creully, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Creully
New England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Restaurant is EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is not a review for the hotel itself, but for the hotel's restaurant.

We were staying at Ferme de la Rançonnière in nearby Crepon, and passed by the St. Martin Hotel on a trip into Creully to go to the local grocery store. Looking at their menu, we decided to eat there for dinner that evening after a trip to Mont St. Michel. What a wonderful choice we made!

The owners of the hotel are twin brothers that not only seated us, but took our orders and served our meals. They speak perfect English, and took the time to sit and chat with us like were long lost friends.

The food in their restaurant was amazing. The appetizers of local oysters and another of prosciutto were extraordinary. The main courses of salmon, pork and steak served with fresh vegetables, and potatoes were amazing. The wine cellar is extensive and reasonably priced and the brothers took the time to go over some choices of local vintages and make superb recommendations of wine to go with our meals and apéritifs after we had finished. We ended up going back there the next night for dinner as our final meal in France.

C'est Manifique!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
west mids
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We only stayed for one night due to the close proximity to the ferry port at Oustreham (about 30minutes drive) but really wish we could have stayed longer. The room was small but clean and tidy. The hotel and restaurant is owned and run by two brothers who speak perfect English. We had a set meal from the restaurant 3 courses for around €13.00 which was delicious .This really was an enjoyable place to stay ,just having a beer outside the hotel on a warm summers evening in Cruelly is something I remember for a very long time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay here. The room was enormous and very comfortable. The service was excellent. We had dinner there and enjoyed an excellent meal with good wine. Breakfast was good too and all in all this was a very good place to stay and excellent value, particularly considering its proximity to the D-Day beaches.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay in this old hotel which is an excellent base for this part of Normandy. The room was a decent size, clean and although a little basic was nicely decorated. The en-suite was clean and had a decent shower above the bath. The breakfast was typical continental and fine and all the staff were very helpful. We used the beautiful restaurant each night and the menu was vary varied and beautiful food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronneby, Sweden
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

This lovely hotel is a part of the Logis de France concept. Situated just a couple of minutes (10-20) outside Bayeux it makes a perfect starting point for excursions in the neighbourhood.

The rooms are very nice with a personal touch. The building is old with narrow stairs to the top floors making big bags a bit of a problem, but the rooms are worth the trouble. The hotel is clean and has a privat parking area for approx 5-6 cars. The castle of Creully is situated right behind the hotel and has an other parking area with free parking. There is a small supermarket next to the hotel.

Being a part of Logis de France the hotel provides an excellent dinner restaurant with good value menues!

The breakfast is a small (really small) Frence-style breakfast with 2 pieces of white bread, tea or coffé and a jam.

I liked the hotels:
* Dinner restaurant
* Situation
* Helpfull staff
* The price

I disliked:
* No shower curtain in the shower
* The small breakfast
* The early latest check in (1800) if not other arranged

  • Liked — The resturant
  • Disliked — The early latest check-in if not other arranged
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Martin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Martin Hotel

Address: 6, place Edmond Paillaud, 14480 Creully, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Creully
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Creully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Martin Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your St. Martin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Martin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.