We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in elegant townhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Krataiis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Krataiis to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Krataiis
G. Omiccioli, 26 Streat | Sea Front Scilla, 89058 Scilla, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Scilla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Stay in elegant townhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is located in the Lungomare part of Scilla which is on the other side of the Ruffo Castle if approaching from the north. Although not the best hotel in town (check out Hotel U’Bais on the Chianalea side) it is really a great little place.

Palace Karaiitis is a rather small hotel, with eight rooms. There is no lift and the stairs are quite steep.

The rooms, especially ones overlooking the sea are very spacious. Our room, number 201, was huge and had three balconies on two sides of the building. They are tastefully decorated with the usual accessories including bathrobes. Getting the TV to work proves rather impossible and in any case one can only watch Italian channels. Rather intriguingly the small safe was a portable box thus rather defeating the whole point of having it.

Breakfast is quite an experience. There is a contraption for boiling eggs and a juice squeezer with fresh oranges provided in the fridge. There was the usual selection of cakes and rather limited quantity of meats – this tends to run out particularly as the single receptionist doubles up as a waiter. This also explains why nobody clears up the tables until after the last guests have left.

There is no bar in the hotel although reception staff or the night porter can fetch the drinks from the restaurant.

Staff are very friendly although with rather limited knowledge of any languages other than Italian.

It is definitely worth trying the restaurant attached to the hotel particularly if fish is not your thing. In the town obsessed with seafood this is probably the only place in the whole of Scilla where you can get reasonably tasty meat dishes.

Room Tip: Room 201 is huge and actually has a sea view. Avoid Room 101 - looking to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
42
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked this long in advance of travelling to Calabria, and when we finally arrived in Scilla we were really pleased we'd chosen this one, as it was by far the best hotel on the beach.
There are some others further up the hill into the town which are probably also as good, but this is really the only one which is magnificent down on the coastal road.
In front of the hotel are two delightful cafes which serve excellent snacks during the day, a lovely place to sit and read. The service in the hotel is excellent. The rooms are huge and boast fantastic furniture, it really is genuinely palacial. Recommended very strongly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great little out of the way place and hotel......just across from the sea....bit sleepy this time of year but we enjoyed out brief stay immensely .......very helpful staff....nice little breakfast....great place for a stop between more touristic towns....please remember they eat late here...after 8pm.....and lots of stairs from top of town to the sea...

Room Tip: They eat late here....after 8pm....so don't hurry out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed on the first floor facing the sea. The room was magic, from it's color scheme, it's decor and its little balcony with sea views. Being the off season there was lots of parking on the street. But you can email ahead and ook parking. You can understand how this place got a number 1 rating. The staff were all helpful and most spoke English. Dinner in their restaurant was nice (also the number 1 restaurant in the area).
The Internet worked well and breakfast was very Italian.
Scilla is one of those towns you must visit, and this Hotel is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Almost on the beachfront.

The hotel is small and seems to be family run. Our room, an elegant junior suite on the first floor, was spacious and very well-appointed. Sleep quality marked down a little because of noise from the restaurant that went on late - it was a special once-a-year celebration and we were unlucky.

Although there is no lift (elevator) this didn't matter too much because the duty manager helped with our suitcases.

WiFi was strong and reliable. The breakfast was tasty, and they even gave us freshly squeezed orange juice.

We took dinner at the hotel's restaurant and were not disappointed - without asking and with no expectation we were given a 15% discount on dinner! The meal was delicious - almost silver-service with helpful, attentive staff.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priddis, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a lovely, charming hotel! It's just off the main street so it's quiet. Free parking is available on the main road by the beach, and can be hard to find. We squeezed into a spot and had a very short walk to the hotel. The room was large, clean and lovely with a private terrace and a large bathroom. The beach is 100 meters away and it's easy to walk to all the sights. They provide a good selection of items for breakfast. It was perfect except for the bed, which was 2 twins pushed together and one was sagging. Other than that we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed one night at the Palazzo, booking on the basis of the TA rating. Its a little difficult to find due to the one way streets near Scilla beach but if you can make your way to the Ruffo Castle end of the beach you will see the Palazzo Krataiis sign pointing you across the road. Parking was fine for us (out of season) - we parked next to the hotel but there was also parking on the lungomare (free).

The Palazzo is a lovely building, from memory 4 stories high. The lobby is filled with comfortable couches. Service was at times helpful and friendly, at other times we did not get a hello from the staff member who was more fixated on the computer.

Our room, the Junior Suite, was one floor up, overlooking the road, with a view of the beach 20-30 m away. It was lovely to hear the waves from our room! The room was extremely spacious - much bigger than expected from the photos online. We had a quadruple set up - the queen bed and two singles (made from convertible armchairs) and still had more than enough room for the four of us to move around and have space! The bathroom was also large with a big bath (shower over the top - no curtain) and very clean.

The bed was comfortable and the sleep very good - there is some noise from the street/bars and beach area - we were there out of season so I can only imagine it would be worse in high season. If noise is a concern perhaps request the highest floor possible!

Location can't be beat - the beach is right there, you are also at the end nearest the castle so a quick walk (up stairs) to the castle and residential area (great views) and also a quick walk around the point to the fishing village.

We paid 110 euros for the four of us (kids under 5 years are free, incl beds for them - over 5, I think it is 10 euros per child) - an online rate from booking.com which was better than the rate of 150 offered by the hotel when we rang directly. Their advice was if you can get a better online rate, book it online!

The breakfast was pretty typical - white bread/toast, cornetti (marmalata, vuoti, crema), cereals, yoghurts, ham/salami (no cheeses), a limited selection of fruit - incl oranges for juicing yourself with an electric juicer.

The restaurant is worth a visit - see separate review under Scilla restaurants!

Room Tip: Junior suite is very spacious - try online pricing before ringing hotel directly as you might get be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Krataiis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Krataiis

Address: G. Omiccioli, 26 Streat | Sea Front Scilla, 89058 Scilla, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Reggio Calabria > Scilla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Scilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Krataiis Palace is a elegant building of '700 located in one of the most beautiful corners of Calabria, Scilla, a small town overlooking the Straits of Messina, in the heart of the Costa Viola. Due to the sensitivity and skill of the owners the building has been restored, while maintaining the original architectural elements. The building houses the Hotel Krataiis, which offers suites and rooms with all comforts and services, treated with special care in selecting materials and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Krataiis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Krataiis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.