We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerry Lane Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kerry Lane Motel
Save
You added Kerry Lane Motel to your Saves list
2 Kerry Lane | R.D.13, Hawera 4673, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hawera B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dog friendly motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This motel is so so lovely. It's modern, clean and quite. The owners are very helpful and go out of there way to return stuff left behind. They went out of there way make sure we could get into room when arriving at 2amish. 100% will return there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here with our family (2 X 2 bedroom units) - Kerry Lane Motel have plenty of accommodation including 2 bedroom units.. Plenty of space for the grandchildren to play. Car parking outside your unit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The photo attached to the motel today is a New Plymouth HOTEL. If you are looking for a semi-farm stay motel for a family this couold be it but check out some other website for the right photos that will surely have the animals and play equipment. yes there's a rooster but you can turn over and go back to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaponga, null, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a great little place to stay that I would highly recommend to anybody especially if you are looking for a affordable retreat away from the kids :-).
The animals were all great including the rooster who didnt crow untill much much later than 4.30.
The service was great and I feel that the reviews commenting about "flustered" lady running the motel are unfair as she was absolutely lovely and couldn't be more helpful, perhaps some people are so far up themselves that they just expect too much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very nice, clean, new units with a fridge, stove top, microwave, cooking utelsils, pots and pans, and crockery with an excellent desk outside (with chairs), and highly reommended. Some very small niggles -- ran out of soap, and the dining table couild be better (plastic camping table!). Gerat for children, and lovely view of Mt. Taranaki. Not in easy walking distance of Hawera central.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

I found my stay quite comfortable. As I was by myself I didn't need a big room, Kerry Lane's room was perfect for my needs - a bed, ensuite, TV, desk, mini fridge, sink bench and a microwave.
There were no issues with loud animals and even though it close to a main traffic thoroughfare I sleep soundly (and I'm a VERY light sleeper).
The service was excellent and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Visited Hawera for an anniversary event. Motel easy to find, our reservation (on line) was not, the other reviewer commented on the flussed state of the lady operating the venue, and i would have to agree.

shown to our 'meow thump' room (not enough room to swing a cat!), but surprisingly impressed with the presentation, very very clean and tidy. We unpacked, and showered and changed to continue on to our event, but only one bath towel, now very damp after being used by two.. called into reception on the way out to request at an additional towel for the morning, and was told very abruptly that the second towel was in the vanity unit.. like inferring how stupid was I not to look there!! like that's where every motel keeps it's other towel in a double unit!!!

Came back very late, like 1am, and then the bloody rooster started crowing at 4.30am.. WTF? the model farm yard was right outside our window!!, the place had lots of vacancy's so why stick us in the corner unit with the farm yard outside the window!!, we're not moaning townies!! we live on a lifestyle farm and know the noises animal make, but pleaseeeee at a motel on the edge of an urban town! when I mentioned it the next morning, to the grumpy lady, she turned her back on me and stormed off... poor form really.

My wife and I are consumate travellers, for business I have travelled to Australia more than 30 times in Five years, so stay in a variety of motels and hotels, and we travel alot in NZ. I am embarrased by the reception of a lot of motels in NZ, that they laughingly call the Hospitality Industry, more like the Hostility Industry....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kerry Lane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerry Lane Motel

Address: 2 Kerry Lane | R.D.13, Hawera 4673, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Hawera
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hawera
Number of rooms: 27

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerry Lane Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.