We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pilatus-Kulm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kriens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pilatus-Kulm
Save
You added Hotel Pilatus-Kulm to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schlossweg 1, Kriens, Lucerne 6010, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kriens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“April stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in April and even though it snowed most of the time we did get breaks in the cloud to appreciate the magnificent valley below.
Given it was off-peak the top mountain was pretty quiet which suited us perfectly. At night the hotel was nice and quiet and the dinner we pre-purchased in a package was excellent.
Due to the snow there wasn't too much to do up on the mountain but the summertime hiking trails looked great.
Highly recommend for a one night splurge on holidays!

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was really large BUT some windows did look out onto the viewing area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    47
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
79
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The renovated hotel on Mt. Pilatus is a beautiful modern hotel with breath-taking views of the Alps, especially at sunrise. The room decor is outstanding. Dinner and breakfast were good. On the patio, five musicians performed on Swiss Alpine horns. Since it was early April, the hotel was not crowded. Even by Swiss standards, the stay was expensive, but worth experiencing.
We left our car in the cable-car station parking lot in Kriens, where we received an unwelcome souvenir: a screw in our tire. This was the last place in our entire European trip where I would have expected vandalism.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

After reading reviews on the restaurant at the top of Mt Pilatus, we were prepared to have an expensive lunch. But in the end, the meal wasn't that expensive in swiss standards. The prices here are the similar to that in Lucerne town.
I had the best cheese maccaroni in switzerland here. The cheese maccaroni came with some bacon in the maccaroni and a small saucer of homemade apple jam. Delicious! Ahhhhh... That was the first time I ate cheese maccaroni and it was the best one (subsequently, I visited other restaurants for the cheese maccaroni but it was never as good as this). My husband had something akin to pork chop in singapore and it was tasty too!
We chose the outdoor seats and the view was breath taking. You could view the mountains, clad in snow while enjoying your lunch, with a cool breeze blowing constantly. How nice is that! If you ever go there, do try the chesee maccaroni! It's really nice! I wish I could eat it again someday ):
Don't expect great service there though. The waitresses are too busy to actually attend to you but with the great tasting food and lovely scenery, I guess service isn't that important to me..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

If you can survive the gondala's up the mountain (was really windy and snowy when we went up) it is well worth it.
A beatiful old hotel on top, large rooms each with breath taking veiws, good storage, big bathrooms, and rooms were very warm and cosy at night.

Staff were friendly, breakfast was a nice selection of breads, cheeses, fruits and meats. The Dinner was 5 star, we just wished we didn't fill up on pre dinner drinks and snacks.

The hotel has a nice timeline of its history, and top lookout and numerous walks( although these were closed due to the snow) to keep you busy. A summer and winter fun park is just a gondala ride away.

Well worth the money and was the perfect midway break of our holiday

Room Tip: All rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location, and for those wanting a quick escape from city life I would highly recommend it! The website does not give a lot of detail, but there are quite a few things to do up there. There is a walkway through caves in the mountain with great views out to Lake Luzerne and surrounding ranges. There is a story illustrated along the walk about the myth of the dragon, they give more information inside the suites. There are also two peaks you can walk to for panoramic views (one was closed as there was too much snow).
We were put in the "Sky Dragon" Suite which I believe is their biggest and on the top floor. The simple, basic interior decor felt quite static and characterless but this didn't really bother us as we had so many windows and a balcony to enjoy the view! Included in our stay was a set menu dinner which was quite nice but very rushed! Once all the day visitors have left the atmosphere in the hotel changes slightly, it felt a bit odd...
However, this is a great place to go and a fantastic getaway experience, I would highly recommend it purely for the view and to watch the sun go down and come back up again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room which translates as "Sky Dragon" on the top floor. It was large and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

You need three cable cars to get there at the top of a mountain at 2100 metres....The ride is nice with breathtaking views over Zurich lake and the mountains ( Eiger, Jungfrau...). Room was nice, confortable...and quiet. View was stunning. Restaurant is nice, a bit old deco style but very satisfactory. Food price was also ok keeping in mind where you are. The place is really special, not that much to do except looking to the mountains. I would recommend this place for the atmosphere, the strange feeling being stucked a night there ( there is no escape in fact aside the cable car and a train in summer). Romantic...I would not say that..but surely an experience to live.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Pilatus Kulm renovated the Hotel in a traditionell and unbelievable immense effort (1600 Heli-flights and thousands of tons of material).
But that is not enough! A very professional and enthusiastic Team (that unfortunately have to wear ugly fleece vestons in black and red ;-)) providing Best Service and a very high class cusine! It was a great time!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pilatus-Kulm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pilatus-Kulm

Address: Schlossweg 1, Kriens, Lucerne 6010, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne > Kriens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kriens
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pilatus-Kulm 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The successful conclusion of the complete refurbishment in August 2010 marked the beginning of another chapter in the vibrant history of the historic Pilatus-Kulm Mountain Hotel. The heritage-protected Hotel Pilatus-Kulm once again stands for the uniqueness that characterised it when it first opened in 1890. The generous hotel rooms and suites herald the dawn of a new era at Hotel Pilatus-Kulm with its distinguished tradition. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Pilatus-Kulm Kriens, Canton Of Lucerne, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pilatus-Kulm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.