We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views. Although little pricey.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonnenberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Sonnenberg to your Saves list
Hotel Sonnenberg
Zumhofstrasse, Kriens 6010, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great views. Although little pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

On the hill top overlooking Kriens and Luzern makes for great balcony views.
The hotel was quite tidy and clean although quite expensive for the room size and the fact that the toilet and shower were shared with other rooms. ie. the shower and toilet are their own rooms within the corridoor and not part of your room.
Hotel is easy enough to get to by car and there's plenty of car parking space (no charge extra).
Staff are friendly and although only one spoke good English at reception we managed with no problems.
I am quite harsh with my scoring but this gets an easy 3/5. Would be 4/5 if room prices were cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
11
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
high wycombe
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Fabulous location. Such magnificent views of the Alps and Lake Lucerne and easy opportunities to go walking. Great ethos in as much as it is a social enterprise to help get the long term unemployed back to work. This didn't mean poor service (in my experience). It was fabulous. Ron, the maitre d' (I think) was brilliant and did everything he could to make my stay enjoyable including changing the standard 4 course Sunday lunch to incorporate my vegetarianism and then remembering this fact the next day at breakfast. I will make every effort to stay there again. I can't recommend it heartily enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Very nice hotel with willig staff. The hotel is nearby Luzern, has a perfect view. The terrace of the restaurant is facing mountain. They cook also very good there. The room was nice, you have a nespresso machine in the room. I had also a balcony with mountain view. Continental breakfast also very good. Only thing is, that this hotel is only for travelers with car, because is almost on the top of a hill (or take a taxi):-))

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Service: ok, seems to me that some waiters have just started as they didn't have a clue. Reception staff quite unfriendly - didn't feel very welcome.

Hotel: It's in a nice location with excellent views over the mountains and lakes. However, the atmosphere in this hotel wasn't great - it all felt a bit unfriendly for some reason.

Room: The room itself was nicely decorated and a good size. We had a balcony too which was great! A nespresso machine with 4 capsules, milk and sugar, a tv and 2 bottles of sparkling water. Unfortunately we woke up very early as the walls are quite thin I guess....you can here other people slamming their doors etc. which was quite annoying when you'd like to sleep in!

Ensuite bathroom: Toilet, sink and bath with a curtain. This needs to be taken out and totally redone! there was mould everywhere and just doesn't match with the lovely redecorated bedroom. Shame!

Price: We stayed one night and paid CHF 180.00 including breakfast.

Breakfast: Ok - a cup of coffee or tea, a glass of orange juice each, bread and jam. Unfortunately no croissants or cooked breakfast...

Dinner: Very tasty and good menu. Price quite reasonable.

Overall - good hotel but needs to employ decent and more friendly staff. New bathrooms required and a better breakfast. By the way - Don't even think about going there without a car!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We booked this hotel based on the attractive rate for the Lucerne area. What was not apparent from the description was that the hotel is not located in the suburb of Kriens, but instead on top of the significant hill (Sonnenberg Mountain) above Kriens. A funicular ride (6 francs one-way) is necessary to get to the hotel, particularly with luggage. The funicular opens at 10 am and closes at 6 pm, which stifles going out in the evening if you don't have a car.
The hotel has a restaurant, but the "service" comes to a screeching halt when they have a banquet dinner planned for lunch or dinner. We sat ignored at our table for lengthy waits between courses, and there were no questions about ordering more drinks or dessert. Exceptionally bad service, especially for a Swiss hotel.
Room was adequate and clean, but remodel left uneven floor surfaces between rooms which were trip hazards. Only person who showed any interest in being of assistance to guests was the daytime hotel receptionist.
Walking trails in the area were nicely maintained and well marked.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed here 1 night. Rooms were clean but very hot and had a slight smell. Bathrooms were clean too but needed modernisation. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonnenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnenberg

Address: Zumhofstrasse, Kriens 6010, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Kriens
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kriens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sonnenberg in Kriens offers a panoramic view over Lake Lucerne, the mountains and the forest. The rooms are all equipped with Features wooden floors, a coffee-machine , TV, free Mineral water and free Wi-Fi Access. The Hotel Sonnenberg is easily reachable by the historic funicular, climbing up from Kriens Dorf within 7 minutes from April to November. You can park your car for free on site. The Hotel has also a Panorama-Restaurant, where seasonal and regional dishes are served. The Restaurant is open from 7 a.M. To 11 p.M. On Tuesday to Saturday and from 8 a.M. To 6 p.M. On Sunday. It is closed on Mondays. A large network of hiking trails surrounds the hotel and a miniature golf course and a playground are there as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sonnenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonnenberg Kriens, Canton Of Lucerne, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonnenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.