We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treetops Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marananga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treetops Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Treetops Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Seppeltsfield Road, Marananga, South Australia 5355, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Marananga B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What an amazing gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Friends and us are staying for 2 nights. What a fabulous surprise to stay in this spacious 2 bedroom apartment. Absolutely all your heart could desire was supplied for our stay. Even the fireplace was stacked and ready to lit every night on our arrival. The owners sooooo exceeded our expectations of a b&b, lots of personal touches that made it homely and a treat - 200% recommend if you are in the area. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

we stayed in the 2 bedroom self catering apartment underneath the treetops bnb. our hosts Malcolm and Joylene could not have been more helpful. The apartment is very generously and fully supplied with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Lots of room spotlessly clean comfortable beds and sofas and a good kitchen. Great location for Seppeltsfield Road Tanunda and Angaston access to wineries markets and cellar doors. Malcolm makes excellent red wine from his own vineyard and is generous with his knowledge and tastings. The Barossa picnic products he produces are also good and Joylene even baked us a cake and biscuits in addition to the generous breakfast provisions. Highly recommended to Barossa travellers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Only spent 3 nights here but would have stayed longer if they had not been fully booked. Friendly hosts, without being intrusive. It's set up high, and would have benefitted from providing a few bikes for residents to use. Fully equipped house and kitchen, and lovely eating area outside. A great bottle of wine and some lovely goodies were there on arrival, as well as a hearty breakfast basket! Great for two couples comfortably or just as a romantic retreat. Disappointed with magpie beers but very impressed with the various wineries. Our favourite being Peter Lehman - we will return! We loved the Barossa so much we booked another couple of nights accommodation in Tanunda. Take a trip out to Angaston too, well worth it for lunch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treetopsbnb, Owner at Treetops Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to you visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Treetops for 3 nights and could not have asked for a better location, a more lovely room or more agreeable hosts. The location, being out of town and up on a hill was great for views but also made the location quiet and relaxing and incredibly pleasant. We walked to Appellation for dinner at night which was great for working up our appetites and settling dinner on the way home!

The rooms were spacious and generous and beautifully appointed. When we arrived there was fresh fruit, a bottle of Mal and Joylene's wonderful wine and every little thing has been considered. It was great to have both a spacious bedroom and a large sitting room so we were able to stay in without feeling like we were confined to a small motel room.

Breakfast was beyond belief - Joylene cooked the most wonderful meals with fresh local produce, the likes of which we hadn't been able to find in some capital cities - truly delicious!

If you are going to the Barossa we would recommend this place unreservedly. Our only regret is that we didn't also have time to do a tasting of Mal and Joylene's own vintages. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: we chose upstairs for the cooked breakfast - downstairs is fully self-contained
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. It's a beautiful location and very peaceful. The hosts are welcoming and unintrusive. A lovely bottle of wine was provided on arrival and the food for breakfast and snacks was top quality.

Gnadenfrei is a short distance to must-see Barossa attractions such as Seppeltsfield and Maggie Beer's farm.

We were picked up one morning for a trike tour which included the cheese factory, Yalumba and brewery, which are all a little further away.

The Downunder unit was spacious and comfortable with two bedrooms, a good-size kitchen and bathroom and a large living area. Super Scrabble filled in a quiet evening and we even watched one of the supplied DVDs on a large flat screen.

We were provided with plenty of bacon and eggs for breakfast, fresh tomatoes and mushrooms, and more delicious bread than we could eat.

There was a small barbecue outside, which looked inviting, but there was no hot plate, just a grill.

Can highly recommend this place as an ideal getaway to explore the beautiful Barossa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The location was absolutely perfect - far enough out of town to feel completely rural and secluded but only 5 min drive to the nearest shops. Being on the hill top also provided some excellent views. The unit was cosy but had plenty of space with a decent size living/dining area and a good working kitchen. The unit was fitted out to a very high spec which made it a great retreat after long days out at the wineries. The couches were very comfy too and were very good at inducing sleep (especially after a few wines). There was an abundance of food including some fresh produce provided and more bacon than we could possibly eat! We stayed for two nights but would have stayed a third had it not been already booked. We Highly recommend a stay here if you are looking for something private, quiet, comfortable and homely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

As a fine wine enthusiast it was essential that we visited the Barossa Valley on our epic journey around Australia. We wanted accommodation with plenty of character & which would take us into the heart of the Barossa. Treetops certainly delivered this.
We initially found the property through Tripadvisor & were drawn by the idea of staying on an authentic working vineyard. We also thought it would be nice to be able to learn about the history of the place from the proprietor & experienced winemaker Malcolm Seppelt. As is obvious from his name he is a member of the historic Seppelt family whose roots go right back to the very beginnings of the Barossa wine industry.
From the initial enquiry & booking our experience was excellent. They were quick to answer our emails & provided some useful information to help us plan our trip. Once we had booked they even sent us a package of leaflets & maps of the area which was very helpful & unexpected.
We arrived tired following a long journey from Uluru via Adelaide. Thankfully the property was not difficult to find - lying just off the Seppeltsfield road which runs through the heart of the Barossa. There was plenty of parking & we were greeted on arrival by Malcolm who escorted us to the Treetops suite. This is attached to the main house but has its own private entrance. There was a large lounge & dining area with a small kitchenette. The latter was well equipped for the space & even included a nespresso machine. The bedroom was also large & included a Jacuzzi bath with a separate bath/shower room. All the rooms were filled with scented candles & oil burners which had been lit for our arrival. This was a nice touch & much appreciated. Malcolm was both charming & helpful - he gave us a guided tour of the suite & the amenities before leaving us to our privacy. A bottle of his own estate Grenache had been left for us which we later enjoyed
After a much needed nights sleep we were served breakfast in our dining room by Joylene. She is equally charming & we enjoyed a good chat about the history of the area & sought some advice on how best to make use of our stay. Breakfast consisted of cereals with fresh fruits grown on the estate - followed by a breakfast cooked to order - again from fresh organic produce. This gave us plenty of fuel for a hard day of wine tasting.
Suffice to say we had a great day wine tasting & made sure to finish at the Gnadenfrei estates own cellar door. Malcolm Is understandably proud of his grapes - he sells some to Torbreck which becomes their prized wine "The Laird" - however he keeps some back to make his own "St Michaels" Shiraz - an amazing concentrated & intense wine which I thoroughly enjoyed - if only I could have got some home - pesky baggage allowance....!.
In summary we had a great stay at Treetops B&B. Malcolm & Joylene are lovely hosts who made us feel very welcome. The quality of accommodation is excellent & the location is perfect for all the sights of the Barossa Valley. I hope one day we will be able to return the area & I would have no hesitation in booking another stay.

Just a comment on the location - it is not far to Tanunda which offers a number of good options to eat - we enjoyed a superb meal at 1918 & I will review this separately. However distances are quite far & either a designated driver or a hired driver for wine tasting is handy.

Room Tip: Joylene showed us the "Downunder" apartment during our stay. This was equally well appoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Treetops Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Bed and Breakfast

Address: Seppeltsfield Road, Marananga, South Australia 5355, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Marananga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marananga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In what is Australia’s quintessential wine country, Seppeltsfield Road weaves through the small village of Marananga, first known in 1849 as Gnadenfrei, and is now the place where Malcolm and Joylene Seppelt offer a unique food and wine experience at Gnadenfrei Estate. Here Malcolm and Joylene offer the one constant – excellence in accommodation, food and wine. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treetops Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.