We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Novillo Alegre Parrilla Argentina

El Novillo Alegre Parrilla Argentina
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
(506)22-034753
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Service is excellent, certainly you can find excellent meats, whatever the term you prefer. Great variety in wines, liquors, very nice place, rustic and a little simple but works fine.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    44
    20
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always a Great Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is one place you can be sure you will get quality. The service is impeccable and would venture to say the most consistent in the city. I have never had a bad meal. Always top notch. The meats are what this place is known for. The local lomito is fantastic while the Argentinian Entrana stake is the most flavorful. If your in town don't even think about it. You will be very happy! By the way the meat empanadas are to die for! Perez Family

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Milanesa in Costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I was sceptical of this place after reading other reviews that say it is pricey and had poor service. I was pleasantly surprised. Not going to lie, I enjoyed sitting indoors for a change, Pura Vida aside. We sat in front of the wine racks and felt like we were in Buenos Aires. My husband is Argentinean andh e found the Milanes Napolitana to be excellent. Our waiter, Hugo, was nice, attentive and gave us a tour of the Vineria in the back where they stoe wines to be sold at cheaper prices so you can uncork them in the restaurant. Very pretty place with indoor and outdoor seating. Parking is free and convenient. My milanesa was delish as were the sides of potatoe chips and maduros with cinnamon. I wouls definitely recommned this place.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Regulars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We're actually regulars at El Novillo Alegre. They have a great discount if you have an AMEX. If you're as much as a meat lover as I am, DO NOT miss out on the Entrana. It is spectacular. Having said this, be ready to pay around $25 to $30 bucks a dish....

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Between San Jose and airport
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, however very pricey and bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and typical Argentinian tango was playing the whole time. The food was delicious, however very overpriced unless you have a Costa Rican credit card from a specific bank (where they give 30-50% off), so you can imagine the markup. Entrees average about $30. Appetizers cost around $15. Salads average around $18. Desserts around $10. None of us are drinkers, so we didn't order the wine. If you're not drinking alcohol, expect to pay $45 per person.

They serve you some delicious complimentary homemade breads before your meal with different dipping sauces. Milanesa chicken and veal were both tender and tasty. French fries were exactly the same that you would get at Taco Bell. Baked potato was served with nothing to put on it (no sour cream, chives, cheese, nothing). Their "natural" mango juice tasted like it came from a box and was watered down (I would know - I make my own freshly squeezed mango juice about once a week and this wasn't it). Three of the four entrees arrived quickly and the other one about 3-4 minutes later. The service overall was terrible. During our meal never once asked us how things were. After we finished eating, we all sat there for half an hour just talking and finally decided decided to flag a waiter down to get the bill and clear the table of the dirty dishes. Nobody asked if we wanted another drink, or dessert and finally when they delivered the bill to us someone who wasn't our waiter asked how the meal was.

If you have a credit card from Credomatic or if money is not an issue to you, it's really not that bad. If you're looking to try something different, give it a try. We might have just lucked out with one bad waiter. If not, I would look somewhere else. You can find similar places for 40-50% less than what they charge here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Novillo Alegre Parrilla Argentina also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to El Novillo Alegre Parrilla Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Novillo Alegre Parrilla Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.