We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in San Jose!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Brasil de Santa Ana, Santa Ana 6100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in San Jose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

There's really not much to add to the infinite number of positive reviews about CBR. Steve and Rita are absolutely amazing! It all started even before we booked our flights to Costa Rica for our honeymoon. Rita was very helpful with recommending where to visit and stay, attractions to see, and restaurants to try; booking transportation; and providing other additional tips/information on Costa Rica. All you gotta do is ask and they'll handle it all! They made the whole experience of spending hours traveling and arriving in an unknown foreign country very personable.

After being picked up and driven by Steve, we were welcomed by a trio of dogs - Topo, Ratatouille, and Tintin. They were so loving and super sweet and even laid with me on the patio overlooking the canyon while I enjoyed a nice cocktail that Steve whipped up! The views were stunning and pictures don't even do them justice! We stayed in the Mariposa room even though we originally booked the Canopy room. Rita offered the choice to switch to the Mariposa since it was available. So glad we did too because it was so beautifully decorated and unique!!

All in all, this is THE place to stay! We will definitely be back and staying with StRita again - maybe for an anniversary trip?? =]

Room Tip: The Mariposa room was perfect for our honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    30
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
145
376
43
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My return flight from San Jose was early in the morning so I had to find a place to stay the night before my flight. I did not want to spend any time in San Jose and was eager to find a place outside of San Jose and not too far from the airport: and this is the B&B that I happened to stumble upon while I was searching for accommodation possibilities! I am certain I could not have found a better place to stay, and I only wish I had stayed there at least two nights. The place is absolutely beautiful. Pure style and charm, with stunning views of the Central Valley. It's is without doubt one of the most amazing B&Bs I've ever stayed at and I would return any day. Rita and Steve are amazing hosts! You are in for a real treat when you meet them. They run their "business" with a real sense of passion and enthusiasm, which makes any curious traveler happy to have come across their piece of paradise on earth. And their three dogs are absolutely hilarious and ever so friendly, and of course the various colorful and exotic birds in the front and back yard add to the atmosphere of this beautiful B&B! I highly recommend that you stay at this place. And it is certainly very conveniently located to the San Jose airport which makes it a perfect spot for starting or ending your adventure travels in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are spectacular. Depends on what you wish to spend and how big you wish your room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

First, our flight was cancelled due to weather in the USA and we had to travel a day later than planned. Rita not only changed our reservation with no issues, but also offered to make any calls to other Costa Rican places to alert them to our change in plans! Easily 5 calls and 10 emails! This was a HUGE help! We LOVED being picked up at the airport-- so easy. Rita had a very nice snack ready for us and, of course, it was a great place to stay. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My family and I stayed at Casa Bella Rita for 5 nights. I didn't know what to expect but I heard great things from a work colleague. We were blown away! This was a wonderful B&B. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, and the property had spectacular views and grounds. We stayed in the attic room, which easily accommodated all 3 of us. Steve and Rita prepared tasty breakfasts and adapted to dietary restrictions. They also mix some pretty awesome cocktails. They went out of their way to handle all details relating to excursions we wanted to take, from booking them and arranging for drivers. Everything went smoothly and as planned. They also made several great recommendations on activities and restaurants. They never steered us wrong. We enjoyed their company and their B&B which started to feel like our "home away from home". I plan on returning and staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Once again, we enjoyed a wonderful stay. Steve and Rita are great hosts! The location is easy for access to the airport, shopping, dining, and awesome views from the patio. This is really the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was my first time here. Steve and Rita treated us like good friends. The rooms were so clean and quiet. The food was fabulous also. They helped us plan side trips also. It was like staying with family. Couldn't have been better. We started and ended our trip at Casa Bella Rita and enjoyed it thoroughly.

Room Tip: lower levels are better if you have trouble with stairs. All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I couldn't rave more about my stay at Casa Bella Rita this summer. Steve and Rita are lovely people and really made me feel at home. If you need to stay at San Jose, this is definitely the place. It's close to downtown San Jose, but there's plenty of good food nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: Brasil de Santa Ana, Santa Ana 6100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Central Valley's finest Bed & Breakfast. Casa Bella Rita is private and luxurious and within minutes of the airport, San Jose, Poas Volcano, coffee plantations, botanical gardens and other popular sites. Complimentary airport pick-up and gourmet breakfasts are included. Each room has a cable TV, AC, honor bar, safe, custom furniture, high quality mattresses and bedding and private bathroom. Perfect for your home base while touring Costa Rica, honeymoons, business travel or your first and last night's stay. Breathtaking views of the canyon, WIFI, computer station and friendly dogs on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed And Breakfast
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Hotel Santa Ana
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.