We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent*****AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Brasil de Santa Ana, Santa Ana 6100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Sacramento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent*****AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Trip Advisor needs to add an additional rating on this B&B because it is better than Excellent, it's AWESOME. This hidden Gem is full of comfort everywhere you turn. The common area up stairs is peaceful and relaxing with views that are breathtaking. The Pool area and lounge chairs provide for an awesome place to sit and refresh in the afternoon heat. Rita and Steve are as quiet as a church mouse, until you need something and there they are with the answer. The rooms are most comfortable and very, very clean. The only problem was making a decision as to which room we wanted to stay in...LOL. As for the food, YUMMY, Steve is an awesome cook that made every meal from breakfast to dinner simple and extremely satisfying. The hospitality at Casa Bella Rita is second to none. When pondering what to see in San Jose, Rita suggested that we take a trip up to see the Toucan Rescue Ranch. This is a "Must See". Here the native animals are brought in to the rescue that have been abused or injured and rehabilitated. If they had been in the wild then they are treated and released back into the wild, otherwise they live their lives out under the care of Leslie (owner). Rita provided us with a driver (Luis) who knows Costa Rica like the back of his hand. He drove us around sightseeing and made you feel safe when on the roads of Costa Rica. Thanks Rita and Steve for making our stay memorable....We look forward to seeing you again several times in the future......

Room Tip: Good Luck....We wanted to stay in everyone room... They are absolutely beautiful and most comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    30
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
145
377
43
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were hoping to stay at Casa Bella Rita our final night in Costa Rica. We were in communication wtih Rita regarding rides and recommendaitons and she was incredibly helpful. Rita responded to my complicated requests for rides to and from various parts of the country with recommendations and generous offers of support. She arranged for Luis to pick us up at the airport and take us to Manuel Antonio, which was a highlight for us. Luis was wonderful and showed us some great places on the 3.5 hour drive and back again. Our itinerary with my group/work travel ended up preventing us from staying at Casa Bella Rita on our final night, but I thought it would be helpful for potential readers to know that we had lots of contact with Rita and that she was so helpful as a guide as well as a host. She was willing to accommodate my last minute changes even though she didn't have to and I really appreciate her personalized attention and consideration. I definitely plan to return and stay at casa bella rita next time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Really glad we stayed here. This is a very well run boutique hotel. The American owners Steve and Rita are the perfect hosts.

We stayed here for 3 nights in total, 2 at the beginning of our 3 week trip in Costa Rica and 1 at the end (it's very handy for San Jose airport). The luggage never made it with us on our first night but Steve and Rita were more than happy to supply toothbrushes, toothpaste and even clothes (good job both were lean and toned types). We were more than happy with the shorts and T-shirts - given that we'd just come straight from London.

The building itself is perched on the edge of a valley and affords great views from the pool side area, there is also a first floor balcony and a quiet hammock and seating area to the side of Cassabellarita itself.

We stayed in two different rooms during our two visits and found both to be comfortable, stylishly furnished and very relaxing. The rooms come with multi channelled TV’s, well stocked fridges, clock radios with Ipod docks, large beds (some very large) and plenty of cushions.

There’s lots of attention to detail here, fresh flowers in the rooms, face cloths and bathrobes. The main living space upstairs is a great place to sit and relax. You can take in the great views from the balcony, watch a film from the huge collection of DVD’s, read a book (there’s lots to choose from) or use the PC to browse the internet.

There is also a pool outside if you wanted to cool off and there are several sun loungers too. If this isn’t enough for you, then you can go to the small seating area to the side and relax in the hammock.

You’re also made to feel very welcome here. Steve and Rita are more than happy to advise on local eating establishments including ordering take outs. We did all 3 and all the food we had was very enjoyable. Breakfasts were also excellent. We were vegetarian and were easily accommodated with omelettes and fresh fruit with lots of coffee. On the day we left for the airport on our way home, Rita gave us some banana bread to take with us (which was excellent by the way Rita). They will sort and arrange all taxis and transfers as well.

If you’re in the San Jose area, then I would highly recommend staying here and would stay here again if I came back to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: I think they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I looked at what other people had written so I could say something unique about Casa Bella Rita. Rita helped me via email to plan our family trip to Costa Rica even though we'd never met, oh many, many other people already said that. Rita and Steve made a delicious and generously portioned breakfast, oh yes, almost everyone has mentioned that. The bed was very comfortable, the Canyon view was great, and Rita was up at 5 am to see us off with banana bread and delicious coffee. Yes, that's been covered, too. So the way that Rita and Steve made us feel welcome is something that they apparently do for everyone who stays with them. Now that is unique. The value for money is also excellent here as you get one free airport pick up along with free insider advice on how to spend your precious vacation time. So save yourself hours of comparison shopping and book Casa Bella Rita for at least your first and last night in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Rita and Steve are very lovely people and supported us wherever they could. The bed and breakfast is really recommendable as starting point in Costa Rica and for trips around the Central Valley. The house with its rooms is unique: the furnishement is tastefully in every single detail, the view over the Canyon is amazing and the garden is perfect for relaxing after a long trip from Europe. This is really one of the best bed and breakfasts we've been to, not only in Costa Rica! Thank you very much, Rita and Steve!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Casa Bell Rita was a great stop for us, coming from Monteverde, and heading for the Osa Peninsula. Rita helped with travel arrangements from Monteverde, and Steve drove us to the airport. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed the air conditioning! There is a wonderful sitting room with a great view across a ravine. Rita gave us good dining tips. This is a good place to stay coming from or going to the airport.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Rita and Steve at Casa Bella Rita.
Nestled in a lovely spot overlooking a beautiful gorge, we felt right at home.
Their place is lovely. Bedrooms equipped with wonderfully comfortable beds and nicely decorated with those lovely extra touches.
Rita offered to give us lots of great information before and during your stay. She will give you good advice on places to eat, activities and is happy to arrange excursions, car rentals and answer any questions. Steve makes a mean delicious breakfast all enjoyed on a lovely patio overlooking the gorge and watching the planes land in the distance.
We felt very safe and enjoyed not being right in the city centre. A quick easy bus ride gets you quickly and cheaply into town or to nearby shopping. There are many restaurants close at hand.
Thanks Rita and Steve. It was a pleasure to stay with you and have recommended it to our family and friends.

Room Tip: We prefered to stay in the main house on the upper floor. It was quieter and very private. You also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: Brasil de Santa Ana, Santa Ana 6100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Central Valley's finest Bed & Breakfast. Casa Bella Rita is private and luxurious and within minutes of the airport, San Jose, Poas Volcano, coffee plantations, botanical gardens and other popular sites. Complimentary airport pick-up and gourmet breakfasts are included. Each room has a cable TV, AC, honor bar, safe, custom furniture, high quality mattresses and bedding and private bathroom. Perfect for your home base while touring Costa Rica, honeymoons, business travel or your first and last night's stay. Breathtaking views of the canyon, WIFI, computer station and friendly dogs on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed And Breakfast
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Hotel Santa Ana
Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bella Rita Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.