We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. 5, between calle 2 and 3 | del Pali de Santa Ana 100 norte y 150 oeste, Santa Ana 6510, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Konigstein im Taunus, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I went for a week to Costa Rica in February in order to have a break from snowy Germany and get some sunshine and relaxation. Fortunately I found the Hotel Casa Alegre by coincidence in the internet which made my whole vacation a perfect success story. My stay in the hotel Casa Alegre was very enjoyable and I spent some beautiful and relaxing moments reading on the garden terrace and using the whirlpool, enjoying delicious food at breakfast and dinner, meeting interesting people and receiving very useful information from Volker how to best spend the remaidner of my trip. I would love to come back to this place any time.

Room Tip: I personally preferred the garden appartment because it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Armin,

I'm very glad that you did like your time in our little Posada. And we are all glad, that you are so happy with food, tours and service. We hope you will be come back soon and enjoy again this wonderful place.
Thanks alot,

Volker & Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
60
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We, a couple from Germany, stayed one night in March 2013 in Posada Nena. Internet page read good, many good ratings on tripadvisor, and the owner, Volker, was very friendly in email conversion. We had one of the two superior rooms which are “garden” facing. But our stay was disappointing. The area of the “Posada” is small. The property is like a towel, like the property of a row house. The small part faces the road with high iron bars. It looks like a prison from outside. We talked to Volker about the massive iron bars and he said that the area was very save and that the Posada had only very small security equipment. It seems that he does not recognise any more all the iron bars, barbed wire, cameras, security personnel etc. on all the houses in San José. We had a look in one of the standard rooms which were quite small. Our superior room was a little bit larger, but also small. Room was clean. Bathroom was also clean, new and spacious. The room has no windows on 3 sides, only a sliding glass door as entrance. The air condition was very loud, for us impossible to sleep when switched on. There are other ratings here on tripadvisor telling about the very noisy air conditions and Volker responded that the air condition is not noisy. Do not believe him, the air condition is definitely loud! Since there was only a sliding glass door, it was not possible to tilt a window. It is only possible to open the glass door so that everybody can come into the room during the night. Yes, there is a security guard during the night, but the feeling with sleeping next to an open slide door is still not nice. By the way: Why is there a security guard required although the area it “very safe”? The “garden” is not a real garden. It is a very small piece of grass with a few toys for children. From the term “Posada with garden” someone can expect something bigger. Nearly the whole property has buildings on it, the building with the rooms and bar at the street facing side and the building with the two superior rooms at the end of the property with the small “garden” in-between. There are high walls to the neighbor properties, which gives also the feeling of the prison. We received good tips from Volker for restaurants to have dinner. Since we had to leave early in the morning to the airport (6:30am), we asked for a packed breakfast, for example a simple sandwich and a boiled egg. Volker: “Packed breakfast is not possible. Boiled egg is also not possible“. “Why not?“ “You are in Costa Rica here“. Sounds not so polite as in the email conversion during booking. Next morning there was a very friendly woman which prepared the packed breakfast for us without any problem. We asked Volker for a description of the way to the airport, especially to the car rental station with is nearby the airport. He painted roughly a mess of lines on a piece of paper “… and you have to drive somehow through Belem” , not very willing to give a good description. However, we found the way on our own and it was easy since there are signs with “airport” and the way through Belem to the car rental was also easy. Since there are many guests in Posada Nena who drive to the airport (since it is near to it), it would be useful if the Posada would have a ready made descriptoin of the way to the airport. We would not stay again in “Posada” Nena.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

It has a nice area for sunbathing/ sitting in the sun. The restaurant is nice and they serve good breakfast. A side note - don't flush toilet paper in Costa Rica, there is really little water pressure and it can lead to some toilet disasters.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Manager at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hi Jdyus,

Thank you so much for writing this review. We are always happy to see you and your friends in our little Posada in Santa Ana.
Thanks as well for your traveler- recommendation.

Sunny regards,
Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. It's small and cozy and the staff is warm and helpful. I have been here three times now and each time it is peaceful and restful. A good breakfast and hot jacuzzi comes with the deal. If you want something near the airport and not too far off the beaten path of San Jose. This is the place. Bus service is available between here and downtown San Jose. Taxis are just around the corner.

Room Tip: Rooms on patio are quieter and don't hear the office phones ring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Inhaber at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi W5KU,

thanks a lot for your review. I really hope we see you again in 2013 and you will love all the new little things we are making better day to day. You will love our new sun- terrace in the first floor, with a lot of tropical plants. See you soon,
happy new Year,

Volker and Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This little gem is just about 20minutes away from downtown Santa Jose and close to the airport at the same time.
I started my Posada Nena experience more than three years ago before the new owners bought the property. The new owners have steadily made improvements and it gets better every year! Small, yes,safe, for sure,with a very nice courtyard with many plants and flowers and small hammocks for just lying around the patio waiting for the Jacuzzi to warm up. Very family oriented. Clean with very nice people to help you plan tours and such.

Room Tip: Ask for an improved room overlooking the courtyard,it's worth it! Free breakfast in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi Camille,

thanks a lot for your review. And yes, we are going on making new improvements to offer an even better service and more attractions to our guests.
Thanks a lot, welcome anytime at Posada Nena,
saludos Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there with a group of 8 persons for 24hrs.
The rooms were very clean, friendly and comfortable.
The service an the atencion of the personal were realy kindly.
The food were exeptional:
We have had breakfast, lunch and dinner. Each was exellent and ritch and enough.
Some of the group enjoyed the nearby city.
For this price you don´t find a lot of hotels in this class in Costa Rica.
(I live and travel here since five years.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi Wilhelm,

I very happy that you liked our place and hope you will come back next year. Everytime we are trying to improve our Posada, so I am sure your next visit will be another surprise.
Thanks a lot,
Saludos
Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We took a trip to Costa Rica with my daughter and son in law and three small grandchildren. This was our first stop for three nights and it felt like coming home every night. The rooms had everything we needed. Breakfast was true Costa Rican fare, and was delicious. You could order dinner if you wanted also. The staff was helpful and very accomodating. We enjoyed the smallness of the town and felt very comfortable walking around there in the evenings. We really wanted to stay somewhere that gave us the true Costa Rican experience, and I felt this place really gave us that. They don't actually have a pool, just a hot tub, but it was still refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi Toni,

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed our Posada and the town Santa Ana. Hope we will see you back again soon,
Sunny regards
Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena

Address: Av. 5, between calle 2 and 3 | del Pali de Santa Ana 100 norte y 150 oeste, Santa Ana 6510, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Nena/ Casa Alegre is a charming Boutique Hotel conveniently located just outside of San Jose, Costa Rica in the town of Santa Ana. Posada Nena offers first class accommodations at a very reasonable price. Our rooms are fully equipped with AC and ceiling fans, cable TV, fridge, Phone (free national calls and free calls to USA and Canada) hot water showers, and wireless internet service. They are comfortable and tastefully decorated in a classic style. The bathrooms are spacious and airy. A free and tasty breakfast is available all the morning, lunch and dinner are served on request. At our little, cosy bar we offer fresh tropical cocktails and ice-cold beer. Just relax in our tropical gardens with the hot water Whirlpool. We offer a lot of activities and tours, leaving directly from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.