We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on a quiet street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. 5, between calle 2 and 3 | del Pali de Santa Ana 100 norte y 150 oeste, Santa Ana 6510, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Grant, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice place on a quiet street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We took a trip to Costa Rica with my daughter and son in law and three small grandchildren. This was our first stop for three nights and it felt like coming home every night. The rooms had everything we needed. Breakfast was true Costa Rican fare, and was delicious. You could order dinner if you wanted also. The staff was helpful and very accomodating. We enjoyed the smallness of the town and felt very comfortable walking around there in the evenings. We really wanted to stay somewhere that gave us the true Costa Rican experience, and I felt this place really gave us that. They don't actually have a pool, just a hot tub, but it was still refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi Toni,

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed our Posada and the town Santa Ana. Hope we will see you back again soon,
Sunny regards
Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    25
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
53
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quepos, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Everyone here was nice and accommodating to our young kids. the breakfast was great and we enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of sight seeing. The location is great...in a quiet part of Santa Ana but still in walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Familia Chucho,

Thanks a lot for writing a review. I hope you and your nice kids will soon come again to be our guests. Costa Rica is a great destiny and there is so much more to see.
see you soon,

Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed here (family, 2 adults one child) for 4 nights and shared a basic, but clean and comfortable room. Very friendly staff, but helps if you have a little Spanish if the owner isn't around. Showers can be temperamental as heat is solar, and water sometimes gets cut-off for short periods over the weekend, but you can't fault the hotel for that. Food as served is good, but as is the way with all of our stay in Costa Rica you can't be quite sure what to expect ! Share a beer and a chat at the bar with the owner for the cheapest beer we were offered in a bar at $2, and he evens buys some back if you have a small 'session' !

Overall, a nice reasonable place to stay...no frills, but friendly and good value

Room Tip: Get a garden room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi James,

Thanks for your review. Hope to see you around again. We fixed the problem with the water supply and installed 6 m³ of fresh water- tanks and an electric water pump, so now always water is guaranteed.
Thanks again for writing,

see you soon,

Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had my parents stay two nights in early April. We tried to contact the hotel several times via emails and phone calls over a period of two weeks. NOTHING. I just wanted to some info of surrounding areas, and places that my parents could possibly visit as they are somewhat frail and spoke no Spanish. (I chose this hotel mainly because it had a microwave and a small fridge in the room--which helped my parents as they have dietary restrictions and have difficulty eating out.) Very disappointing for us that a hotel can't even return emails or phone calls. I don't find that professional at all. My parents told me that the neighborhood is a bit loud--which is pretty normal in CR. Perhaps this place works for others. Not for my parents.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDowers_11, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Hi Anna,

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry, but the same day you send your only contact via E- Mail to us (12th of March), I, personally answered within 2 hours. Maybe because of your Spam Filter you didn't get the answer on time. I hope, you will find it and see the 30 line- answer, with a lot of travel related information to Costa Rica.
And for your parents- they have been very happy in our place and made another reservation for these weeks. So I think, they felt really well in our place.
Sunny regards,

Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Unhelpful staff. Close to highway & clean, but uncomfortable beds and mediocre breakfast. Better hotels out there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Family Eva,

Sorry, but I think you are confused with our location. Our small Boutique hotel, Posada Nena is very far away from any highway- the next one is more than one mile away (see Google maps- Highway 27). The good thing about the highway is, it bring you to San José within 12 minutes and only one hour to paradise beaches on the Pacific.

Saludos cordials
Minerva and Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I travel to Santa Ana for business every 2 months and stay for @ 2 weeks each visit. I have been staying at this new found gem for more than a year now. The service is excellent ! Nice comfy clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, dinner, and attention to detail. The quiet residential neighborhood located in old Santa Ana - Centro is safe to walk around at night. Within walking distance to supermarkets, local restaurantes, pubs, market, central park. Close to the bus line to get you anywhere in Santa Ana, Escazu, San Jose, and throughout the country.
Perfect for business travelers, singles, friends or couples on vacation. There seems to be a fair amount of international guests which adds to the ambieance of the quaint hotel. The owners and staff are international as well with a mixture of German, Venezuelan, Nicaraguan, and of course Costa Rican.
Each room has air conditioning. cable television, wireless internet, in- room safe, telephone, hot water !

You cannot beat the price nor the service !

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room. There are only 2 at this time, but any room is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPosadaNena, Owner at Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Danno,

Thanks a lot for your review. I hope to seee you in Santa Ana soon. We built some more really beautiful amenities in the Posada and we would be very happy if you will share these with us.

Hope to see you soon,

Sunny regardHi Danno,

Thanks a lot for your review. I hope to seee you in Santa Ana soon. We built some more really beautiful amenities in the Posada and we would be very happy if you will share these with us.

Hope to see you soon,

Sunny regard

Minerva

Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodø, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

A nice, recently refurnished, little hotel -peacefully located centrally in Santa Ana- in a quiet street away from the traffic. Nice and friendly staff, clean rooms with fridge and air condition, very nice garden in the backyard with a little bubble bath pool (new in 2011).
It is almost like coming home! The staff is helpful and serviceminded.
It takes only 20-25 minutes to the airport with a taxi, it is therefore a nice alternative to stay and sleep at this hotel if you plan to travel around, instead of an expensive hotel in the crowded and more noisy big town, San Jose. Bus transport is also no problem from Santa Ana to the surroundings. Staying at Casa Alegre is quite cheap, too!
I have a daughter who attends the international school, United World Colleges, nearby the hotel - and thats one of the reasons I have stayed at the hotel twice during 2011. And I have already booked a new stay at the hotel in May 2012. I am very satisfied with Casa Alegre/Posada Nena where I feel like home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena

Address: Av. 5, between calle 2 and 3 | del Pali de Santa Ana 100 norte y 150 oeste, Santa Ana 6510, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Nena/ Casa Alegre is a charming Boutique Hotel conveniently located just outside of San Jose, Costa Rica in the town of Santa Ana. Posada Nena offers first class accommodations at a very reasonable price. Our rooms are fully equipped with AC and ceiling fans, cable TV, fridge, Phone (free national calls and free calls to USA and Canada) hot water showers, and wireless internet service. They are comfortable and tastefully decorated in a classic style. The bathrooms are spacious and airy. A free and tasty breakfast is available all the morning, lunch and dinner are served on request. At our little, cosy bar we offer fresh tropical cocktails and ice-cold beer. Just relax in our tropical gardens with the hot water Whirlpool. We offer a lot of activities and tours, leaving directly from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.