We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andiamo La

Andiamo La
Santa Ana Centro, 300Norte de la Cruz Roja | contiguo a Supermercado MasxMenos, Santa Ana 11111, Costa Rica
506 22827879
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
costa rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The food, service, ambiance in Santa Ana us great. We have dined here 7times and each experience has been perfect

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    58
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent quality in a beautiful ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Visited restaurant to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were about 30 people in a private room downstairs, service was excellent at all times, menu variety for all tastes. They serve a delicious Italian red wine and a great variety of appetizers-all were delicious. I ordered a grilled octopus with vegetables that was very good. My husband pasta with salmon that was also great. Really recommend the place. It was recently built and is very nicely decorated.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is beautifully decorated, the atmosphere is great. It contains many details that most people do not about. For examples the brick roof is made from bricks from the old National Stadium. The big table near the bar is one of a kind and considered a piece of art since it was custom designed for the piece of wood that mad made into the table. Their wine cellar is incredible and they also have a private room downstairs for private events.

The waiters are incredible nice, courteous and professionals. Service is top of the line.

The food is amazing! The duck is delicious and the penne in barco is my favorite. It is pricey but top notch.

For holidays I would recommend making the reservation ahead of time. This is restaurant has to be in the top 3 in Costa Rica due to all its incredible aspects of the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and service with a great wine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is easy to find. Exit off of 27 and head into Santa Ana. Restaurant is right next to the Masxmenos store. Beautiful decor with lots of outside seating or air conditioned inside seating. Italian cuisine is their speciality. The wine list is extensive with plenty of South American, Italian and US wines. As others have said it is a little pricey but the quality and presentation is worth it. My wife had the Sea bass And I had the chicken parmigiana. Wonderful flavors and made to order by a experienced casts of chefs. We had to try the house speciality dessert of melted chocolate in a philo pastry along with 2 scoops of vanilla ice cream. I highly recommend you leave room for this yummy dessert. We will definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A step above the normal...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The building and decor is exceptionally well done. The service is absolutely excellent from the greeting at the door to the opening of the door for you as you depart, there was no gap in the service. The day was Easter Sunday and they were prepared to serve you exceptionally well.

We were seated at a table overlooking the kitchen serving area which was a treat for a first timer as we could see the many selections and match them to the menu. Ravioli with ricotta and mushrooms was quite nice. The Risotto with mushrooms was also. One of the Pennes served with a red sauce was delicious. The desert the "Kiss of the Falcon" was shared by all and was well presented and delicious. The clams as an appetizer were lacking in flavor but some more garlic and herbs could fix that.

I am always surprised that in Costa Rica they can put a little rosemary and olive oil on a pizza dough and charge $11.00 for it and get it when usually a good bruschetta in the US is complimentary with the meals. The Pizzas at Andiamo look to be quite tasty, but the pricing again is exceptionally expensive compared to anywhere in the US that I know of.

Pricing over all was expensive, but you have to pay for the service and the decor. Overall a nice dinner on a special occasion but not an everyday place to eat for me.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andiamo La also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Andiamo La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andiamo La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.