We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andiamo La

Andiamo La
Santa Ana Centro, 300Norte de la Cruz Roja | contiguo a Supermercado MasxMenos, Santa Ana 11111, Costa Rica
506 22827879
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 47 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Price range: $10 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Escazu, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It is difficult to rate such a good restaurant without seeming to overrate. I have been there twice, once on business and the second with famiLy. Both times, it exceeded my expectations. Food was well prepared by cooks that knew that the clients that could be attending were the most demanding in the country and knew how to rate the food that they were paying for. Thus, it is challenging to locate in the most affluent section of Costa Rica, Escazu-Santa Ana. PreparaTion of the food was excellent and the wine selection quite appropriate, although not exceedingly expensive. Pasta is their main line, but meats and fish proved to be as good as can be. Premises are made taking advantage of the surroundings and the good weather of Santa Ana. Of the two terracees, one looks Northe, which can be windy because of the North-Easterly wind, and the other to the West, which makes very agreeable. As summary, It is a very good place to go, one of the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    52
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New location, same excellent quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've visited the new location of Andiamo La in Santa Ana twice already and I'm very glad they decided to open a new place in this part of town, the quality of the food and service is the same as in their original location, the new restaurant has a superb modern architecture that accentuates the experience of visiting this extraordinary italian restaurant. Once again, highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Was the best at the East of San Jose.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I went today and ask for the gorgonzola steak, a carpaccio, pizza , etc.
The service was so so, food was eatable, but the main problem I had is that we found a hair in the middle of one of the napkins, I called the manager and told him because we are clients until today , he did not said a word.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining it is not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This place really isn't as good as the reviews suggest. The building

The carpaccio was actually one of the worst I've had. Overly thin, not enough time out of the freezer and bleeding on my plate. Seafood ravioli came in a watery salty sauce. On another occasion I ordered a pizza which I had to send back because the base was under cooked.

The place is still finding it's feet

I will say the wine list is pretty decent. Carpe Diem is still the #1 Italian place here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The BEST thing ever to happen in Santa Ana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you haven't yet had the opportunity to dine here, believe me, you don't know what you're
missing. The Restaurant is conveniently located on the same property as Mas x Menos where
most of us living here in Santa Ana do their grocery shopping. So it is a convenient walk for
folks such as ourselves, who do not have a car here in Costa Rica. For those who are driving
to the restaurant, there is plenty of parking in a safe, secure area. The restaurant is beautiful
on the interior and your choices include a formal dining room where you can actually see right
into the sparkling, clean, kitchen where they can prepare many of the dishes in their brick oven,
such as the Pizza selections or many of the seafood dishes. Or weather permitting, you may
choose to dine "al fresco" on one of their many outside dining areas, one with a beautiful
water view of swans swimming by, or the gorgeous front patio for either lunch or dinner. We
chose to dine inside near the kitchen area, as the particular night we dined there it was quite
chilly with some light rain falling. May I say, not only is the food superb with a huge menu
offering all kinds of Appetizers, Soups, Salads but an extensive dinner menu offering Italian
specalties, many Seafood entrees, Beef entrees, Chicken dishes - you name it - they have it.
But in addition to the fabulous food, our waiter, "Danny" was absoutely the BEST. He was so
attentive and helpful in aiding my choice of entree which was a Crab filled Ravioli in a
Seafood Sauce and it was indeed incredibly delicious. The wine list is also extensive if wine
is your choice, although they also offer cocktails of every description. At the close of dinner
we asked to meet with the Manager, Adrian so that we could compliment him on the decor, the
menu, the food and especially to compliment our wonderful waiter, "Danny."

Again, if you haven't yet dined here at Andiamo La in Santa Ana, don't miss out because once
you do, I guarantee, you WILL be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andiamo La also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Andiamo La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andiamo La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.