We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining it is not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Andiamo La

Andiamo La
Santa Ana Centro, 300Norte de la Cruz Roja | contiguo a Supermercado MasxMenos, Santa Ana 11111, Costa Rica
506 22827879
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 55 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining it is not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This place really isn't as good as the reviews suggest. The building

The carpaccio was actually one of the worst I've had. Overly thin, not enough time out of the freezer and bleeding on my plate. Seafood ravioli came in a watery salty sauce. On another occasion I ordered a pizza which I had to send back because the base was under cooked.

The place is still finding it's feet

I will say the wine list is pretty decent. Carpe Diem is still the #1 Italian place here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    61
    18
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The BEST thing ever to happen in Santa Ana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you haven't yet had the opportunity to dine here, believe me, you don't know what you're
missing. The Restaurant is conveniently located on the same property as Mas x Menos where
most of us living here in Santa Ana do their grocery shopping. So it is a convenient walk for
folks such as ourselves, who do not have a car here in Costa Rica. For those who are driving
to the restaurant, there is plenty of parking in a safe, secure area. The restaurant is beautiful
on the interior and your choices include a formal dining room where you can actually see right
into the sparkling, clean, kitchen where they can prepare many of the dishes in their brick oven,
such as the Pizza selections or many of the seafood dishes. Or weather permitting, you may
choose to dine "al fresco" on one of their many outside dining areas, one with a beautiful
water view of swans swimming by, or the gorgeous front patio for either lunch or dinner. We
chose to dine inside near the kitchen area, as the particular night we dined there it was quite
chilly with some light rain falling. May I say, not only is the food superb with a huge menu
offering all kinds of Appetizers, Soups, Salads but an extensive dinner menu offering Italian
specalties, many Seafood entrees, Beef entrees, Chicken dishes - you name it - they have it.
But in addition to the fabulous food, our waiter, "Danny" was absoutely the BEST. He was so
attentive and helpful in aiding my choice of entree which was a Crab filled Ravioli in a
Seafood Sauce and it was indeed incredibly delicious. The wine list is also extensive if wine
is your choice, although they also offer cocktails of every description. At the close of dinner
we asked to meet with the Manager, Adrian so that we could compliment him on the decor, the
menu, the food and especially to compliment our wonderful waiter, "Danny."

Again, if you haven't yet dined here at Andiamo La in Santa Ana, don't miss out because once
you do, I guarantee, you WILL be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My God so good !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found this Italian restaurant in Santa Ana, you have to go, not more expansive, worth every penny, everything is good, excellent service, ambiance and great italian food! If you are in a rush don't go... cant wait to go back!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Carpaccio Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I have been going there for years (the one in Tres Rios), and now to the one in Santa Ana. They have the best Carpaccio ever!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best fine dining in CR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This place is without a doubt, the best fine dining restaurant in Costa Rica. Not only the service is amazing, the food is magnificent and the knowledge of the waiters on dishes-wine combination is extraordinary. Waiters know the menu and specials by heart, they can explain any of the dishes and recommend a matching glass of wine with a perfect match.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andiamo La also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Andiamo La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andiamo La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.