We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Return in a Heartbeat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Save Saved
You added Hotel Posada Canal Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Santa Ana
Tambor, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Would Return in a Heartbeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We moved to Costa Rica 8/28/12 and booked our first week at Posada Canal Grande. We ended up staying almost 3 weeks until we found more permanent housing. We loved our stay. It became our home. The staff was fantastic and couldn't have worked harder to make us more comfortable. You will not find a better place for the price. We stayed in 3 different rooms while we were there. This is an older hotel and the facilities are not perfect, but this is Costa Rica and if you want perfection, if you can find it, it will cost you - a lot. The problems we had were minimal: slow shower drain, low water pressure, drawers not closing well, but not all in the same room. Any problem we ever had the staff was right on it. The courtyard around the pool is lovely. Not all the rooms have windows to the pool so ask for that. Our favorite room was on the bottom with a window to the pool and a good-sized outdoor table right under the window. The upstairs room was nice, too, with a little better view, but since we were there so long we had a few things in our little fridge and were able to "picnic" at our outside table, or we called for food to be delivered. The upstair's tables are much smaller, but you can still do the same. The staff helped us order by phone and then made sure we had everything we needed for our table. (Don't do this a breakfast, however, as they serve breakfast at the downstairs tables.) I absolutely loved the staff. The ladies who serve breakfast didn't speak English, but they were very attentive and friendly. The manager Ellie is an angel. We ate at the restaurant at the bottom of the driveway several times. It's very good, the service is fantastic, but it's expensive. Go left out the driveway to the end of the street to Oveja Negra (Black Sheep). It's more casual, good food, serves a variety of bocas, and is reasonably priced. Ellie can tell you exactly how to get there. You can walk to Piedades (the little part of Santa Ana near the hotel - turn right out of the driveway and keep walking maybe 5 minutes) and you'll find 2 bakeries, a small supermarket, a soda, and a few other places like a dive bar. You can also catch the bus from there. The bus goes by near the driveway of the hotel, too, and you can easily go to downtown Santa Ana, to the Multiplex, Escazu or San Jose for only about 60 cents. A taxi to San Jose is around $20 - $25. It is farther off the beaten path, but make use of the buses - they are fantasic. Word to the wise, though: don't ask the bus driver any questions especially if you don't speak Spanish well. We found it best to politely ask someone who is waiting for the bus. Tico's are very friendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We are more than glad that you had a great stay and shared it to this immense community of travelers, we are willing for you to come back and encourage new travelers to come and experience a great stay like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    44
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
52
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great Peaceful, Beautiful place.. unique views, great costumer-friendly service... delicious food...I recently visited back in June, in a College group activity.. and I love it,, never been in a place like this before.. Very clean rooms, relaxing spaces ..

Breakfast was on table on time every morning.. dinner was delicious.. the pool was a nice place to chill out.. I love this Place.. would love to go Back .. ahh and Heiner was such a nice host.. They really make you fill like you are at Home...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are very glad that you had a great stay, we would not have described better what is like our service, we as hosts, we are very grateful to hear that people is satisfied and happy while their stay, our staff will be willing to make from your stay an unforgettable experience, hopefully this review encourage this enormous community of travelers to come and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Off the beaten path a little lies this fantastic value hotel just outside of San Jose. The rooms are unique and clean, the lobby large and welcoming, and the back courtyard a true sight to behold. What impressed me most about this venue, however, was how friendly and eager to please the staff were. In addition to attending to the couple of minor complaints we had about our room, the staff went above and beyond the call of duty on two occasions for me during my short stay: once to help me take care of some essential last minute laundry, and a second time to front the money to pay a for a courier that arrived with a vital package for me. This hotel would have been given at least a "very good" rating from me if were not for those two very generously dealt with situations, however given the terrific staff/management service I'm proud to give this a 5/5 excellent rating and would not hesitate to recommend that anyone considering staying a few nights in and around San Jose give your business to this top notch establishment. Thanks again Hotel Posada Canal Grande!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are more than glad that you had pleasant stay, like always our staff is willing to make for you a comfortable stay even if it´s out the way, we care for everyone like individual, hopefully this terrific review encourage this enormous community of travelers to experience with us like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel ranks very high in my book for service, cleanliness and quality of staff. The room and bath were more than adequate and beautifully furnished as was the entire hotel. Breakfast was available every morning by a very pleasant staff and everyone is always working to improve the grounds and be available for anything you may need. Lunch and dinner can be had at a great Italian restaurant at the bottom of a short hill. While a bit farther from the center of town, the hotel offers peace and quiet with a great sense of security. You can walk or take a taxi to the central areas when needed. A great value for the money and will definitely stay here again as I pass through San Jose. Not convenient to the airport, 20 minutes or so, but worth staying an extra day here for the views and atmosphere.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms that don't face the courtyard and pool which you will want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g00d2be, Manager at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We are very grateful that you were surprised with your stay and your good experience went beyond expected, our nice atmosphere plus welcoming staff is a good blend to enjoy and have an unforgettable experience. We hope this clear review encourage this enormous community of travelers to come and have a pleasant stay too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Took our friend to airport and stayed at this wonderful hotel, this was our second time and it was really nice. Elizabeth was very nice we met her the first time we stayed, she can really draw a good map for you when you go to the airport. She's very friendly and very helpful and she speaks english very well for those that need help from spanish. Nice place but very hard to find. Most taxi's know how to get there.

Room Tip: Top floor best views of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Situated in the hills outside of San Jose, this hotel has large clean rooms with teak floors and interesting details; a bidet in the bathroom. I found the hotel very welcoming and loved the main room filled with well-made furnishings and smooth jazz. The grounds were very pretty, and the views of San Jose at night were fantastic. I did find the walls rather thin, so noise was an issue, and breakfast was only mediocre.

Room Tip: Definitely take a room on the second floor, as breakfast is served right outside the ones on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is perched on a hill overlooking the city below and has a beautiful view. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful with driving directions and restaurant suggestions. There is a great local restaurant just down the street about 600 meters with a great menu and very fair prices that the owner suggested. The Hotel was in our GPS which helped immensley but was still tricky to find. There is no sign for the hotel at street level but there is a sign for an Italian Restaurant with almost the same name visible at the street. You must turn here and go thru a guarded gate up the hill to the hotel. Each time you leave and come back the guard calls the hotel to see if it's ok to let you back in. Check in was fast and as so many reviewers have said, the lobby is furnished with really cool furniture. Also, there are several outdoor type day beds between the 12 rooms on the porches with I thought was a nice touch.

There are a few issues with this hotel that may not bother you but they did us. The mattresses are the "old style" Costa Rican... very thin and very hard. We rented 2 rooms and both had a King size and a singe bed with these sub-par mattresses. The owner is obviously successful and it's a pity that these are not upgraded to decent mattresses. Also, there is no air conditioning or fans which is really not an issue as the rooms stay semi-cool with a breeze that flows from the street side windows thru the bathroom porch windows. However, we were at this hotel on a Saturday night and were kept up by the crazy loud sounds from the bar and live band on the corner well into the night. The next morning we were awakened at the crack of dawn by other guests having breakfast on the porch just outside of the room. So, between the beds and the loud noises we didn't get much sleep.

The owner is so nice I am reluctant to leave this honest review but I believe this is what this website is all about and readers need to know the truth. We had a very nice breakfast that included three slices of fruit, a decent portion of scrambled eggs, gallo pinto, toast, and jellies. I was a bit taken back when I checked out to find out this was an extra $8.00 per person or $32 in our case. Like I said, it was a good breakfast but in my opinion extremely overpriced. There are many other options near the hotel for much less.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Posada Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Address: Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Canal Grande 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great and very family hotel, come , enjoy the warm atmosphere at Posada Canal Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Posada Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Canal Grande Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.