We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Save Saved
You added Hotel Posada Canal Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Santa Ana
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Another great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Took our friend to airport and stayed at this wonderful hotel, this was our second time and it was really nice. Elizabeth was very nice we met her the first time we stayed, she can really draw a good map for you when you go to the airport. She's very friendly and very helpful and she speaks english very well for those that need help from spanish. Nice place but very hard to find. Most taxi's know how to get there.

Room Tip: Top floor best views of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    40
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
53
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Situated in the hills outside of San Jose, this hotel has large clean rooms with teak floors and interesting details; a bidet in the bathroom. I found the hotel very welcoming and loved the main room filled with well-made furnishings and smooth jazz. The grounds were very pretty, and the views of San Jose at night were fantastic. I did find the walls rather thin, so noise was an issue, and breakfast was only mediocre.

Room Tip: Definitely take a room on the second floor, as breakfast is served right outside the ones on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is perched on a hill overlooking the city below and has a beautiful view. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful with driving directions and restaurant suggestions. There is a great local restaurant just down the street about 600 meters with a great menu and very fair prices that the owner suggested. The Hotel was in our GPS which helped immensley but was still tricky to find. There is no sign for the hotel at street level but there is a sign for an Italian Restaurant with almost the same name visible at the street. You must turn here and go thru a guarded gate up the hill to the hotel. Each time you leave and come back the guard calls the hotel to see if it's ok to let you back in. Check in was fast and as so many reviewers have said, the lobby is furnished with really cool furniture. Also, there are several outdoor type day beds between the 12 rooms on the porches with I thought was a nice touch.

There are a few issues with this hotel that may not bother you but they did us. The mattresses are the "old style" Costa Rican... very thin and very hard. We rented 2 rooms and both had a King size and a singe bed with these sub-par mattresses. The owner is obviously successful and it's a pity that these are not upgraded to decent mattresses. Also, there is no air conditioning or fans which is really not an issue as the rooms stay semi-cool with a breeze that flows from the street side windows thru the bathroom porch windows. However, we were at this hotel on a Saturday night and were kept up by the crazy loud sounds from the bar and live band on the corner well into the night. The next morning we were awakened at the crack of dawn by other guests having breakfast on the porch just outside of the room. So, between the beds and the loud noises we didn't get much sleep.

The owner is so nice I am reluctant to leave this honest review but I believe this is what this website is all about and readers need to know the truth. We had a very nice breakfast that included three slices of fruit, a decent portion of scrambled eggs, gallo pinto, toast, and jellies. I was a bit taken back when I checked out to find out this was an extra $8.00 per person or $32 in our case. Like I said, it was a good breakfast but in my opinion extremely overpriced. There are many other options near the hotel for much less.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Really friendly and helpful staff.Clean and relaxing with wonderful bird song!Loved the typical breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great hotel near the airport, great rooms, the furniture and decorations were lovely.

Room Tip: The Full Breakfast is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We are more than glad that you had a great stay and let know to all this big community of travelers your good experience, we are looking forward for our customers to return and satisfy new travelers to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Planned a trip to Costa Rica for our wedding and honeymoon. After spending a night decided to hold the ceremony on their beautiful grounds. Hotel is on a quiet hillside (old coffee plantation) and georgously landscaped with great views in most directions. Rooms are spacious and clean. A wonderful place to relax when in the San Jose area, fairly close to SJO airport. The staff are wonderful, very accomodating to our last minute wedding plans and even delivered a bottle of sparkling wine for our toasts! I personnaly loved the woodwork in the hacienda style decor. Everyone in our partly loved their stay here. Its easy to find from the tollway (500 meters from the bus stop); no so easy if coming the back way through the hills of Santa Ana.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor and have wonderful views of the central valley and hills behind us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peoria, il
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Second time at this beautiful property. Local flavor poors out of this warm hotel. Lovely breakfast, accodating if not doting staff, ample parking, and spacious rooms-- all at a fair price. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Posada Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Address: Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Canal Grande 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great and very family hotel, come , enjoy the warm atmosphere at Posada Canal Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Posada Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Canal Grande Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.