We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada Canal Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Lovely Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Situated in the hills outside of San Jose, this hotel has large clean rooms with teak floors and interesting details; a bidet in the bathroom. I found the hotel very welcoming and loved the main room filled with well-made furnishings and smooth jazz. The grounds were very pretty, and the views of San Jose at night were fantastic. I did find the walls rather thin, so noise was an issue, and breakfast was only mediocre.

Room Tip: Definitely take a room on the second floor, as breakfast is served right outside the ones on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    62
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
80
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is perched on a hill overlooking the city below and has a beautiful view. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful with driving directions and restaurant suggestions. There is a great local restaurant just down the street about 600 meters with a great menu and very fair prices that the owner suggested. The Hotel was in our GPS which helped immensley but was still tricky to find. There is no sign for the hotel at street level but there is a sign for an Italian Restaurant with almost the same name visible at the street. You must turn here and go thru a guarded gate up the hill to the hotel. Each time you leave and come back the guard calls the hotel to see if it's ok to let you back in. Check in was fast and as so many reviewers have said, the lobby is furnished with really cool furniture. Also, there are several outdoor type day beds between the 12 rooms on the porches with I thought was a nice touch.

There are a few issues with this hotel that may not bother you but they did us. The mattresses are the "old style" Costa Rican... very thin and very hard. We rented 2 rooms and both had a King size and a singe bed with these sub-par mattresses. The owner is obviously successful and it's a pity that these are not upgraded to decent mattresses. Also, there is no air conditioning or fans which is really not an issue as the rooms stay semi-cool with a breeze that flows from the street side windows thru the bathroom porch windows. However, we were at this hotel on a Saturday night and were kept up by the crazy loud sounds from the bar and live band on the corner well into the night. The next morning we were awakened at the crack of dawn by other guests having breakfast on the porch just outside of the room. So, between the beds and the loud noises we didn't get much sleep.

The owner is so nice I am reluctant to leave this honest review but I believe this is what this website is all about and readers need to know the truth. We had a very nice breakfast that included three slices of fruit, a decent portion of scrambled eggs, gallo pinto, toast, and jellies. I was a bit taken back when I checked out to find out this was an extra $8.00 per person or $32 in our case. Like I said, it was a good breakfast but in my opinion extremely overpriced. There are many other options near the hotel for much less.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Really friendly and helpful staff.Clean and relaxing with wonderful bird song!Loved the typical breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great hotel near the airport, great rooms, the furniture and decorations were lovely.

Room Tip: The Full Breakfast is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director de Recepción at Hotel Posada Canal Grande, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
We are more than glad that you had a great stay and let know to all this big community of travelers your good experience, we are looking forward for our customers to return and satisfy new travelers to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Planned a trip to Costa Rica for our wedding and honeymoon. After spending a night decided to hold the ceremony on their beautiful grounds. Hotel is on a quiet hillside (old coffee plantation) and georgously landscaped with great views in most directions. Rooms are spacious and clean. A wonderful place to relax when in the San Jose area, fairly close to SJO airport. The staff are wonderful, very accomodating to our last minute wedding plans and even delivered a bottle of sparkling wine for our toasts! I personnaly loved the woodwork in the hacienda style decor. Everyone in our partly loved their stay here. Its easy to find from the tollway (500 meters from the bus stop); no so easy if coming the back way through the hills of Santa Ana.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor and have wonderful views of the central valley and hills behind us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peoria, il
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Second time at this beautiful property. Local flavor poors out of this warm hotel. Lovely breakfast, accodating if not doting staff, ample parking, and spacious rooms-- all at a fair price. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Although we stayed here the night before flying home, the hotel is nice enough for a more extended stay. The grounds are nicely landscaped, the pool inviting, and the view of San Jose at nighttime was beautiful. The posada has an Old Mexico feel with leather furniture, a fireplace, and old artifacts in the reception area. Our room was spacious and airy, which is NOT the norm for similarly priced accomdations here. The staff was more than friendly and the complementary breakfast was most satsifactory. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Avoid Alajuela: way too congested, especially if you're driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
2.2 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#5 of 9 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
2.3 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#2 of 9 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#4 of 9 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#6 of 9 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
6.3 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#16 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Address: Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Canal Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great and very family hotel, come , enjoy the warm atmosphere at Posada Canal Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Posada Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Canal Grande Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.