We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada Canal Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were greeted by the delightful, enthusiastic Elizabeth; and we and greatly enjoyed our 3 nights at this hotel. A lovely oasis in San Jose! Healthy and good meals, gardenias, orchids, three shades of bougainvilleas, a lovely swimming pool and graciously spacious rooms. Three of us shared a large room, and never felt ourselves in each others way. If we get to return to San Jose, this is definitely where we will stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    56
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
73
31
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

When we arrived at this lovely little hotel, after a hunt on the back streets of Santa Ana/Piedades (later to find very easy access from the highway), we were delighted that antiquity was still valued in Costa Rica. Here is a pleasant oasis within a fast modern city and features a large charming pool, climbing bougainvillea, orchids growing on tree trunks, old Asian four poster beds for lounging in the shade of the hotel eaves or under handsome trees, rattan stretchers with linen upholstery, wicker dining tables and chairs. The rooms themselves are plain with white stucco walls, firm beds, an armoire, a desk, chair and TV. Nothing fancy but perfectly adequate. Our bathroom was paneled in rich wood, had a pleasant sink area, tiled shower and even a bidet! The floors were antiqued terracotta Mexican tiles. The lobby was a real showroom of interesting and artistic furniture and captivating art and sculpture from earlier foreign travels. Altogether, one felt as though in a time warp, or in Spain or colonial Mexico.
We had the evening meal al fresco and, while tasty, we felt that the price was a bit steep considering the plain presentation and lack of variety. The following morning, we opted for breakfast at a nearby cafe. One does not have to eat at the hotel and other nearby restaurants were also recommended by the owners.
The price of the room per night is competive and worth every colon. Posada Canal Grande is that rare kind of family hotel that features old world charm, good taste and good manners. It isn't for everyone but if you are looking for an experience out of the mainstream, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel the first and last night of our trip to Costa Rica. The hotel has lovely antique pieces throughout the property. It is clean, beautifully situated over looking the city and quite comfortable. The meals are delicious and beautifully presented. What makes it a place to return to is the staff.... Especially Elizabeth! She is the type of person made for the hospitality industry. She is kind, thoughtful, anticipates your needs and does everything with a beautiful smile. She brings the place alive! We will return and recommend it for all visitors.

Room Tip: There are accommodations with a variety of bed types for all sizes of groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Canal grande has an excellent staff. They are very helpful and speak English very well. The rooms were roomy and clean. Very nice property. Although the hotel itself is nice the area is very secluded and there is not much to do around there. We were very dating and walked through the streets exploring. But if you are not like this a bus or taxi will take you to the town approx 20-25 min away.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Really friendly atmosphere all over the place. A safe place where one can relax totally and forget about thieves or other unpleasant characters. Helpful staff 24/7 a day, and interesting persons that work at the hotel. The food at the Italian restaurant is high class. What more can I say?

I shurely will stop by when I come back to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We had to make a trip to San Jose to take care of some business and we selected this hotel from a travel book It was also on the GPS so we knew how to find it.
Beautiful Hotel and Helpful Staff the entrance is decorated with With leather furniture and had many places to sit and relax. The restaurant was closed that night but the staff ordered food in for us they had a large selection of places to choose from. We had a few beers waiting for the supper to come and talked with other guest. Beautiful rooms with large bathroom.We enjoy a great breakfast and coffee around the pool area.
Elizabeth helped us with the directions to where we needed to go and drew us a map. Wonderful surprize when we found this hotel. Would reccomend to anyone traveling in and out of San Jose!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We went to San Jose to do some work on our Pensionada Status and we stayed here one night the receptionist was very nice and very knowledgeble of the area, gave us directions to ge passport pictures very accurate. The rooms were very nice and the Tico breakfast was very refreshing. I would reccomend this place very highly. Pura Vida

Room Tip: All rooms had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Canal Grande

Address: Piedades de Santa Ana | 500ms South From Santa Ana Bus Station, Santa Ana 6150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Canal Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great and very family hotel, come , enjoy the warm atmosphere at Posada Canal Grande. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Posada Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Canal Grande Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Canal Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.