We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Real San Jose

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Real San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Autopista Prospero FernandezCostado Este Forum, Santa Ana 60-6155, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Santa Ana
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

This was a great hotel! The breakfast was awesome. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and the staff was great. It's in a nicer part of town, relative to the rest of San Jose. There are three restaurants in the same parking lot as this hotel, a Pizza Hut, Las Cebollinas, and Rosti Pollo. They were serviceable, but the food didn't blow our minds. But, it's nice to have those options so close to the hotel. There are a couple of shopping centers within a 1 or 2 minute cab ride too. Free WiFi was an unexpected bonus!

This will be the ONLY place I stay in San Jose!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mr sunscapeJeff

Thank you very much for taking the time to place your comments.
Our staff will try as far as possible that the service to our visitors be offered in the most personalized way to make you feel comfortable and relaxed in our facilities.

Waiting to see you soon in San Jose.
Sincerely,
Juan Jose Santos Franco
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    94
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
33
57
7
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Our first and last nights in Costa Rica were at this new hotel (if it wasn't new, I couldn't tell). It has all the conveniences you'd expect to find in a Quality hotel in the US, including friendly staff and a wonderful hot breakfast. There are a few restaurants adjacent to the hotel, and the expressway to San Jose is very close as well. Just as I and my wife had checked out and were headed to the airport, I found our rental car's battery was dead, and some very helpful members of the hotel staff went out of their way to help me get it jump started so that we didn't miss our flight.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest Mr TerryS7,

We would like to thank the time taken to make a comment about our service.
These comments are very valuable to us in order to take action to improve it.

Best Regards

Juan Jose Santos Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

The hotel is good, rooms are standard and it is located near some nice restaurants and bars in Santa Ana. It has complimentary breakfast, wireless internet and a small but ok gym next to the pool.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mr rafa_nomad

In this opportunity I want to say Thank you for your comments about our service, our prices and our foods.

We will continue working to improve our service and prices.

Best Regards

Juan Jose Santos Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed 3 nights here and just loved it. You will not be disappointed. They have the most amazing breakfast (free) and the pool area is beautiful. The staff was so professional that I was somewhat embarrassed how we are in the US. If you need ANYTHING they are willing to help you out. They are all about good service! LOVED IT...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mrs Montanagrl


On behalf of the entire hotel staff would like to thank you for your comment about the attitude of service provided during your stay with us.
Believe me it was an honor for us to have the opportunity to serve you in our hotel.

Hoping see you soon in San Jose.
Best regards

Juan José Santos Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

I stayed here 2 nights with my boyfriend at the end of our Costa Rica trip. It was much nicer than we had expected - much more like a Courtyard Marriott than a Quality Inn in the U.S. The hotel seemed fairly new, and had a modern fitness center & pool. Breakfast was included in the price, and there was a free shuttle to the airport. We didn't go into downtown San Jose during our stay - we went white water rafting one day, and then flew out the next. Overall, this hotel provides excellent value, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Urban_Traveler_100

It’s a pleasure to greeting you and say thank you for take part of your value time to write your comments about our General Service in our Hotel.
So we hope that the next time you visit Costa Rica you choose our hotel to stay with us.

Best Regards

Juan Jose Santos Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

I stayed here with my graduate class. There were about 40 of us on this trip and this is where we stayed for the first portion of our business/leisure trip. Ages ranging for my classmates were 23-55 and I am 27. The rooms were very nice, the staff was excellent and helpful. They gave us information on where to "hang out", shop and eat. I highly recommend the restaurant Bacchus. They have this wonderful Nutella Crepe that is to die for!!
Anyway so the hotel had a lovely pool and great gym (where i ran twice). There are nice restaruants and shops all around and you can walk to the mall area that is about a mile away. they have great continental breakfast and a bar that is open late.

Overall, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear dclement04


Thank you very much for taking the time to place your comments.
Our staff will strive as far as possible that the service to our visitors is the most personalized way to make you feel comfortable and relaxed in our facilities.

Waiting soon for San Jose.
Sincerely,
Juan Jose Santos Franco
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

We stayed here twice at the start of holiday and the end to be near to the airport.Took a while to get to get our bearings but found great shopping mall $8 taxi ride from near by taxis parked on main road.The receptionists recommended the mall well worth going as there is asupermarket there as well.However they did not have uptodate advice about local trips so don,t rely on them check with a local tour guide whats available.
The pool is new but the wind whips around the building making it a bit to chilly for swimming but it was nice to sit beside. The gym is very good cool designed building separate to the hotel next to the pool and has tv to watch while you work of the restaurants very good food.
Internet access is excellent and paper provided for printer which was helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan F, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Mr tarazac


First at all thanks for taking the time to send us your comments.
This allows us to improve our service daily.
Hoping to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards

Juan José Santos Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Real San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Real San Jose

Address: Autopista Prospero FernandezCostado Este Forum, Santa Ana 60-6155, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Real San Jose 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Real San Jose is conveniently located in the new business and entertainment center of Santa Ana, just a few steps from a variety of restaurants, bars, shopping centers and 6 miles away from the " Juan Santamaria" international airport .We are perfectly located just in front of FORUM 1 Santa Ana office park and minutes away from Forum 2 and Plaza Roble. Valle del Sol Golf Course, one of the finest golf courses in Costa Rica, is only three minutes away and 15 minutes from Dowtown. You can start your day with a free full, fresh, healthy and hot buffet breakfast. Our restaurant offers a varied selection for lunch and dinner, while our bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a stressful day. In-room dining is available with 24-hour room service.A well-equipped fitness center and an outdoor pool take care of fitness needs. Free parking is available for up to 200 vehicles.Our four function rooms at the hotel can accommodate business and social events for up to 70 guests in a reception setting, while a special outdoor area is the ideal venue for cocktails or special dinners. Business travelers will welcome the business center equipped with the latest technology.All spacious guest rooms at our warm hotel are thoughtfully appointed and feature an array of modern amenities, including free high-speed Internet (15mb), free local calls, coffee makers, flat sreen television with cable including 12 HD Channels, irons and ironing boards. We can offer you one of our 16 Mini Suites equiped with mini fridge, microwave, stereo, king size bed, and a small living room with a sofa bed. Whether visiting San Jose for leisure or business, the Quality Hotel Real San Jose is ideal for accommodating your lodging needs. Our multilingual staff looks forward to welcoming you to beautiful Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Hotel Real San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Real San Jose Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Real San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.