We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Real San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Real San Jose to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Autopista Prospero FernandezCostado Este Forum, Santa Ana 60-6155, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Tampa.Fl
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed the last evening of a 10 day trip. Very nice, clean, lobby & restaurant area with tasteful decorations. Room was very quiet, beds comfortable with clean bathroom. A Great AC that will remind you of the artic if set low. Enjoyed dinner in the restaurant/ lounge area with good nicely displayed items and great service. Breakfast was very good and nice and early with fresh hot coffee. There is a work out gym area in a building near the pool and a small pool seating area that was a great place to sit with a drink to enjoy the evening weather. Occasional loud road sounds when outside but did not hear them in the room. This hotel is located near the airport and would be great as a launch to do some local day trips and come back to an easily accessed comfortable lodging in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments about our service. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dinner and the atmosphere inside our facilities. Our breakfast buffet is open from 5 am every day and offers hot options, fruit and cereal station, three types of juices, coffee tea and milk, variety of breads and pastries and the best is that is included in all rates . The hotel is located less than 9 km from the international airport and its surroundings there are multiple choices of restaurants, bars and shopping centers.

Hoping to see you soon in our city.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    98
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
61
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here one night but I really liked this hotel. the rooms were comfortable and clean and they had the cutest pool, courtyard area that was pleasant even to just sit and read. And surprisingly, we had the best beef for dinner here at their buffet meal that we had in all of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We already informed our kitchen staff about your comment of the beef. In our pool area is also our gym that has 100% natural light. Additional all our rooms have buffet breakfast, internet and local calls included.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Ended a 10 day tour here. The rooms were basic, but clean. The mattresses were clearly in need of replacement, but we were so tired from traveling we hardly noticed. The food in the restaurant was some of the best we had on the tour. The staff was very helpful. We paid our exit tax right at the front desk which I recommend, as it saves you from standing in line at the airport. There is a Pizza Hut across the parking lot for those who were tired of typical Costa Rican cuisine.

Room Tip: Room choice does not really matter in this hotel. vb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your comments about the experience at our hotel. We are already taking appropriate measures to improve the hardness of the mattress. We are also very pleased with your comment about the food, our employees at the kitchen know about your comment. The hotel is located in an area where there are many restaurants and bars. Walking from the hotel apart from Pizza Hut there are two mores restaurants.

Hoping to see you soon at our facilities.

Cordially,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed with my wife and a large party from a tour, for one night. The whole process of staying from check in to departure was excellent. We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and the service and quality was very good. This hotel I can recommend.

Room Tip: Nothing of value to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, Gerente at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write your kind review of your stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you had a positive experience with us and that you recommend the hotel.
Note that all our rates include buffet breakfast, internet and local calls.

Hoping to see you soon in our city again.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hi,
i'd like to thank all hotel employees because they were always kindly. Spaecially the receptionists.
I remember Jenny Crr who always helped me for San Jose and Costa Rica tips, with great smile and happiness to serve us. Jenny always cares about us if we need something else. It's good to enter in hotel and you receive an excelent welcome.
Thanks Jenny, thanks Quality staff thanks Quality.

Marcelo Grau from RIo - Brasil
55-21-81143662

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Best regards from San Jose. First of all I would like to thank you for the time you took to make your wonderful comment about your experience at our facilities and especially about the treatment that you received from Jennifer.

We are proud to have Jennifer on our staff she is a responsible person and has shown during her time working with us that she has a genuine interest and care for the guests who visit us daily in our hotel.

She already knows about your comment and is very excited about it.

See you soon by our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I liked this hotel a lot! The breakfast buffet was outstanding, including custom made omelets. The rooms were comfortable, the pool very nicely landscaped, and our family of five was allowed to stay in one room with a cot for the fifth person. We ordered room service as our flight arrived late at night and the food tasted surprisingly great! The staff was friendly. We were only here for one night as a launch to our vacation in CR.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the comment about your experience at the hotel. We are very glad that your visit to CR has started on the right foot with us. All our rates include buffet breakfast, internet and local calls in single and double occupancy. we did get your comment about food to our chef.

We hope that all your stay in our country has been spectacular and that you have the possibility to come back.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is about a $20 cab ride from the airport. The area is safe by San Jose standards thanks to an abundance of security personnel. There is a great restaurant on site and a great chicken place across the street, and a Pizza Hut next door. Other than that, this hotel is located at an intersection of two highways an gettin anywhere by walking is very dangerous & not easy. The lobby & restaurant show well, while the hallways and rooms are dated. They have updated tubs and toilets in rooms though. The staff is excellent and friendly. Very happy with them and the cleanliness of the hotel. I spent two nights there in late March 2013.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandezb, General Manager at Quality Hotel Real San Jose, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel. In fact our hotel is located in one of the areas of the development of corporate offices, restaurants and shopping centers of the city. We are less than 9 km from the international airport and right next to a major highway in the city.

We change the 100% bedding and towels recently in all our rooms.

Sincerely,

Fernando Fernandez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Real San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Real San Jose

Address: Autopista Prospero FernandezCostado Este Forum, Santa Ana 60-6155, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Real San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Real San Jose is conveniently located in the new business and entertainment center of Santa Ana, just a few steps from a variety of restaurants, bars, shopping centers and 6 miles away from the " Juan Santamaria" international airport .We are perfectly located just in front of FORUM 1 Santa Ana office park and minutes away from Forum 2 and Plaza Roble. Valle del Sol Golf Course, one of the finest golf courses in Costa Rica, is only three minutes away and 15 minutes from Dowtown. You can start your day with a free full, fresh, healthy and hot buffet breakfast. Our restaurant offers a varied selection for lunch and dinner, while our bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a stressful day. In-room dining is available with 24-hour room service.A well-equipped fitness center and an outdoor pool take care of fitness needs. Free parking is available for up to 200 vehicles.Our four function rooms at the hotel can accommodate business and social events for up to 70 guests in a reception setting, while a special outdoor area is the ideal venue for cocktails or special dinners. Business travelers will welcome the business center equipped with the latest technology.All spacious guest rooms at our warm hotel are thoughtfully appointed and feature an array of modern amenities, including free high-speed Internet (15mb), free local calls, coffee makers, flat sreen television with cable including 12 HD Channels, irons and ironing boards. We can offer you one of our 16 Mini Suites equiped with mini fridge, microwave, stereo, king size bed, and a small living room with a sofa bed. Whether visiting San Jose for leisure or business, the Quality Hotel Real San Jose is ideal for accommodating your lodging needs. Our multilingual staff looks forward to welcoming you to beautiful Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Real San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Real San Jose Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Real San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.