We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern decor and accomodating staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft San Jose Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft San Jose Hotel to your Saves list
Aloft San Jose Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forum 2 Business Park, Lindora, Radial a Santa Ana, Santa Ana, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early And Save
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
North East, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Modern decor and accomodating staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked a night at the Aloft Hotel upon our arrival in Costa Rica. Due to an unfortunate car accident we ended up staying four nights rather than just one. Being an architect, I loved the modern decor. All of the staff that we met were very friendly and accommodating. The location was convenient enough with a grocery store, pharmacy and restaurants in the vicinity. Taxis are always waiting outside the door. They serve a great businessman's lunch in their sun room that includes a frosty drink, fresh salad bar, well presented and tasty entree and dessert. All of this at a very affordable price!

Room Tip: The rooms that face the mountains have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
greatlakedweller,

Thank you for such enthusiastic comments. We are so happy that the entire experience at the aloft provided you with such great memories. We hope to have you with us again in the near future and preferably under other circumstances.

Regards,
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    74
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
37
23
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hip, young and modern with a fun lounge bar and a live DJ. Friendly staff and cool interior design. The down side was unfortunately the cleanness. The pillows had stains and the sheets didn't seem to be washed. The ceiling was cracked and needed some painting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are glad that the Aloft Style pleased you. We are sorry not to have met your expectations regarding the cleanliness of our sheets and pillows, and rest assured that we have looked into this issue. Please accept our apologies and we hope to be able to be your choice in San Jose during your next visit and provide you with the Aloft Experience which you should have received in your past stay.

Regards,
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here one night after our flight into the country before we started our travels. It was just what we needed after 18 hours of flying. The room was lovely and big and the beds luxurious. Excellent tv and bathroom, great for relaxing. We were slightly concerned when we checked in to hear and see a big group of drinkers making lots of noise, but once in our room, noise wasn't an issue. I cant think of anything negative about this hotel. It is slightly "chainy" which there is nothing wrong with, unless you want a quirky boutique! Breakfast in the morning was lovely, and it was great to enjoy the morning sun on the patio whilst eating and drinking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your survey. We are glad to have pleased you during your stay over in San Jose. The hotel is new and very trendy however all rooms have excellent nois proof windows so that clients enjoying the w xyz lounge and Dj nights on the weekends do not disturb guests wishing to rest in their rooms. Our brand new Backyard Lounge & Restaurant provides an excellent ambiance for an outside breakfast in sunny costa rica. Hope to see you back soon when visiting.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great location to be near airport, close to restaurants and markets. Staff is great, bar in the lobby is awesome. The rooms are very big and comfortable, love to arrive to a chic hotel.

Everything about this hotel is great, I would stay in this or any Aloft hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. We are glad that the aloft experience generated by our staff and hotel pleased you. We hope to see you soon during your next trip to San Jose.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My first stay at this hotel and while it was very contemporary, I enjoyed it. Clean, comfortable, easy checkin, and walking distance to Forum 2. Breakfast was included and had some simple, yet tasty, American style items. If you want practical, this is the place. If u r looking for a more traditional hotel, then it may not be for you. Green Eco-choice program is a nice touch as well -- used it twice during my stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Makersmark64,

Thank you for you comments! We are glad our style at a steal aloft experience pleased you and made yur stay in San Jose a memorable and comfortable one. Our Make a Green Choice Program is part of many iniciatives we take as a LEED certified hotel towards sustainabilty consciousness.

Hope to see you soon in our hotel,

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here so we could be close to the airport for our flight back to the states. Check in went well, and we were happy with our room. It is standard, but comfortable and makes good use of the space.
We were happy to hear that there was a restaurant in the hotel that had recently opened. Now, we understand that new restaurants often have hiccups, but this was ridiculous. There was only one other party there when we arrived and we quickly put in our drink orders. My fiancé received his right away, mine however didn't arrive for another 20 minutes after we requested it more than once. The drinks were good once we got them. When my fiancé's drink arrived, we ordered our dinner. After we ordered another couple was seated near us. We were pleasantly surprised when the food we ordered came out after just a short wait. The food was delivered to the couple next to us. We were definitely miffed as they had just arrived, so clearly the food was meant for us even if they had ordered the same thing. It was almost 20 minutes later that they brought out not our food, but the items that had been ordered by the other couple. Unfortunately it was not what we ordered, and the other couple had already scarfed down our food. Perhaps there was a language barrier as the other couple didn't speak Spanish or English, but it was disappointing. We told them to cancel our order because we were tired and didn't want to wait any longer for our food. They did make it up to us by delivering food and complimentary drinks to our room (which was not generally offered). We understand they felt bad, but it was a disappointing end to a great trip.
We did appreciate the ability to get our exit pass from the country from the hotel the next morning, and everyone was extremely apologetic. For the hotel itself, I would rate it "very good," but the overall score came down because of the restaurant. Hopefully they have figured out their issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear kikidixie,

We are so sorry that appart from having enjoyed and liked our Aloft brand, your experience at our brand new Backyard Lounge & Restaurant wasn´t as expected. We have recently opened this outlet and feedback as yours will help us constantly improve our services. Its an upgrade from other alofts around the world adapting to latin needs. We do hope that your next visit to San Jose, you can give us the opportunity to impress you with our urban cuisine experience that we have implementes at the Aloft San Jose.

Regards
Paul Downey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 4x and every time, it is consistent, very customer service centric, tons of amenities, convenient, cost effective and fun (for a business hotel)! The complimentary breakfast has really improved. The hotel has a swanky feel and is more cosmopolitan than it's neighboring counterparts. The beds are great too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for being one of our frequent customers. Aloft is a very innovative brand and we have been adapting to satisfy local and latin american needs. The breakfast was one of them and the new Backyard Lounge & Restaurant area is the other one already open for all three meals. We are glad you enjoy our concept. See you in your next trip to San Jose,

Regards,

Paul Downey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Hotel

Address: Forum 2 Business Park, Lindora, Radial a Santa Ana, Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Jose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft San Jose is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired in Costa Rica’s trendiest neighborhood just 6 miles from the airport in Forum 2 Business Park, perfectly positioned for work and play near the city of Escazú and across from Momentum Plaza and just a few blocks from the exit to the route that takes you to the Costa Rica beaches and National Parks. Breeze into one of our Bright Aloft rooms, featuring our ultra-comfortable signature bed, an oversized showerhead, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa, and more. Our plug & play connectivity station charges all your electronics and links to the 42” LCD TV to maximize work and play.Meet & mingle with friends at our w xyz(SM) bar,or enjoy lunch or dinner at our Backyard Lounge & Restaurant, Play in our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plus, you can always stay connected with complimentary hotel-wide wired and wireless Internet access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft San Jose Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft San Jose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.