We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER PET FRIENDLY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft San Jose Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft San Jose Hotel to your Saves list
Aloft San Jose Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forum 2 Business Park, Lindora, Radial a Santa Ana, Santa Ana, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early And Save
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SUPER PET FRIENDLY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We live in Costa Rica, on the pacific coast, and we like to travel with our dog so were delighted when we found that this hotel accepts pets with NO EXTRA CHARGE!! And we were blown away when we arrived to find dog food bowls in the room, dog treats and a special doggie bed. The staff was so friendly and loving towards our dog... usually he doesn't like to travel but after 3 days I don't think he wanted to leave! On top of the incredible and friendly staff, the rooms are VERY nice, clean and QUIET - surprising since it is so close to a busy road but we did not hear a thing from outside. The lobby bar is also a busy place on weekends with a live DJ - our room was on the 2nd floor just above the bar but we also could not hear a thing from downstairs when we were in the room. The surrounding area is also fantastic with plenty of restaurants, banks, shops and supermarkets all within walking distance or a very short drive. If you are looking for a great, affordable (and pet friendly) hotel to spend a few days in San Jose or just overnight before or after your international flight, you won't find a better place... HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Ticanadian,

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are glad Aloft can take care of all guests during all types of visits, including our ARF (animals are fun) program. We hope to see you soon again here enjoying the Aloft experience.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    72
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
37
23
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed there for a three day business trip.

The hotel is pretty close to the airport but far away from the city. But - the city itself has not too much to offer, so its ok.

All necessary things like a grocery store, restaurants and some bars are in walking distance.

Check-in is effective. Lizet is a pearl in helping, supporting and making your stay more comfortable.

The breakfast is Aloft-typical taking place in the open lobby area. You prepare your own baguettes and plates and hang out anywhere in the lobby, at the bar, at a desk, close to the pool table or free-to-use computers.
Ah, of course WIFI is for free, all over the hotel.

You even can hire a taxi from and to the airport - charging it to your room.

The only thinkg - you should not be a smoker :-). Its almost impossible.

I definitely will come back. I love this Aloft places - and this one is a very typical representative ot this hip hotel concept.

And again - THANK YOU LIzet for all your support and help during my stay.

Room Tip: I think any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear OliRStutgart,

Thanks for your excellent review. We are glad that you enjoy the aloft experience. We are expanding our selected services into a Full Food and Beverage service hotel as of August 2013 with a restaurant serving all 3 meals and in room delivery. Hope to see you soon again when in San Jose.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, AR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is close to business areas making it convenient for business travelers.
- no water pressure ladies with long hair beware it won't come clean
- lackluster breakfast. Often out of things, not many choices
- carpet in rooms a bit dirty
-stingy with amenities in room. One packet of coffee - and they stopped putting cups out after the first day. I have retainers and needed the cups everyday.
- they claim If you go "green" you get free drink cards. Mine never came.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Justfine7890,

Thanks for your recent review and for giving us the chance to improve our services. We are sorry about the water pressure and have already looked into the issue. As a selected service hotel we have adapted our breakfast to a full american breakfast and in two weeks shall have our new Backyard Lounge & Restaurant open providing better Food and Bevearage services for all 3 meals including delivery service in the rooms. Please allow us to get in touch with you in order to verify the misscomunication in the Make a Green Choice Program. I would very much apreciate it and if you could contact me under: reservas.sanjose@alofthotels.com.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We decided to try this place out after seeing a great rate on Expedia. What a deal! A little over $100 and we had a very comfy King bed, high quality..soft sheets, high speed internet, lots of little perks like "Bliss" bath toiletries, good room service from the bar, (which has pool table adjacent in the lobby area) as they build their restaurant and all the little things you could need for a business trip or layover near the airport or away from the downtown area. It is a new hotel everything and vey clean. Decor is modern and has a "loft" theme of course. Breakfast buffet looked good but we ate elsewhere due to schedule. Staff is incredibly kind and helpful. Would stay here again if rate was close to what we paid. Love that it has a gym too! Safe parking and the building is secure; only those with a room "key" can access the elevators!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear enez,

We are glad the aloft attended your needs and reached your expectations. As the new sassy savvy experience in Central America we are happy that our concept and product provided you with a memorable experience. As of August 1st our urban cuisine Backyard Lounge & Restaurant will be operating and hence we hope to have you with us soon again.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is located in a business park setting but has restaurants and bars within easy walking distance so we found it very convenient and good value as a home base while travelling around Costa Rica. We had two stays during our trip and found the staff very courteous and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable, modern, clean, nice bathrooms, but the bed was a little too firm for my liking. There was a great soda nearby where we had breakfast a couple times but we did have a breakfast at Aloft. It is a self serve set up in the lobby which was convenient, with lots of choices including fresh fruit.

Overall, great hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Google Translation
Martin P,

Muchas gracias por tus excelentes comentarios y me alegra que el concepto de la marca aloft le gusto. Nuestro restaurante que atenderá los 3 tiempos con un concepto de cocina urbana, el “Backyard Lounge & Restaurant”, estará abierto a partir del primero de agosto, incluso atendiendo servicio de habitación. Esperamos ver lo pronto en San Jose.

Saludos,
Pauld Downey
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located away from the downtown area. It is a simple 15-20 minute drive from the international airport. We stayed here overnight on our way to and from Dominical. The hotel staff was very helpful with printed directions and they will even handle all your airport taxes when leaving making movement through the airport a breeze!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Will & Sonia,

Thanks ever so much for you positive feedback. Aloft has now expanded into Latin America and we are happy that our sassy, savvy concept satisfied your needs whilst in San Jose. Hope to see you soon again.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by my boss and I have to say it did not disappoint. Hotel was very modern. Room was nice and clean with a big screen TV and great shower. Breakfast was fantastic and free with my room (not sure if it is normally included or not).Hotel was in walking distance of everything. Bar was nice, and the bartenders and waiters were extremely friendly.Front desk people were extremely polite and helpful. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Eric A,

We are glad you enjoyed this new experience which Starwood brought over to Central America a year ago with our Aloft Brand. We have adapted the brand to local needs and it makes me happy that you enjoyed our full buffet breakfast and that our talents connected with you providing a pleasant stay. Hope to have you with us soon!

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Hotel

Address: Forum 2 Business Park, Lindora, Radial a Santa Ana, Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Jose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft San Jose is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired in Costa Rica’s trendiest neighborhood just 6 miles from the airport in Forum 2 Business Park, perfectly positioned for work and play near the city of Escazú and across from Momentum Plaza and just a few blocks from the exit to the route that takes you to the Costa Rica beaches and National Parks. Breeze into one of our Bright Aloft rooms, featuring our ultra-comfortable signature bed, an oversized showerhead, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa, and more. Our plug & play connectivity station charges all your electronics and links to the 42” LCD TV to maximize work and play.Meet & mingle with friends at our w xyz(SM) bar,or enjoy lunch or dinner at our Backyard Lounge & Restaurant, Play in our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plus, you can always stay connected with complimentary hotel-wide wired and wireless Internet access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft San Jose Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft San Jose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.