We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just "ok"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft San Jose Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aloft San Jose Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft San Jose Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forum 2 Business Park, Lindora, Radial a Santa Ana, Santa Ana, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early And Save
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Santa Ana
Bentonville, AR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just "ok"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is close to business areas making it convenient for business travelers.
- no water pressure ladies with long hair beware it won't come clean
- lackluster breakfast. Often out of things, not many choices
- carpet in rooms a bit dirty
-stingy with amenities in room. One packet of coffee - and they stopped putting cups out after the first day. I have retainers and needed the cups everyday.
- they claim If you go "green" you get free drink cards. Mine never came.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Justfine7890,

Thanks for your recent review and for giving us the chance to improve our services. We are sorry about the water pressure and have already looked into the issue. As a selected service hotel we have adapted our breakfast to a full american breakfast and in two weeks shall have our new Backyard Lounge & Restaurant open providing better Food and Bevearage services for all 3 meals including delivery service in the rooms. Please allow us to get in touch with you in order to verify the misscomunication in the Make a Green Choice Program. I would very much apreciate it and if you could contact me under: reservas.sanjose@alofthotels.com.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    65
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
35
20
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We decided to try this place out after seeing a great rate on Expedia. What a deal! A little over $100 and we had a very comfy King bed, high quality..soft sheets, high speed internet, lots of little perks like "Bliss" bath toiletries, good room service from the bar, (which has pool table adjacent in the lobby area) as they build their restaurant and all the little things you could need for a business trip or layover near the airport or away from the downtown area. It is a new hotel everything and vey clean. Decor is modern and has a "loft" theme of course. Breakfast buffet looked good but we ate elsewhere due to schedule. Staff is incredibly kind and helpful. Would stay here again if rate was close to what we paid. Love that it has a gym too! Safe parking and the building is secure; only those with a room "key" can access the elevators!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear enez,

We are glad the aloft attended your needs and reached your expectations. As the new sassy savvy experience in Central America we are happy that our concept and product provided you with a memorable experience. As of August 1st our urban cuisine Backyard Lounge & Restaurant will be operating and hence we hope to have you with us soon again.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is located in a business park setting but has restaurants and bars within easy walking distance so we found it very convenient and good value as a home base while travelling around Costa Rica. We had two stays during our trip and found the staff very courteous and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable, modern, clean, nice bathrooms, but the bed was a little too firm for my liking. There was a great soda nearby where we had breakfast a couple times but we did have a breakfast at Aloft. It is a self serve set up in the lobby which was convenient, with lots of choices including fresh fruit.

Overall, great hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Google Translation
Martin P,

Muchas gracias por tus excelentes comentarios y me alegra que el concepto de la marca aloft le gusto. Nuestro restaurante que atenderá los 3 tiempos con un concepto de cocina urbana, el “Backyard Lounge & Restaurant”, estará abierto a partir del primero de agosto, incluso atendiendo servicio de habitación. Esperamos ver lo pronto en San Jose.

Saludos,
Pauld Downey
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located away from the downtown area. It is a simple 15-20 minute drive from the international airport. We stayed here overnight on our way to and from Dominical. The hotel staff was very helpful with printed directions and they will even handle all your airport taxes when leaving making movement through the airport a breeze!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Will & Sonia,

Thanks ever so much for you positive feedback. Aloft has now expanded into Latin America and we are happy that our sassy, savvy concept satisfied your needs whilst in San Jose. Hope to see you soon again.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by my boss and I have to say it did not disappoint. Hotel was very modern. Room was nice and clean with a big screen TV and great shower. Breakfast was fantastic and free with my room (not sure if it is normally included or not).Hotel was in walking distance of everything. Bar was nice, and the bartenders and waiters were extremely friendly.Front desk people were extremely polite and helpful. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Eric A,

We are glad you enjoyed this new experience which Starwood brought over to Central America a year ago with our Aloft Brand. We have adapted the brand to local needs and it makes me happy that you enjoyed our full buffet breakfast and that our talents connected with you providing a pleasant stay. Hope to have you with us soon!

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

For business trips, staying for 3 days, it is in a good location, close to all the Forums. Convenient.
A big mistake the hotel still didn t remedy after 3 months of constant claim, is that I paid at the lobby for the tax departure for the airport. Hotel asked me the passport in order to prepare it and I had to pay 33 dollars. When I arrived to customs, they realized that the document that the hotel prepared was for another passenger , and I had to pay again, in order to exit the country. The company has been claiming the reimbursement since then, with zero responsiveness. unbelievable, eventhough all the documentation , properly signed was sent to them. The first day I arrived, the shower didn t have soap/shampoo, and I had to wait almost 30 minutes, calling different times, to have an employee fixing the dispensers that were out of order..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi JE J,

We are so upset to hear that we did not meet your expectations when we had the opportunirty to do so. Unfortunately we have not received and claims regarding departure taxes. We would very much like to have this situation solved as soon as possible so please could you care to forward all the information sent previoulsy to the email below under my name:

reservas.sanjose@alofthotels.com


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I spent one night on the front end and one night on the back end of my trip to the Osa Peninsula here at the Aloft. Don't believe the marketing materials, this hotel is not even remotely close to the airport, it is a 20 minute drive minimum through a very circuitous route. The hotel does not offer an airport shuttle and the taxis arranged by the hotel charge you 15% - 20% more than if you just arrange a metered orange cab yourself. However note that if you have an early morning flight you have little choice but to take the cabs right outside the hotel and pay the elevated fare.

The bar/restaurant in the hotel offers a very limited food menu and the food is average to poor. The lackluster drinks are expensive (the margarita--which my friend was told was excellent---was made with technicolor green Midori.) The bar tab for four of us, with three tiny appetizers and one drink each was over $120 USD. They do have DJs on weekend nights, so that earned them some points in terms of atmosphere but overall the bar was pretty dead.

If you do choose to venture outside of the hotel for food, many Americanized type of chains dot the road towards El Centro. Decent Asian, Italian, and other options lie a short cab ride away and that will cost you no more than a couple of thousand colones. So, that is preferable to dining at the hotel.

The Aloft rooms themselves are clean with fairly comfortable beds and large showers. Although I cannot pinpoint exactly why, the feng shui of the room seemed a bit odd to me all in all, and it's doubtful you will want to spend more than a couple nights there at most.

In sum, I know San Jose is not known for their hotels, but I would continue to look at other options than the Aloft.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi There!,

Thanks ever so much for your feedback and we apologize that Aloft San Jose, as part of Starwoods selected service brands did not reach your expectations. Appart from airport hotels we are one of the closest hotels, located in a trendy area of San Jose, different to the airport region. Unfortunately the metre cabs can be reached on the streets and we cannot influence in that, hence we offer a company which provides us with insurance policies and we can have control over at slightly higher prices.

As of August we shall have a full service restaurant in the hotel already under construction at this moment and hopefully will fulfill the culinary needs of our guests at the Aloft San Jose, as one of the changes done to the brand in Latin and Central America. There are over 20 restaurants walking distance from the hotel which we can suggest aswell.

We do hope we can host you on your future visits in San Jose and that you can experience our Backyard lounge & Restaurant soon to come.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Hotel

Address: Forum 2 Business Park, Lindora, Radial a Santa Ana, Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Jose Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft San Jose is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired in Costa Rica’s trendiest neighborhood just 6 miles from the airport in Forum 2 Business Park, perfectly positioned for work and play near the city of Escazú and across from Momentum Plaza and just a few blocks from the exit to the route that takes you to the Costa Rica beaches and National Parks. Breeze into one of our Bright Aloft rooms, featuring our ultra-comfortable signature bed, an oversized showerhead, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa, and more. Our plug & play connectivity station charges all your electronics and links to the 42” LCD TV to maximize work and play.Meet & mingle with friends at our w xyz(SM) bar,or enjoy lunch or dinner at our Backyard Lounge & Restaurant, Play in our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plus, you can always stay connected with complimentary hotel-wide wired and wireless Internet access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aloft San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft San Jose Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft San Jose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.