We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and access to the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft San Jose Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft San Jose Hotel to your Saves list
Aloft San Jose Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Forum 2 Business Park, Lindora, Santa Ana, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and access to the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent hotel, facilities are very modern and room extremely large and comfortable. No pool, but gym and bar were great. Bar at night was very good, bartenders friendly and a very nice pool table. My family and i had a great time in San Jose on a short stay while driving through Costa Rica, couldn't for a better place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 610George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi 610George,

Thanks alot for such great review. We are glad the aloft brand satisfied you and created such an unforgettable experience whilst in San Jose. Hope to have you with us again in the near future.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
salt lake city, ut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is one of the newest hotels in the area. Very ray access to both the main International Airport and the small regional airport for hopping on one of the smaller regional planes to get from place to place for Costa Rica exploring.

Shop around and you can find this hotel is an extremely good bargain and super nice, new and friendly hotel! We got this hotel for $40 less than older downtown San Jose Hotels. True it is not in the "historic" San Jose but it is a $7USD taxi ride and within 20 minutes from either airport vs 30-45 minutes plus traffic to downtown.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank otter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Otter44,

Thanks for your recomendation and happy to have made your experience such a pleasant one whilst in Costa Rica.


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We flew into San Jose from Minneapolis en-route to the Osa Peninsula and wanted to spend an overnight before our next leg of the trip. We chose this hotel for its reputation and proximity to both airports we used. Great, friendly service, fun atmosphere, super clean, nice bar and a snack/meal menu with lots of fresh food and seafood. Added bonus is the landscaped terrace and business atmosphere of the hotel. Very safe and clean area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OddNewts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
OddNewts,

Hi There and thanks for your time and comments. We are glad that our sassy savvy space in san jose reached your expectations and that you enjoyed the ambience and staff. We hope to see you soon with us and expect to find even better food as we shall be opening our restaurant facilities as of August 2013.


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here the night before my departure after 2 weeks in CR. The staff was friendly. The food and the bar were good. The room was comfortable. Everything I expect from Aloft. Only about 15 minutes from the SJO airport it was an inexpensive cab ride.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Clark G,

Thanks for your comments and we are glad the experience expected was achieved. We hope to surprise you in your next visit with our restaurant facilities as of August 2013

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Rooms:
Clean spacious rooms, comfortable bed and shower.

Food:
Satisfactory breakfast: eggs, gallo pinto, sandwiches, cereal and fruits. Tea, coffee and juice.

Location:
Close to Santa Ana and the airport far away from the city center of San Jose. Taxi ordered at front desk to airport is $25,-, which is too expensive.

Price:
Correct value for your money

Other:
The disco like setting in the evening feels a little awkward. Fortunately the disco sounds do not cause noise in the rooms. The “Trendy” thing is a little bit overdone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaRemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear MariaRemy,

Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad that aloft as one of starwoods selected service sassy savvy brands was able to attend your needs. our wxyz lounge invites you to live music from thursday to saturday night and as of July 2013 we will have a full restaurant as part of our services.

Regards,
Paul Downey
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Definitely a place for the hip, young business crowd, but I liked the pleasant public spaces and the oh so comfortable beds. Great showers. Minimalist room decor which I liked, glaring lights which I did not. Breakfast is at best adequate. $25 fixed price for taxi to airport is a rip off. The meter rate is $12-15.
Poorly staffed at the front desk. Always a long wait to get help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jAlfano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear jAlfano,

Thanks for taking your time to drop us your comments. We are glad our sassy savvy space now in cotsta rica met your expectations. The fixed rates for a taxi is set by the private taxi comapnies in costa rica, however there are other options from local companies which we cannot interfere and reserve, usually they are available at the airport exit. We are sorry for your long waits at the desk and we shall be working on hour shifts in order to provide less waiting time.


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A new experience for me - I'm not an Aloft regular. Most important thing to note is this is a business hotel and I wouldn't use it as a vacationing tourist, mainly because of its location and lack of facilities (although it does have a small gym). It was an unusual set up; there is no dining room and breakfast is served in the lobby, next to reception on plastic plates and plastic cutlery. Breakfast was just about adequate but nothing more. I agree with other reviews - staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were minimalist but everything worked, including a good hair dryer! Water and coffee replenished every day, although surprisingly the quality of coffee wasn't great. Wifi was free and worked well, there are printing facilities in the lobby and although not luxury, it was clean and did the job as a business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWils60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi CWils60,

Thanks for your comments. As a selected service Starwood brand, we are glad to have reached our goals as an aloft hotel. We have been working on adapting the brand locally and as of the third quarter we will have a full restaurant on property serving all meals and as of April our breakfast will no longer be served with plastic plates and cuttlery. Our friendly staff awaits you in your next visit to San Jose.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
2.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
7.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
3.2 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
#28 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
1.6 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#3 of 9 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
8.0 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#32 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Hotel

Address: | Forum 2 Business Park, Lindora, Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Jose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New and innovative, inspired by a Loft, strategically located in the fastest developing business area west of San Jose, a few minutes from the Juan Santamaría International Airport, next to the Forum Business Park 2 and very close to the attractive shopping and entertainment area of Santa Ana and Escazú. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aloft San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft San Jose Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing