We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay on way to coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft San Jose Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aloft San Jose Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Aloft San Jose Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forum 2 Business Park, Lindora, Radial a Santa Ana, Santa Ana, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Santa Ana
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay on way to coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We flew into San Jose from Minneapolis en-route to the Osa Peninsula and wanted to spend an overnight before our next leg of the trip. We chose this hotel for its reputation and proximity to both airports we used. Great, friendly service, fun atmosphere, super clean, nice bar and a snack/meal menu with lots of fresh food and seafood. Added bonus is the landscaped terrace and business atmosphere of the hotel. Very safe and clean area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
OddNewts,

Hi There and thanks for your time and comments. We are glad that our sassy savvy space in san jose reached your expectations and that you enjoyed the ambience and staff. We hope to see you soon with us and expect to find even better food as we shall be opening our restaurant facilities as of August 2013.


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    53
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
31
15
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here the night before my departure after 2 weeks in CR. The staff was friendly. The food and the bar were good. The room was comfortable. Everything I expect from Aloft. Only about 15 minutes from the SJO airport it was an inexpensive cab ride.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Clark G,

Thanks for your comments and we are glad the experience expected was achieved. We hope to surprise you in your next visit with our restaurant facilities as of August 2013

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Rooms:
Clean spacious rooms, comfortable bed and shower.

Food:
Satisfactory breakfast: eggs, gallo pinto, sandwiches, cereal and fruits. Tea, coffee and juice.

Location:
Close to Santa Ana and the airport far away from the city center of San Jose. Taxi ordered at front desk to airport is $25,-, which is too expensive.

Price:
Correct value for your money

Other:
The disco like setting in the evening feels a little awkward. Fortunately the disco sounds do not cause noise in the rooms. The “Trendy” thing is a little bit overdone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear MariaRemy,

Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad that aloft as one of starwoods selected service sassy savvy brands was able to attend your needs. our wxyz lounge invites you to live music from thursday to saturday night and as of July 2013 we will have a full restaurant as part of our services.

Regards,
Paul Downey
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Definitely a place for the hip, young business crowd, but I liked the pleasant public spaces and the oh so comfortable beds. Great showers. Minimalist room decor which I liked, glaring lights which I did not. Breakfast is at best adequate. $25 fixed price for taxi to airport is a rip off. The meter rate is $12-15.
Poorly staffed at the front desk. Always a long wait to get help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear jAlfano,

Thanks for taking your time to drop us your comments. We are glad our sassy savvy space now in cotsta rica met your expectations. The fixed rates for a taxi is set by the private taxi comapnies in costa rica, however there are other options from local companies which we cannot interfere and reserve, usually they are available at the airport exit. We are sorry for your long waits at the desk and we shall be working on hour shifts in order to provide less waiting time.


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A new experience for me - I'm not an Aloft regular. Most important thing to note is this is a business hotel and I wouldn't use it as a vacationing tourist, mainly because of its location and lack of facilities (although it does have a small gym). It was an unusual set up; there is no dining room and breakfast is served in the lobby, next to reception on plastic plates and plastic cutlery. Breakfast was just about adequate but nothing more. I agree with other reviews - staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were minimalist but everything worked, including a good hair dryer! Water and coffee replenished every day, although surprisingly the quality of coffee wasn't great. Wifi was free and worked well, there are printing facilities in the lobby and although not luxury, it was clean and did the job as a business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi CWils60,

Thanks for your comments. As a selected service Starwood brand, we are glad to have reached our goals as an aloft hotel. We have been working on adapting the brand locally and as of the third quarter we will have a full restaurant on property serving all meals and as of April our breakfast will no longer be served with plastic plates and cuttlery. Our friendly staff awaits you in your next visit to San Jose.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after an 18 hour+ travel in from Canada and arriving late in the evening. Staying close to the airport was important as I knew I'd be tired. Far enough away though that hotel had no noise from the airport. Hotel is pretty new and rooms are clean and comfortable. Service was very friendly and had free wifi in rooms if you're a member of the star woods club. It's not exactly close to downtown, but as long as that's not important for the first night in my case, then is very suitable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear John K,

Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hae met your expectations, our wifi is free all around the hotel as part of the aloft brand standards. Hope to see ou soon again.


Regards,
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

In Feb2013 I stayed for 1 night at the Aloft hotel in San Jose. I'm a SPG platinum member that usually have over 30 stays per year. The hotel is new and very trendy typical aloft hotel. It's located close to airport ($27 taxi ride) and in the middle of a business complex. Is not close to The center of SanJose. The staff is very helpful and open to help but not aware of the SPG loyalty system. I was not offered free breakfast as part of my platinum perks even do I asked a couple of times. No problem with it because there's a McDonald right in front of the hotel and you can eat for a few $$.
On my way back to San Jose I didn't stayed at the Aloft since I found a better rate closer to the airport at Hampton Inn (free breakfast and shuttle to airport).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Gemsinvestments,
I am glad you enjoyed the Aloft and that our staff was helpfull. I am sorry about the non recognition as our platinum preffered guest. We do offer full american breakfast and have reinforced this issue with our front desk talents to offer as an option in case the guest does not chose the SPG points as a reward for their stay with us. Hope to welcome you again as one of our most loyal guests in the near future.


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Hotel

Also Known As:
Aloft San Jose Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana
Address: Forum 2 Business Park, Lindora, Radial a Santa Ana, Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Jose Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft San Jose is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired in Costa Rica’s trendiest neighborhood just 6 miles from the airport in Forum 2 Business Park, perfectly positioned for work and play near the city of Escazú and across from Momentum Plaza and just a few blocks from the exit to the route that takes you to the Costa Rica beaches and National Parks. Breeze into one of our Bright Aloft rooms, featuring our ultra-comfortable signature bed, an oversized showerhead, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa, and more. Our plug & play connectivity station charges all your electronics and links to the 42” LCD TV to maximize work and play.Meet & mingle with friends at our w xyz(SM) bar,or enjoy lunch or dinner at our Backyard Lounge & Restaurant, Play in our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plus, you can always stay connected with complimentary hotel-wide wired and wireless Internet access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Media 8, Inc., Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aloft San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft San Jose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.