We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Help-- Liset Lopez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft San Jose Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aloft San Jose Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aloft San Jose Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forum 2 Business Park, Lindora, Radial a Santa Ana, Santa Ana, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early And Save
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Santa Ana
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Superior Help-- Liset Lopez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was an emergency medical trip help my daughter with her friend that became very ill and was hospitalized while on vacation. every question I had and any advice and help i needed Liset was a great help, she is an exceptional employee.

John Blaser

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your comments regarding our Front desk staff`s exelent service in a moment where you most needed it. At aloft we are ther to create such experiences to all our guests independant of the trips purpose. Hope to see you soon again in our property.

Regards,
Paul Downey
Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    64
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
35
20
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Location is perfect, is close to business centers, restaurants and entertainment clubs.
The bar is nice and service is really good, the staff is excellent.
Rooms are small but well equipped, beds and pillows are comfortable and you have a hub to plug all your devices.
If you go to San Jose this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
HI there,

Thanks for taking your time and giving us feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the Aloft San Jose experience.
Look forward tohaving you soon with us again.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at Aloft for 2 nights. For the price, this is a very good property located close to the airport. We didn't plan to visit San Jose, so the location served us well to visit Poas National Park and surrounding areas. There's a McDonald's right opposite the hotel and many restaurants at walking distance. The location felt safe and secure. The staff was courteous and helpful.
The rooms were furnished with modern design and accents.
This is a Cat 1 SPG hotel, so don't expect any perks.

The lobby is really nice, comfy couches, pool tables and DJ on weekends.

Suggestion for improvement - have a printout ready of what tourists should see and do in the area along with a map.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, ask for one facing the hills (not the McDonanld's view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hi,

Thanks ever so much for your comments regarding this new experience that is now in San Jose for 9 months. We are glad that as one of Starwood selected brands we were able to attend all your expectations. We are constantly working on improvements and your idea has definately been passed on to our Front desk team and has been implemented. Hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed several times during our recent visit to Costa Rica. Became a home away from home and I can thoroughly recommend both this hotel and neighborhood.

Our visit started in the worst way possible with the airline losing ALL our luggage... and we arrived at the Aloft with next to nothing. Staff was very sympathetic and helped us with the local cabs to get us (very disoriented travelers) to a local area with reasonable priced stores. In the end it was a wonderful introduction to the Tico culture :)

The hotel is located in a modern area with a very safe feeling. Could wander around at any time with bars, restaurants, and a major grocery store very close by. As others mention.. nice mix of local and international crowd :)

Room Tip: Face south or west for views of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for placing your opinion regarding your recent stays with us. As a selected service hotel, and first ALoft in Central America we are proud to have reached your expectations with the look and feel of our brand. Hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is located not as far from the airport (5 miles), and very close to the supermarket. Friendly bartenders, and cleaning staff. I was disappointed only one thing - behavior of the front desk staff. As Platinum SPG I chose free continental breakfast as my welcome gift. A girl at the front desk were rude, she told me that I have to pay for this breakfast, I tried to explain that this is SPG policy, but she really did not know about this. Finally I could take advantage of the buffet, but I felt really uncomfortable. She acted like somebody who had done me a favor. Strange. Front desk staff should know more about SPG.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your comments and how our w xyz lounge staff were friendly. I sincerely apologise for the lack of information with our new Front desk staff regarding our SPG benefits and policies. We have taken imediate action in better training all our new employees.
Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a good place to stay for 1 night when arriving at the airport in the evening. We stayed at the beginning of our trip and then 1 night at the end of our trip the night before the flight. It is a basic hotel of the Westin brand. It is clean and the people are friendly. They have a nice lobby with great bar food and DJs spinning tunes most nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for visiting us during your recent stay in San Jose and for commenting on our property. As part of Starwood Hotels & Resorts, we are a vision of the ´W´ Hotels providing selected services in a sassy and savvy ambiance. Our w xyz lounge provides speciality cocktails and live DJ fromTthursday to Saturday. We are glad you enjoyed our concept and hope to have you with us in the near future in on of the 1200 Stawrood properties worldwide.

Regards
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel while in San Jose on buesiness. I had a great experience. The hotel was clean, guestrooms are fairly large, clean and very comfortable. The vibe at the hotel is what really impressed me the most. It's like a little pice of urban chic. Very cool. The crowd, a mixture of locals and visitors staying at hotel was very sophisticated but casual. The aroma at the hotel immediately makes you feel relaxed. I ended up staying an extra two days to get to know the city a little better. The hotel staff was very friendly and helped me arrange zpi linning tour for the weekend. The free wi-fi is excellent, but I did experience some reception problems. Hopefully that has been resolved. All in all, I had a very good experience and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Director General at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello,
Thank your very much for your great rating and excelent comments regarding your recent stay with us in San Jose. We are glad that our sassy and savvy ambiance was to your content, this is exactly what our brand is all about, bringing people together in a chic, clean and affordable atmosphere. We hope to have you with us again during your next trip to Costa Rica.

Regards,
Paul Downey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Hotel

Address: Forum 2 Business Park, Lindora, Radial a Santa Ana, Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft San Jose Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft San Jose is a bold new hotel featuring loft-inspired in Costa Rica’s trendiest neighborhood just 6 miles from the airport in Forum 2 Business Park, perfectly positioned for work and play near the city of Escazú and across from Momentum Plaza and just a few blocks from the exit to the route that takes you to the Costa Rica beaches and National Parks. Breeze into one of our Bright Aloft rooms, featuring our ultra-comfortable signature bed, an oversized showerhead, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa, and more. Our plug & play connectivity station charges all your electronics and links to the 42” LCD TV to maximize work and play.Meet & mingle with friends at our w xyz(SM) bar,or enjoy lunch or dinner at our Backyard Lounge & Restaurant, Play in our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plus, you can always stay connected with complimentary hotel-wide wired and wireless Internet access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Media 8, Inc., Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aloft San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft San Jose Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft San Jose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.