We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, but I am not sure why this is so highly regarded. . .Be careful with the art. . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Studio Hotel

Save Saved
You added Studio Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Studio Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 mts South Forum 1 Business Center., Santa Ana, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Solid, but I am not sure why this is so highly regarded. . .Be careful with the art. . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

First, it is the studio hotel which means lts of art. Much of the art is a bit more than PG and a 6 year old sees a lot and had a lot of (hilarious) fun with some of the statues.
Second, they don't offer airport transit so that is an additional expense that many competitors offer.
The hotels in a good area where it seemed fine to walk around and there is as nice of a convenience store as you can find anywhere inthe world only 100 feet up the road.
The graveyard behind means that it is pretty quiet and the walls seemed to be adequately sound proofed unlike many hotels in big cities around the world.
The tree out front is stunning and a great place to hang out and marvel at it.
The restaurant was solid for breakfast and Ok for a late dinner but don't rush to it.
It seemed expensive for Coata Rica, but San Jose pricing is more first world.
Staff, as usual in Costa Rica, was good.
I'd use it again for a first or last night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks for giving us your comments, are very important to us.
Studio Hotel has many Costa Rican artwork expressing our culture, is for that reason tha We are a masterpiece in the art of Lodging.

We offer a shuttle from the hotel to the airport on a set schedule and completely free, we hope that you can use this free service in your next visit.

In Studio Hotel we want our guests to relax fully, which is why each room is isolated from noise.
Our Tree "Higueron" is an icon of nature, and it is a message that we are friendly to the environment.

We look forward to see you again in our hotel.

Greetings from Costa Rica
Gustavo Botero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    36
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
68
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very modern, clean and convenient hotel close to airport, grocery store, and a couple of excellent restaurants. Enjoyed our stay for the most part however, breakfast was disappointing in terms of selection and food was not very hot. Note: get there on time as on our first morning buffet breakfast was cleared away while we were still eating! We did not have lunch or dinner in hotel restaurant so can't rate. Hotel has some beautiful art and a very nice rooftop pool, also free Wi-Fi and computers for hotel guests' use. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you!

For us is very valuable the time that you used to write this comment.
Please note that in our extended breakfast hours are from 6 am until 10 am, so that all guests can enjoy our excellent quality food.

At the Hotel we have Costa Rican art, and our customer service is also considered a work of excellence is for that why we are a masterpiece in the art of hosting.

Our Wi-Fi service is high speed and our business center is open 24 hours for our guests.
Would be very important for us to have you back in our hotel.

Greetings from Costa Rica.
Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Studio Hotel is located about 15 minutes drive from Costa Rica´s main airport, and so is convenient if you have an evening arrival or morning departure. It is, however, a good bus ride from San Jose city, and the immediate area in which it is situated is undistinguished. The rooms are sizeable and comfortable (although I found the air conditioning noisy). The bar is a bit micky mouse (they run out of beer and run out of wine), and there are far better places to eat dinner locally, such as the excellent pizza/pasta place (La Sugo?) a few doors down the road. Breakfast is buffet style and of a very reasonable standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We welcome your comments, for us is very important.
Indeed Studio Hotel is located near the international airport in Costa Rica, this is for the convenience of our customers.

Our rooms are very spacious and larger than normal in a hotel, because we want our customers to feel good and at home, is for that we are a masterpiece in the art of hosting.
Our breakfast has great variety and freshness, we are pleased that you have enjoyed.

We invite you to return to our hotel, this is like your home.

Best regards,
Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

- conveniently located near airport (less than 10 km)
- clean, modern-looking hotel
- nice roof-top patio area and pool
- comfortable king-size bed
- excellent food at the restaurant (the rare tuna and beef we ordered were both delicious)
- friendly staff at the front desk and in the bar
- included breakfast was good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for your comments for us is very important to know the opinion of our clients, we are so happy what your time in the hotel were all excellente.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here the first night after flying in to San Jose. The drive might be a little tricky without GPS. The parking is gated. We loved the look and feel of the hotel - my wife loved all the art, and the view from the rooftop pool is nice (unfortunately we didn't have time to enjoy it). The bed was nice, but the only downer (if you're a light sleeper like me) is that sound carries through the hallways (no carpeting), so I was woken up by others down the hall opening/closing doors.

We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant - I had some sort of sea bass dish, and it was amazing. Best thing I had to eat the entire time we were in CR.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear friends,

We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback.

In Studio Hotel we ensure the safety of all our guests, which is why we have a parking lot with 24 hour security.

We are a masterpiece in the art of lodging, so we take care of every detail, as decoration and services.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Boutique.

Greetings from Costa Rica

Gustavo Botero Linares
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We started our trip to our favorite resort - Hotel Tambor Tropical - with a stop at the Studio Hotel since we could not make a connection to Playa Tambor the day we arrived at SJO. The hotel was vey accommating with making transfer arrangements and is convenient to the airport. We were delighted with the rooms, the staff and the location.

The facility is beautiful, the art work fascinating, and the roof top pool relaxing.

If business or pleasure takes you to the San Jose area consider this little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Best Regards from Studio Hotel, thanks for your comments for us is very important your opinion.
Daily we work in the innovation and service for offer the best site for lodging in our capital, our restaurant with the original concept is one of our projects and the result is a very good for our clients.

Thank you very much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

One of the Best Hotels we have ever stayed in. My wife picked this Hotel because the theme is all about the local artists in San Jose (Santa Anna) about 15 minutes from the Airport. The Hotel is brand new. It is clean & the buffet breakfast is excellent with fresh fruit every morning & great coffee. The owners take great pride to accommodate you in there natural setting. Also my wife & I felt very safe & comfortable @ this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Good morning,

For us it is best to provide excellent vacations in Costa Rica.
We appreciate your comments and we are glad to think that you´re happy customers and you could see all the typical art in the Hotel.

In Studio Hotel all the staff take care of every detail, is for that we are a masterpiece in the art of lodging.

Our breakfast is always variety and freshness, it is considered delicious!
We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Greetings from Costa Rica.

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Studio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Hotel

Address: 750 mts South Forum 1 Business Center., Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Studio Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not all hotels are the same, the Studio 5 Star Boutique Hotel is designed to be part of your trip in Costa Rica. The spacious luxurious rooms, common areas, terrace, restaurant, meeting rooms... everything has been designed for you.On our walls, the art is opened to enter the magical world designed by the best Costa Rican artists.Surrounded by mountains: green, blue, brown, sprayed by rain or dimly lit by the sun of Santa Ana, a city that always seems to be in spring.Equipped with the latest technology, our seven meeting rooms are cozy and ready to recieve from five to a hundred executives.In our luxury rooms, the natural light helps to create a relaxed atmosphere in which ideas and conversation flows.Our highly qualified and friendly staff is always ready to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Studio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.