We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Modern and Eco-friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Studio Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Studio Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 mts South Forum 1 Business Center., Santa Ana, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Santa Ana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, Modern and Eco-friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We only stayed her for one night before we flew out of San Jose, but what we did experience was a very well kept, modern hotel. The front desk team was very helpful and friendly. In fact when they heard we would be leaving before the buffet breakfast started, they had two sack lunches prepared for us at check out. That was a level of service we really didn't expect. The only reason we didn't give the hotel a 5, is we had a weird dinner at the restaurant, while the meal itself was good, the service was terrible and odd, then I didn't even end up getting the entree that I ordered. Besides that, we loved the hotel. The room was very sustainable, the power went off when you left room (it was activated by your key), and the bed was so comfortable. The art gallery in the hallways was unique as well. I would recommend this hotel for couples without kids or for business.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Good evening dear guests,

Studio Hotel lovingly care for our guests, is for that reason that we anticipate your needs to ensure your satisfaction.

We wanted that you prove our special and excellent breakfast, We are glad you enjoyed your box breakfast.

We hope on your next visit to enjoy our Restaurant Katowa, I'm sure we will provide better service.

Our rooms are spacious and seeking comfort for our clients a unique experience in the art with the service.

Warm regards,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    31
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
62
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scituate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

just returned from a two night stay at this wonderful hotel. the staff was so accommodating Kudos to Jairo and Mario for taking such good care of our family. the restaurant has very high quality delicious food and breakfast was fantastic.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Good morning,

Our staff sends warm greetings, we invite you to return to our hotel, because you are part of the family Studio Hotel.

We will always have a reserved table in our restaurant Katowa for you.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards from Costa Rica.

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed our two-night stay at the boutique Studio Hotel. The location in Santa Ana was a big plus for us -- it's outside the hustle and bustle of San Jose and Escazu, but still within easy reach. Our room was excellent and very well-appointed, including a coffee maker, cable TV with international channels like TV5 and DW, and free wifi in all areas of the hotel, including the rooms. As mentioned by other reviewers, the rooftop pool and art throughout the hotel are lovely. On our last night, after a long day in the city, we decided to have drink at the bar and eat in the hotel's restaurant, and are very glad we did. It was a quiet evening at first, so we had a delightful chat with our server/bartender Keneth and the chef (whose name, unfortunately, we did not catch) before ordering dinner. My wife enjoyed her tenderloin with chimichuri, while I had a stuffed chicken with Jamaican style sauce that was delightful. All the staff were helpful and friendly, and we definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for give us some of your valuable time to write this review.

Our comfortable rooms every guest seeking to rest in a pleasant way, like works of art throughout the hotel seeking immerse guests in a world of Costa Rican art in fusion of tranquility.

We're glad you enjoyed our restaurant Katowa, and the excellent food, our "shrimp Talamanca" are our specialty.

This is your home, we hope to see you soon.

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in November and it really is a class act. The works of art and sculpture that adorn the public areas really set the place apart from the ordinary. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the staff are really keen to please. I ordered a drink to join friends but couldn't drink it as I hadn't realised how sweet it was - the barman insisted on changing it for another drink at no charge.
I believe this is a fairly new hotel - it really deserves to do well - highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good afternoon,

Please note that in all our sculptures are Costa Rican Art, this because we support local artists.
We are delighted that you like our hotel. Our rooms are the largest in the area and our unique service and quality.

All our employees strive to provide the best ever as is our core value.

Greetings from Costa Rica,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very comfortable large rooms with excellent bed linen and towels. Very quiet. Cable TV so lots of choice. Free wifi. Very helpful staff. Lots of Costa Rican art throughout the hotel. Only stayed one night as part of a tour group but was very impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest passes expect a happy holiday,

We appreciate your valuable comments. Please note that in our Internet service is the fastest in the area as well as spacious rooms, are distinguished by the art.

We are happy that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and our service has meets your expectations.
We hope to have you back,

Best regards,
Gustavo Botero
Reservation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay, the decor is modern, hotel is very clean and quiet. We spent our first 2 nights in CR here and it set the mood for our time here. We were offered a cold fresh fruit drink as we checked in, the staff explained everything to us in English, he was clear and articulate. The breakfast is scrumptious, lot to choose from including made to order eggs and fresh fruit. The hotel PR [Eugenia] was very knowledgeable, warm and helpful. She helped us to arrange for a taxi to take us to downtown San Jose and the driver turned out to be a hit. We had a wonderful time and will most definitely return here on our next visit. We highly recommend it. It offer so much for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much!

We are glad you enjoyed Studio Hotel, and you enjoyed our services, because we are a masterpiece in the art of hospitality.

We look forward to see you again in Our hotel, because you are already part of this big Family.

Best Regards,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, Calif
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

With respect to the earth and the environment, this small hotel is making a difference in the San Jose suburbs. Entering the hotel is walking into a private museum with sculpture and paintings in every common area including the landings on each of the 3 floors. It is a new hotel so everything is clean and in excellent condition. Breakfast and wi-fi are included in the already reasonable price; so unlike most big chain US brands.

The staff are welcoming and do their utmost to assist. We had to reach our airline to make a departure change days before X-mas and Silvia spent a good 30 minutes calling for us. Our only complaint is that they advertise a solar heated pool but it was freezing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Manager at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear friend,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment.
We are proud that we are seen as a unique hotel and different from others, which is in favor of environmental conservation.

Our hotel has an attractive concept that immerses guests in a distinctly Costa Rican art, which is why we are a masterpiece in the art of lodging.

Our customer service policy is to provide the best every day which is why we pay attention to satisfy every need of our guests.

We hope to have the privilege to see you back in our hotel to give you the best ever.

Best regards,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Studio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Hotel

Also Known As:
Studio Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana
Address: 750 mts South Forum 1 Business Center., Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Studio Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not all hotels are the same, the Studio 5 Star Boutique Hotel is designed to be part of your trip in Costa Rica. The spacious luxurious rooms, common areas, terrace, restaurant, meeting rooms... everything has been designed for you.On our walls, the art is opened to enter the magical world designed by the best Costa Rican artists.Surrounded by mountains: green, blue, brown, sprayed by rain or dimly lit by the sun of Santa Ana, a city that always seems to be in spring.Equipped with the latest technology, our seven meeting rooms are cozy and ready to recieve from five to a hundred executives.In our luxury rooms, the natural light helps to create a relaxed atmosphere in which ideas and conversation flows.Our highly qualified and friendly staff is always ready to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Studio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Studio Hotel to your Saves list