We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Studio Hotel Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Studio Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Studio Hotel to your Saves list
Studio Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 mts South Forum 1 Business Center., Santa Ana, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Temecula, California, USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Studio Hotel Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We (two couples) stayed at the Studio Hotel last week on our trip to Costa Rica. We stayed one night before our trip started as we wanted to stay near the airport so that we could have time to travel to different areas of Costa Rica. We also stayed our last night before leaving to the airport. I choose this hotel because of the previous reviews I had read on TripAdvisor. I would like to add ours and state that this is an excellent place to stay in San Jose. The hotel is modern and new. The lobby area sports several art works from local artists that adds a very distinct touch to the décor and to the appeal of this hotel.
The design of the hotel boast clean architectural lines and exudes a sophistication that surprised me for the area and location (area surrounding hotel is not nearly as nice as the hotel). Most of the staff spoke a little English and could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The management is excellent and we were treated with personal attention and conversation.
The rooms are clean and well sized. The beds and linens are comfortable. The bathrooms are standard sized and the rooms we stayed in had a shower only (no tub). Adequate counter space and with everything being new, it was in good condition.
Our hotel stay included breakfast, which was excellent. The breakfast included an omelet station and had a wonderful variety of fresh fruits, meats, and potatoes, etc. The service was wonderful in their restaurant located in the lobby.
On our return visit we also tried the dinner. We were the only couples in the restaurant, so we received excellent service. The dinner was very good.
This hotel does not boast views, but the roof top pool is nicely done and though it is small the area is decorated nicely. Beware however, if you are planning a swim, the pool does not seem to be heated. But, it is a nice place to grab a drink and rest after a long flight.
I would like to highly recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay in San Jose. It is a lovely “boutique” style hotel and the management provides excellent and personalized customer service. The value is excellent, and given a choice between this and a brand name hotel in San Jose, I would strongly suggest you choose the Studio Hotel. I give this a high “4” rating because I do not believe in giving a “5” unless all is over-the-top perfection. My “4” is most reviewers 5.

Room Tip: We booked our trip through American Express a standard room. Once we arrived we decided to pay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Mananger at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
First of all we want to thank you for taking your time to provide us this comment.

Studio Hotel was thought as place for being host within modern, comfortable and unique elements for all those who want to come to Costa Rica, because in Studio Hotel we are a master piece in the art of Lodging”.

Our main value is the personalized service, for we can reach our best rating and our customers can feel like home.

In regarding to our facilities, the swimming pool with warm water, it works with a solar panel system, and save energy for our ecological effect.

We hope to see you soon once again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    38
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
69
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Before leaving the country we stayed at this wonderful hotel near San Jose airport. The art gallery quality of the hotel, the contemporary furnishings and terrific staff made me want to stay longer. Sadly we had only one night there. It would be my first choice in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Mananger at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Best regards from Costa Rica!

First of all we want to express our happiness for receiving your comment. Studio Hotel was thought as a master piece in the art of lodging. This is why our installations and our services are an art, because we care about every detail for the satisfaction of our guests.

Our main goal is the personalized service, and to receive really positive comments make us really proud.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you once again in our hotel whenever you’ll be back around the area of San Jose.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

What a lovely surprise! Staff was wonderful, rooms are very nice, artwork is amazing. We ended up staying an extra night because it was so nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Mananger at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Good evening,

Dear guest, we want to thank you for your time for sharing to us this comment.

To receive comments like the one from you really make us proud, because they show the gratitude for our effort to provide you a high quality and personalized service, because in Studio Hotel “we are a masterpiece in the art of Lodging”.

In regarding to the decoration of our hotel, we take care of every detail for being unique, because every piece, paint or sculpture, were exclusively designed for the hotel.

We hope to have you back with us in our hotel,

sincerely,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This hotel is so much more than what you see on the web site. It is new, clean, tastefully decorated with beautiful art. The rooms are well appointed. The service is outstanding, friendly and helpful. Nice small bar area. Great breakfast and dining area, white table cloths in a sunny bright room. The roof pool and bar area offers a great view of the mountains. There is a travel agent on staff, he arranged a very nice city day tour for us. Close to the airport and downtown.
This would be our first choice of places to stay in SanJose.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlag56, Director Comercial at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Sheran,

First of all we want to thank you for staying at Studio Hotel Costa Rica and for your comments we appreciate them.

In reference to our Buffet Breakfast and service our main goal is provide a personalized service to all our guests that's why we serve a breakfast as you could see and enjoy it.

Studio hotel is the first Art Thematic Boutique Hotel in the city, that's why its a great option no matter is you travel for business, leisure or medical tourism.


We hope to see you and serve you when you return to the area, and once again thank you!

Best Regards,

Carlos Chacón
Sales & Marketing Director
Studio Hotel Costa Rica
Indicar que la respuesta no es apropiada
Esta respuesta es la opinión subjetiva del representante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This was my second trip to Costa Rica and the Studio Hotel was recommended by a few colleagues. The hotel exceeded my expectations in every facet of my stay. The staff was exceptional, helpful, and accomodating of every request (I had a few). In particular Ronald, the hotel manager, made every effort to make my stay as enjoyable as possible.
Since the hotel is new the accommodations are beautiful, modern, clean, and comfortable. The hotel is in the best location in the San Jose area and is easily accessible to all parts of the city.
The pool area is lovely and provides stunning views of the surrounding mountains.
Without question I will be staying at the Studio Hotel during my next trip.
See you soon, Ronald and the entire staff!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Reservation Mananger at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Good morning,

we thank you for your time to writing us this comment about our hotel, this allows us to keep growing and keep providing a good service to our customers.

We are proud to know that you enjoyed our bedrooms, because we thought in every detail for make them wider and more different than the rest of the other hotels around.

Our main value is the personalized service, and to receive positive comments make us really proud, because in Studio Hotel “we are a master piece in the art of lodging”.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel for make you feel like home.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Botero
Reservation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the Studio Hotel the night before we had to return to the USA after a week vacation in Costa Rica. I must stay I was extremely pleased with the service and the room. The hotel is very clean and the staff is great. The breakfast is exceptional and was included in the price. The artwork in the hotel is very interesting. Do not hesitate to book a room at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlag56, Director Comercial at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Good day Mr. Paul,

First of all we want to thank you for staying at Studio Hotel Costa Rica and and for your comments we appreciate them.

As you could see and enjoy our brand new hotel is the first Art Thematic Boutique Hotel in the city, that's why its a great option for business, leisure or medical tourism. The name Studio Hotel is taken from the concept of “Art Studio” of great artists and musicians. We offer a welcoming, comfortable, and ideal environment to breathe life into great ideas and a place to share with others who have common interests.

Studio Hotel has a convenient location close to restaurants, bars, cinemas, hospitals and Business Centers and just 15 minutes from Juan Santa María International Airport and San Jose.

Our main goal is provide a personal service to all our guests and make them feel like at home, and when we receive comments like yours we can say that we are in the right way. Thank you againg from all our staff.

We hope to see you and serve you when you return to San Jose, Costa Rica!

Best Regards,

Carlos Chacón
Sales & Marketing Director
Studio Hotel Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel at the start and at the end of my month's journey around Costa Rica. Large and clean bedrooms - I reckon the best beds in the whole of Costa Rica! The friendly staff from the manager to the waiters couldn't do enough to make my stay as a single traveller, comfortable and safe. The rooftop pool was a blessing at the end of a hectic month's travelling. A wonderful place to stay. I didn't eat at the hotel in the evening as there were 3 good restaurants next door. You should try it out!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlag56, Director Comercial at Studio Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for staying at Studio Hotel Costa Rica and and for your comments we appreciate them, our main goal is provide a personal service to all our guests and make them feel like at home, and when we receive comments like yours we can say that we are in the right way.

As you could see and enjoy our brand new hotel is the first Art Thematic Boutique Hotel in the city, that's why its a great option for business, leisure or medical tourism. The name Studio Hotel is taken from the concept of “Art Studio” of great artists and musicians. We offer a welcoming, comfortable, and ideal environment to breathe life into great ideas and a place to share with others who have common interests.

Studio Hotel has a convenient location close to restaurants, bars, cinemas, hospitals and Business Centers and just 15 minutes from Juan Santa María International Airport and San Jose.

Thank you againg from all our staff and we hope to see you and serve you when you return to San Jose, Costa Rica!

Best Regards,

Carlos Chacón
Sales & Marketing Director
Studio Hotel Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Studio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Hotel

Address: 750 mts South Forum 1 Business Center., Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Studio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not all hotels are the same, the Studio 5 Star Boutique Hotel is designed to be part of your trip in Costa Rica. The spacious luxurious rooms, common areas, terrace, restaurant, meeting rooms... everything has been designed for you.On our walls, the art is opened to enter the magical world designed by the best Costa Rican artists.Surrounded by mountains: green, blue, brown, sprayed by rain or dimly lit by the sun of Santa Ana, a city that always seems to be in spring.Equipped with the latest technology, our seven meeting rooms are cozy and ready to recieve from five to a hundred executives.In our luxury rooms, the natural light helps to create a relaxed atmosphere in which ideas and conversation flows.Our highly qualified and friendly staff is always ready to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Studio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.