We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Neighborhood and Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Los Candiles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Los Candiles to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mas por menos, 350m. Este, 25m. Sur, 250m, Este., Santa Ana, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Neighborhood and Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Villa Los Candiles for a total of two weeks and was very happy with the accommodations. The staff was very helpful in arranging excursions throughout the area and were always willing to arrange local transportation as well. The breakfast provided each morning is wonderful and the outdoor eating area is very tranquil. The rooms were very comfortable and included a mini refrigerator and small eating area. The large, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the garden are a nice touch! Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a pleasant stay a short drive from San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking a few minutes of your time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoy your stay and that you have liked our rooms and the service provided by our team in different areas, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
23
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed only one night in this quiet place. The room was very nice, but we missed a fridge in the room. Comparing to other hotels in the area and what you get and location, I felt this hotel is a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Yes, ask for a room with a balcony out towards the small little pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, indeed the standard rooms do not have refrigerators, only junior suite rooms and family suite have all utensils and items needed to cook in the room
We hope to see you soon again in our hotel and have the opportunity to use one of our superior rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laren netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We liked the friendly people and the cosyness of this small hotel. Everything is well maintained and there is a small garden. The neighbourhood is quiet and the beds are good so you can sleep like a baby

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you had a good rest in our rooms and it has been his satisfaction in the service provided by our staff.

We look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just outside San Jose in fashionable Santa Ana, perfrctly comfortable rooms,spotlessly clean with wonderful staff and dog friendly! Our favorite place to stay when we come into town. All levels of restaurants within a short drive.

Room Tip: All Good. Nothing to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that we are your perfect choice when it comes to San José and we are pleased that can come with your dog too, hope to see you and your wife very soon again in our hotel.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had to make a trip into San Jose and discovered this hotel. Very lovely -modern, clean, friendly staff and pretty grounds. Very convenient to highway yet set back in a quit residential neighborhood. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you like our hotel and facilities and services offered, we look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Los Candiles. Everything was great - quietness of room, black out blinds, air conditioning, kitchenette, really friendly staff and eggs cooked to order for breakfast along with other traditional dishes. Thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoy your stay with us and that you enjoyed the room and facilities offered at the hotel.

Forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Santa Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A great hotel which ticked all our boxes for cleanliness, comfort, budget and intimacy. All staff and and fellow guests we met were very friendly and we felt very well looked after and safe. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff. The junior suite we stayed on was incredibly spacious and comfortable with every mod con allowing us to cook and feed ourselves and a fantasic sized bathroom. It was a little further to the airport than expected ($25/$28 in a taxi) but with the room prices as they are I'd certainly recommend this as a great place to stay if just passing through San Jose. Santa Ana itself seemed very nice from our brief wanderings but make sure you have the address/directions/phone number as being a newly developing area tour companies and taxis can have trouble locating the hotel itself!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

First thank you for taking the time to express your opinion about your stay in our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your room and the service provided by our staff.

Thanks again for choosing us during your visit to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Los Candiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Los Candiles

Address: Mas por menos, 350m. Este, 25m. Sur, 250m, Este., Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Los Candiles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Los Candiles is known for its beautiful Victorian style. This style of construction was brought by the first coffee exporters that were influenced by the wave of Victorian style of that time. The warmth and elegance of the building is complemented by the best, most comfortable and modern furnishings. The hotel has 10 rooms in 4 different styles: Standard Room, Junior Suite, Executive Suite and Family Suite, all equipped with air conditioning and private bathroom. In addition to being perfectly located in a quiet and safe area, the Hotel Villa Los Candiles is very close to the main business centers, hospitals and shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Los Candiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Los Candiles Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Los Candiles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.