We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Los Candiles

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Los Candiles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mas por menos, 350m. Este, 25m. Sur, 250m, Este., Santa Ana, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Santa Ana
Dublin
1 review
“Lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Los Candiles. Everything was great - quietness of room, black out blinds, air conditioning, kitchenette, really friendly staff and eggs cooked to order for breakfast along with other traditional dishes. Thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoy your stay with us and that you enjoyed the room and facilities offered at the hotel.

Forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Santa Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A great hotel which ticked all our boxes for cleanliness, comfort, budget and intimacy. All staff and and fellow guests we met were very friendly and we felt very well looked after and safe. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff. The junior suite we stayed on was incredibly spacious and comfortable with every mod con allowing us to cook and feed ourselves and a fantasic sized bathroom. It was a little further to the airport than expected ($25/$28 in a taxi) but with the room prices as they are I'd certainly recommend this as a great place to stay if just passing through San Jose. Santa Ana itself seemed very nice from our brief wanderings but make sure you have the address/directions/phone number as being a newly developing area tour companies and taxis can have trouble locating the hotel itself!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

First thank you for taking the time to express your opinion about your stay in our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your room and the service provided by our staff.

Thanks again for choosing us during your visit to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peotone
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

First time back in Costa Rica in forty years. Loved the hotel's quiet room, nice breakfast area and quality staff. Bi-lingual staff made communication easier. Good security and friendly people make this a great place off the fast and furious streets of traffic. Close to good food stores and Rt. 27 make it easy to come and go throughout the country.

Room Tip: If driving ensure locked parking area with night supervision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you chose us after forty years of his last visit to Costa Rica and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and services, we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Los Candiles offers comfortable, spacious, well-appointed rooms with all the amenities (free WiFi) also needed for the business guest at an excellent rate. The tropical setting is very peaceful and quiet with only the birds to wake you with their singing. The people are very kind, knowledgable and helpful from the front desk staff to the delightful ladies who cook made-to-order breakfasts on the outdoor garden patio. It is now the only place I stay when coming to work in Santa Ana. I would like one day to have them plan some outing for me to the beautiful countryside!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest
We are pleased that you enjoy our rooms, the environment surrounding the hotel and of service is offered by our staff.
We would love to arrange a visit to some beautiful place in our country. Our front desk staff can give you all the necessary information.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I spent two nights here while on business. The bed was very comfortable. The rooms are very spacious and the shower is not only big, but also has a bench & window on each side. My husband accompanied me and the front desk staff was very helpful in organizing a tour for him while I worked. Breakfast was in a small, garden area. Eggs made to order, freshly baked cake/bread and fresh fruit along with really good coffee were some of the choices. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest

We're glad you enjoyed the two nights stay at our hotel and enjoy the facilities of our rooms. We are pleased that our service and also enjoyed the breakfast offered beside the garden and pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I travel to Costa Rica a few times a year and always try to stay at Los Candiles. Everything about it is inviting - from the friendly service, great breakfast, and comfort. They have some wonderful suites with refrigerator and microwave. Very comfortable beds, too.

My only problem with writing this review is that it may become so popular that I won't be able to get a room the next time I go to Santa Ana! Great for them, but bad for me.

p.s. I do not generally write reviews, but have made an exception for Los Candiles. Truly a great value and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest

First I want to thank you for taking a moment of your time to write about our hotel, thank you for your words and we are pleased that you enjoy our service and facilities.

We hope to see you soon again in our hotel.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to the international airport, very safe, secure and in a nice area. It is also quiet and has a helpful staff. Very Costa Rican? No. But if you're in a transitional state and want to be near the airport, in or out of the country, it's perfect. The staff at the front desk is fluent in English and very helpful in finding a local bank and/or a nearby restaurant. A nice kitchenette and wonderful breakfast. A quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing us during your trip and we are pleased that our location near the airport was convenient for you and you liked our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Los Candiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Los Candiles

Address: Mas por menos, 350m. Este, 25m. Sur, 250m, Este., Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Los Candiles 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villas Los Candiles is known for its beautiful Victorian style. This style of construction was brought by the first coffee exporters that were influenced by the wave of Victorian style of that time. The warmth and elegance of the building is complemented by the best, most comfortable and modern furnishing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Los Candiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Los Candiles Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Los Candiles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.