We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property - Santa Ana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Los Candiles

Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Los Candiles to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mas por menos, 350m. Este, 25m. Sur, 250m, Este., Santa Ana, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Property - Santa Ana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here two nights to bookend our trip, couldn't have been happier with the place. If you need a spot to bed down for/from a flight, look no further. The breakfast was adequate and the ambiance is surprisingly charming given Santa Ana's no-frills exterior. Rooms very well appointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest, we are pleased that your stay at our hotel was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed our atmosphere in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

This small hotel has a charming garden courtyard where the included, cooked-to-order breakfast is served. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed, with eco-friendly amenities. All staff members were very accomodating, even with arranging touring for me after my business was finished. Would not be easy to find on your own, since it is several blocks off the main routes, but was well-located for my needs, and local drivers had no problem.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments, we are pleased that your complete satisfaction was the stay in our hotel, we liked the breakfast served and prepared at the time.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed here with my daughter while dealing with personal business that required a lot of time online, meeting space, etc. Like everything in Costa Rica that isn't on a main road, the hotel is hard to find (highly recommend renting a GPS if you'll be doing much driving in CR).

We rented the one bedroom suite with two double beds. The suite was spotless and the staff were just outstanding. The hotel and grounds actually looked much better than they appear in the photos -- that's unusual!

Highly recommended. These guys really do a great job.

One tip: the wireless is good, by Costa Rica standards. But most rooms also have Ethernet jacks. So carry an ethernet cable and you'll have MUCH better access. My VPN connection worked much better with Ethernet.

The meeting room space is great too. They let me use it for a bit more comfort while working.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest we are pleased that our facilities and pleased him to know that their children also enjoyed the stay, hope to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

This place in great, we received an upgrade to a Junior suite that was awsome, so clean and nicely arrange. The personel was really nice and always looking for the best. The breackfast serve also delicious.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest we are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed the room upgrade, hope to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Outstanding staff, rooms have all the expected amenities and are clean and new; we had some problems with the internet on the first day but the front desk staff bent overbackwards to make things work ASAP. The second day was my partner's birthday and the staff brought a cake and wished happy birthday; what a treat!!.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering to stay in the Santa Ana area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest we are pleased that your stay was pleasant at our hotel, we look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Los Candiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Los Candiles

Address: Mas por menos, 350m. Este, 25m. Sur, 250m, Este., Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Los Candiles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Los Candiles is known for its beautiful Victorian style. This style of construction was brought by the first coffee exporters that were influenced by the wave of Victorian style of that time. The warmth and elegance of the building is complemented by the best, most comfortable and modern furnishings. The hotel has 10 rooms in 4 different styles: Standard Room, Junior Suite, Executive Suite and Family Suite, all equipped with air conditioning and private bathroom. In addition to being perfectly located in a quiet and safe area, the Hotel Villa Los Candiles is very close to the main business centers, hospitals and shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Los Candiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Los Candiles Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Los Candiles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.