We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous traditional Homemade food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Spago

Lo Spago
100m norte de la Cruz Roja, Santa Ana, Costa Rica
00506 25822121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 70 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
LA, Calif
Level Contributor
291 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Fabulous traditional Homemade food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

In this sleepy town a fabulous restaurant of the highest quality exists. The gnocchi is handmade by the owner and are light and flavorful. This is my favorite pasta and I am very critical. The desserts are to die for: the flan was the best ever as was the chocolate mousse. Other guests had different pastas, lasagna and salmon and were equally impressed. We loved it so much we returned a second night. As tourists we believe the local residents are lucky they can return as often as they wish.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tarzanldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good pizza, disappointing service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I went to Lo Spago tonight looking for some tasty pizza. We don't go out to eat very often and when we do we hope have a nice time. Tonight, there were two waiters working, one seemed friendly enough, but unfortunately he wasn't our waiter... Our waiter just didn't like us very much, it seemed. It was either that we were foreigners, or that we didn't order anything besides pizza. He said VERY little to us and really just appeared to be inconvenienced by our being there. He bordered on being rude. He did not, however, act that way to the Costa Rican couple who sat at the table next to us who ordered drinks, appetizers and entrees. With them he was hospitable and helpful.

I was really disappointed by my experience at Lo Spago tonight. Even if the pizza was good, the service really turned me off.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tommydphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great casual dining - Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Staff is super friendly, food is great and the ambiance is family causal. We have been many times and will return many times again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Second time and the service still great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Since the last time I visit the Lo Spago restaurtant in Santa Ana, Costa Rica (some months ago) I had in my mind the question if the quality and service could be the same and to try the famous pizza an article in A newspaper.

To be honest it was delicious, the quality of the ingredients and the size is perfect. My kids try it and was agree with me.

It is a nice place that recommended to my friends and clients.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greivin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This restaurant has good, authentic pizza and very hospitable staff.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loves2travel342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Spago also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Lo Spago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing