We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, disappointing service...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Spago

Lo Spago
100m norte de la Cruz Roja, Santa Ana, Costa Rica
00506 25822121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 47 restaurants in Santa Ana
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good pizza, disappointing service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I went to Lo Spago tonight looking for some tasty pizza. We don't go out to eat very often and when we do we hope have a nice time. Tonight, there were two waiters working, one seemed friendly enough, but unfortunately he wasn't our waiter... Our waiter just didn't like us very much, it seemed. It was either that we were foreigners, or that we didn't order anything besides pizza. He said VERY little to us and really just appeared to be inconvenienced by our being there. He bordered on being rude. He did not, however, act that way to the Costa Rican couple who sat at the table next to us who ordered drinks, appetizers and entrees. With them he was hospitable and helpful.

I was really disappointed by my experience at Lo Spago tonight. Even if the pizza was good, the service really turned me off.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    30
    12
    4
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great casual dining - Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Staff is super friendly, food is great and the ambiance is family causal. We have been many times and will return many times again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Second time and the service still great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Since the last time I visit the Lo Spago restaurtant in Santa Ana, Costa Rica (some months ago) I had in my mind the question if the quality and service could be the same and to try the famous pizza an article in A newspaper.

To be honest it was delicious, the quality of the ingredients and the size is perfect. My kids try it and was agree with me.

It is a nice place that recommended to my friends and clients.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This restaurant has good, authentic pizza and very hospitable staff.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

First of all, when dining here, always ask if you can have one of
the tables that "Erwin" is serving. Erwin is one of the nicest
guys you will ever meet - anywhere. Originally from Chile, he
is just like the folks I got to know when visiting that Country,
kind, gentle, classy, attentive and of course speaks fluent
Spanish and English so if you are a "gringo" dining at Lo Spago,
no problem if dining with Erwin. My personal favorite is the
Gnocci with Salmon and my husband's favorite is the Spaghetti
Bolenase but if you are not an Italian food fan, although the
resturant markets itself as an Italian restaurant, the varied menu
also offers a vast array of other types of dishes, including all
kinds of chicken, pork, beef, seafood - you name it - Lo Spago
has it. The restaurant is nicely appointed and spotlessly clean
so if you haven't tried it yet - do yourself a favor and give it a
try.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Spago also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Lo Spago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo Spago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.