We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for people who don't know the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
christmas package
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Perfect for people who don't know the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Staying here was almost like staying with family. The staff was very accommodating. The staff also showed concern and was watchful for the guests. Anywhere you needed to go they had a driver that would take you which you could hire for the day. If you wanted to know about a place in town the staff would call them and get information for you. This is a great place for people who don’t speak Spanish and have never been to Costa Rica.
The hotel is in mostly a residential area. There are a few restaurants nearby and a few small shops. They are within walking distance but, you better off getting the driver to take you. I would recommend hiring a driver for a day because the roads are narrow and curvy. In addition, the traffic moves slow. It takes a long time to go anywhere because of the roads and traffic.
The hotel is very small with only 14 rooms. The smallness allows the staff to give everybody individual attention. The rooms are comfortable and of decent size. The bathroom is built completely in tile and roomy. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone who is concern about being somewhere that they have never been.
The reviews about the hotel trying to scam guests are totally false. It actually angers me that people would say the things they said about these genuinely nice people. This hotel gives nobody any reason to complain about anything.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    194
    52
    10
    12
See reviews for
128
235
64
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Our group booked 3 rooms on our first day in Costa Rica on our way to the Osa Penninsula and 2 rooms on our last day in Costa Rica. None of us had any complaints about any of the rooms. There are two types - one kind has a kitchen, a queen bed, a single bed, and a shower only (but it's a great shower). The other kind has a king bed, a single bed, a shower, and a deep tub.

All the rooms were very clean with comfortable beds, a big flat screen TV, and air conditioners that worked great. One room even came with a computer. They also offer free wi-fi and free international calls to a lot of countries including the U.S.

The service was excellent. They helped us find great local food, a grocery store, and a McDonald's.

None of us ate there so I can't review the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Hello,

The problem with the bogus charge to my gf's credit card for a beer that was reported missing by a maid should have never taken place in the first place. I understand the hotel spoke with my gf concerning the manner, but the resolution of emailing her credit card number is a security risk to her personal identifiable information. The hotel should have a better system to account for the inventory within the rooms. We even told the front desk person that we didn't take anything from the fridge. It raises concerns that this hotel might be doing this sort of thing on purpose to extract extra unearned earnings from guest to boost revenue.

BTW the when you say we refuse to take your money, it's not your money--it's our money.
Next time just don't make mistakes like this and there will be no issues.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
dear customer we are so sorry , we offer a complete refund for your beer but you don't accept.
but sometimes when a hotel have a 100% of occupancy committed some mistake.
i hope your next trip in costa rica stay another time with us and enjoy your beer!!!
pura vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our month-long journey exploring Costa Rica. We wanted a hotel outside of San Jose, but still close to the airport. We took a cab from the airport the evening of our arrival. It was an easy 15-20 minute ride and the cost was about $25. Once at the hotel, we were greeted by Arturo, who proved to be a tremendous help for both of our stays. The lobby was beautiful and tastefully-decorated.

The room we stayed in was very large (unit 12 on the top floor). There was a nice-ish view of the backyard area and the surrounding hills. The bed was very comfortably plush. The bathroom was fancy and immaculate. The large flat-screen TV went un-used mostly, but it was nice to watch a few minutes of the local news. The refrigerator was large and well-stocked with snacks.

The restaurant was a bit of a disappointment. Though the dining room was nice, the food choices (Italian and Japanese) were not up to par with the rest of the country. We did not eat breakfast there. There is a very good organic grocery store a short walk down the street, and we acquired fresh empanadas there every day, which was better than the food at the hotel's dining room (much cheaper too!)

Arturo helped us secure a rental car and they delivered it to us at the hotel. We were treated to beautiful thunderstorms on both of our visits, which we happily watched from the comfort of our bed with the windows open and the air conditioner on (don't hate me for my indulgence). By the way, the air conditioner worked very well and was quiet. On our second stay, the refrigerator was a little too loud when it turned on and off, so we unplugged it.

The rooms and grounds were always immaculate, and we never had any insects in the room even when we had the windows open. On our last day, the hotel provided us with a paid in-house taxi service back to the airport, which was much better than calling for a cab. We highly recommend this hotel, and also recommend you order your reservations online instead of calling the hotel directly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

It is true that the rooms are very nice and large and safe. If you have a car to drive there is would be great, but I expected that "Close to the airport" meant there would be a shuttle...I spent $50.00 extra paying to get to the hotel and then to the airport. Choices for dinner were small, not very good and expensive. Again, a car to eat out would make it better. I also found a charge on my credit card when I returned. I had not taken anything from the refridgerator but had bought a small bottle of wine to take to my room the night before. Maybe the maid thought it came from the room, but that is not my concern. It is a lovely place, but they need better food and they should be more clear that it will cost $25.00 to get to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
Google Translation
estimado cliente , es un placer que le gusto nuestro hotel.
me da mucha pena que no le gusto' la variedad de comida , pero' estamos cambiando el menu' , ampliando los plattos. nuestra cercania a el aereopuerto es clara , pero' el viaje costa solo 20$, y nosotros tenemos nuestro taxi driver que puede recojerlo, si nos equivocamos en cobrarle una botella de vino pequena puede decirlo en su proxima estadia o por medio de correo y le devolvemos la plata en forma muy rapida , me disculpo para la molestia del cobro equivocado si fue asi' .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We arrived in San Jose late night and fully exhausted from hours of traveling only to be warmly welcomed at Hotel Luisiana. Our bags were carried to our third story room where we discovered the BEST, most comfortable bed on earth! As well the rooms were very clean and modern. The included breakfast was good, simple and what most breakfast in Costa Rica consists of, beans and eggs. We had a hard time leaving after breakfast because we felt so comfortable, but Arturo was extremely helpful with getting us to our next destination of La Fortuna by public transportation. He had his driver take us to the bus station and was very adamant about our safety in downtown San Jose. "Buy your ticket, hold onto your luggage and DO NOT wander around." He genuinely cared about our well-being.
When we arrived in La Fortuna, we found an internet cafe and immediately booked our last night in Costa Rica there. Due to heavy rain at the end of our trip, we decided to make the trek back to San Jose a day early just in case. I called Arturo to see if he could get us in, but he was booked for that evening. And instead of just saying goodbye, he booked us a room at another place down the road that was very nice as well. I was blown away by his customer service.
Our second stay at Hotel Luisiana was even better than the first. We were on the second floor so we had access to the balcony. We were exhausted from three weeks of roughing it so decided to go to the store, buy some beers and play cards on the balcony all day. We were even surprised by the chef with some complimentary sushi delivered to our room. Later we dined at the restaurant which was also great. In the morning Arturo was very concerned about getting us to the airport on time, calling our room twice to tell us to get a move on it. It was such a great relaxing place to both start and end an excellent vacation. When we go back to Costa Rica, Hotel Luisiana will definitely be on our list!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

PROS:
Large, fancy rooms
Clean
Well-built
Excellent bed
Excellent shower
Large TV
Superior staff

CONS:
Restaurant dinners poor and expensive

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: 100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.