We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
1 review
“Great one night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Overall an awesome stay, the best part was that with low price I got high quality. Clean and well designed rooms and a beautiful pool. The only thing was that the distance to any restaurants/shops/bus stop was quite long.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    209
    58
    12
    11
See reviews for
137
250
69
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Luisiana. Very accommodating and friendly staff, clean rooms, refreshing pool. Also great location. Close to the mall, and buses run frequently and are a short walk from the hotel. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked a suite with a full kitchen that also included breakfast. Within walking distance is a very good typical restaurant, El Rancho, that we would highly recommend for lunch. There's a small grocery store around the corner for basic things that comes in handy. The room was comfortable and amply suited our needs. The staff is accomodating and there's always free coffee in the lobby. For the price, I would definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: Having a kitchen was a plus for quick and late night snacks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute and were very pleased with our decision. The rooms were very clean and had many amenities (TV, Netflix, free calling to the U.S., mini fridge, and more) we didn't use the pool but it was very nice. The menu at the hotel restraunt looked great too (though we didn't have time to eat there)
I would recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our last trip to Costa Rica 2 years ago. We chose to stay at this hotel again since it was a good experience the last time. Since we arrive in Costa Rica at night and don't like driving the couple hours to reach the coast in the dark, we like to stay at this hotel the first night because it is close to the airport and in a safe area. The rooms are very inexpensive and are very clean. They are also fairly roomy. There is a small pool and nice seating areas outside. Also, the coffee is really good!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I come to San Jose once a month for business. I have stayed all over the city in different places over the years. This is the one place that I will continue to return! WOW! Awesome staff, great rooms, wonderful beds, and great location.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivansala, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
thanks Eric
i'm glade you like !
we work for make your experience the most great experience every time !
best regards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I staid one night at the hotel, its a good option for a stopp over in san jose. its very clean and confortable.

i did my reservation with expedia and by accident i reserved 2 rooms instead of one. As i arrived to the hotel, i informed the reception about my mistake and they told me to do everything possible to help me, so expedia could do a refund of the excess.

Today (a couple of days later, after several phone calls with expedia) it turns out that the hotel received the payment for the two rooms and is not willing to refund expedia nor me the moneay i paid for a room i did not use.

Im upset and disappointed, their words are not coherent with their actions. Just because of this negative attitude I would not recommend this hotel to anybody or use it another time. It seems that winning 50$ is more important for the hotel than the tranquility and contentment of their clients.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivansala, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Reni , we are not dishonest....
we work with a cancellation policy , this is all.....
we are a small hotel and we need to stay full occupancy for survive with our low low price !
if you book 2 room , we don't know if you use the 2 rooms because are a lot of people in the family , and when you try to cancel , was not possible , because you buy the rooms with 49H black out policy ! thats all ..........
we try to sell your extra room the same day , but was not possible !! so sorry
if was sold , the money was came back to you ! but doesn't
next time don't call dishonest to people that simple do his work , and read well when you buy something in internet .....
we are a small boutique hotel , so sorry our policy is important for us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.