We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy With Our Stay Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Happy With Our Stay Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

We spent two nights at this hotel and were very satisfied with the accommodations for the price. We felt safe and secure at all times. They have a guard on duty all night which added to our piece of mind. We had a room with a small kitchen. It was very clean and quite spacious as well. We never say any bugs in or around the room. The bed and linens were extremely comfortable allowing me to sleep better here than I do at home. The bathroom was also very nice. The view from the hotel is nothing special, but that isn't why you stay here. the included breakfast quite mediocre but it came with the room. We never ate here for any lunch of suppers so we can't speak to those meals.

The hotel wasn't too difficult to find as we arrived at night from the San Jose Airport. The signage in Costa Rica is terrible, so you really really have to watch for the Santa Ana turn off of the main highway!!! We made it but could have easily missed it. It takes about 20-30 minutes to get here. Ivan and his staff turned us on to a great tour guide named Nella who took us up to the Poas volcano and even helped us get a better rental car ***stay away from the Suziki Jimny!!!*** Also, because we were so happy with this hotel, we asked Ivan and his wife if they could recommend other Italian run hotels in the country for us to stay at on our trip as we weren't booked anywhere else. They not only steered us to a great part of the country we were going to skip (the Nicoya Peninsula) but they made the bookings for us too. We can't thank them enough for turning us on to Otro Lado in Santa Teresa.

All in all, if you plan to spend any time in or around San Jose, this is a great place to stay and if I went back to Costa Rica I would definitely find myself at Hotel Luisiana again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    209
    58
    12
    11
See reviews for
137
250
69
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

We stayed in december and enjoyed having a very clean and new bed and room. The hotel is kep very clean and has gated parking and plenty of comfort. We stayed in two different rooms. The first room was on a nice studio with good space, clean bed and large bathroom. Our second room had a nice kitchen with dishes, small stove and full sink. We ate in our room twice and loved having our own dining area and dishes to use. The bathroom was good soze and relaxing. I highly recommend steak eaters to ask Ivan to prepare his aged filet with a cognac(not sure about specifics...yumm) sauce. I am now planning our next trip back and will denifinately stay here again. This time booking my car rental through Ivan and Enterprise, instead of Europacar.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

my wife and i have stayed at hotel luisiana several times over the past few months. our last stay was extended due to the birth of our child. we were there for over a week. the owners and staff treated us as part of their family. they really bent over backwards to make our stay as comfortable as possible. the beds are the most relaxing beds in the entire country of costa rica. i am not joking. the restaurant has tasty italian fare and great breakfasts. the location is ideal as it is relaxed in a rural setting yet only minutes to the multiplaza, airport and cima. we enjoyed every aspect of our stay at hotel luisiana.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

My brother and I had a great surf trip in Costa Rica for two weeks. On our way home we booked a stay at Hotel Luisiana through Expedia because it had a great price and we wanted to be able to rest for a night before flying home to Jacksonville, FL the next day. We had a hellish bus trip from the beach to San Jose. We arrived at the Hotel late and drained from our trip and were warmly welcomed by the staff and owners. The Hotel was very clean and stylish, by far the nicest place I have ever stayed at in Costa Rica. Ivan is a top notch Chef of "REAL" Italian food and very hospitable host. Needless to say I was well rested for my flight the next day and will love to be able to stay at this one of a kind hotel again soon.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

We were in a bad mood when we arrived as the plane from Toronto was very late and we couldn't find the Luisiana for quite some time, so we were not the best of guests initially! However the owners put us at ease and the quality of the accomodation won us over. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept on anywhere and the quality of the furnishings, the art and the linens was first class The bathroom was very fashionable and the quality of construction faultless.

The Owner and his wife were very friendly. Our only criticisms were the instructions on how to get to the hotel which is not easy to find, despite some signage and confusing instructions on the website. The instructions make sense when you get there but I would suggest some improvement be made. As anyone who has driven in Costa Rica knows, there is a national obsession of not having accurate maps, street signs, numbers or directions, as well as no street addresses, all of which tax the non-Ticos patience! The other is that the hotel, being very new, lacked a few amenities which it probably should have. These issues should be resolved some time in the future when phase 2 is constructed. The breakfast was very good and satisfying.

The situation is very quiet, being located up a quiet residential street not far from Old Santa Ana Centro. It is recommended as a quiet very well appointed boutique hotel which is also very good value. I would suggest booking on their website as you can choose your room and get a better price than booking on expedia.

Despite our initial bad temper we had no hesitation in deciding to stay there for the last night of our holiday for a guaranteed good night's sleep and relaxation.

  • Liked — The Rooms
  • Disliked — Restricted Amenities, difficult to find
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. It was a pleasant experience very nice and clean stay. We were greeted by the owner's wife who is very friendly! The room we stayed in was clean the bathroom had a jacuzzi and a shower. The property is very peacful, there is a veranda right outside the bedroom we had our meals there. The owner Ivan rented us his personal car when we could not find a rental due to the busy Christmas season. Overall the experience was a very relaxing!

  • Liked — Jacuzzi
  • Disliked — No trash bin in the room.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2008

This is a brand new hotel, off the beaten track in Santa Ana. A short walk to the main street.
Ivan is a wonderful host and the crossiants are fabulous. The room was gorgeous , the bed comfortable and the bathroom was to die for..
The wireless is free. It is very safe and secure. I am staying there again in December on my next trip to Costa Rica,
Once the pool is in, this will be a wonderful hotel.

  • Liked — the bathroom
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.