We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Price, Comfiest Beds!!! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$59 (USD)
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Price, Comfiest Beds!!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I live in Costa Rica in Tamarindo. This is the hotel everyone from my area goes to when staying in the city for shopping or airport runs. It is incredibly cheap, close to the highway and easy to navigate to and from. The restaurant isn't anything special I would avoid and go out for meals instead. The staff was super friendly and helpful asked for directions and he came back with a printed map and highlighted directions. Also they do have personal drivers on the property that are very reasonable. Overall just great!

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    197
    54
    10
    12
See reviews for
132
238
65
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huacas, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We’ve stayed here twice now and find it to be a good choice when we visit the central valley or picking someone up from the airport. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and there is food on the premises if you with to take your meals there. The food is good, not fine dining but better than getting a burger at a fast food joint and definitely less expensive than the restaurants near the airport. The rooms also contain a stocked mini fridge if you wish to enjoy a beer or glass of wine before climbing in bed.

The only negative is the gate. It has to be opened from the main desk before you can leave the property. There is no call button so you have to get out of your car and go inside and ask them to open it so you can leave.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a large room with two queen beds. Beds were soft and the room was very clean. You can park your vehicle behind automatic secured gate. There is a nice swimming pool to relax. It was quiet and the front office was very organized in handling large crowds when we checked out early in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna, Alajuela, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Before I got into San Jose, Costa Rica I spent a month in LA. The hotels in LA are at least 100 dollars for anything that is worth staying at. Hotel Luisiana surpassed the LA hotels that cost $130 by a long shot. I was so happy and cozy. Everything was just freaking perfect.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I choose the Luisiana Plan that included breakfast and dinner and it was a great deal, the food was very good and the rooms have a lot of amenities like A/C, nice size TV with free Netflix subscription and small fridge, also the rooms were impeccably clean which is something that is a deal breaker for me when it isn’t clean but in this place they take cleaning very serious.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This is the best you can find in the whole area nearby the aerport.the service is 100% and I never have met such kind and friendly People as in this hotel.also they have their own taxi for you if you wanna us It. I only can say do It. The restaurant is small, but the Food is excellent.The Italian owner will Let you feel if your at your own place.Ivan thanks for all that superservice. I can only recommend this hotel as the best I ever had on vacation.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was clean and comfortable. Simple modern design. The pool was nice but too cold when we were there. The kids liked the little play structure. The railings on the upper floors are a little scary for little kids since they could easily fall through the gap between floor and beginning of railing.

Room Tip: bottom floor if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: 100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.