We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a room for the price you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
christmas package
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
europe
1 review
“a room for the price you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First of all I d like to start with the positive: mattresses are really comfy and rooms are really clean and spacious. This is about all and is not too little for the price i-ve paid 50$.
Now the comments for the owner:
I understand you want to offer dinner, but you should get proper waiters for the prices you charge, the guy did not know nothing about the menu, how the food was prepared, only soft drink available are cokes and only beer is imperial for which you can't keep the can on the table ???? i waited an avarage of 5 minutes for the gate at the entrance to be opened every time i got out with my car, internet was super slow and i ve been charged 2$ for a tube water glass at the restaurant????? yes some training for your employers could no be wasted. last thing: the note you left to let me know that if i was about to write a bad review i should talk to you first...really?? business is business mr XXXX, you should not expect your customers wanting to confront you about their staying but be ready and prepared any day and welcome all kind of reviews and customers. oh and a sign on the street would help. thanks!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    193
    51
    10
    12
See reviews for
127
235
63
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very clean and comfortable hotel in Santa Ana, San Jose, Costa Rica. The rooms all faced away from the road, so were very quiet. We travelled with our 4-month-old baby, so quiet and calm were very important to us! We took the sleeping baby to the dining room in a little bassinet and the staff kindly turned off the music and TV for us, to not disturb the baby's sleep.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this Hotel more then 20 times. No other hotel in the area can beat the service they provide for that price. Good location, great rooms, nice staff etc. We recommend all our clients, when traveling to San Jose, to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Best hotel for the price in the area for sure. Very comfortable rooms, good food, nice amenities. If you're looking for a hotel reasonably close to the airport at an affordable price, Hotel Luisiana is the one.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is wonderful, and this is the best option if you want a clean, nice and a hotel with a great service and definety you won't find an option like this one with the same price. The breakfast is good considering that it's included on the room rate. The pool area is a nice plus and the TVs in each room are one of the best things since you will have access to netflix, Youtube, internet and many movies.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our 7 night stay at the Hotel Luisiana in Santa Ana Costa Rica was very pleasant. We branched out on day trips from there and it turned out wonderfully.
Even the team that whisked through our room to clean was full of smiles and kindness. The breakfast was quite good and Edgar and Ronald at the front desk were especially helpful in all regards. The King size bed was "cloud-like" as I slept like a rock nightly. Wonderful cotton sheets/comforters rock your dreams while the A/C hums.
Try this place out,.... as the price to accommodation ratio is second to none. Worked for us!!!
Pura Vida!!!

Room Tip: We were upstairs overlooking the pool in #203 with a kitchenette, .......which I recommend wholehear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 3 days ago
thanks you so much for your feedback!
mattres are simmons bed with pillow top , for me one of the best in the world!
thanks for choose hotel luisiana in your vacations !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel Luisiana is a very nice and clean hotel at a great price. The staff was extremely friendly. Recommended if you are traveling and need a quiet night in San Jose. Very small things kept it from top rating - our sink leaked, the toilet paper holder fell off the wall randomly, wifi was free but not great strength. But overall, especially for the price, it is a very clean and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 3 days ago
thank you so much for your feedback!
internet was under maintenance in your stay for a couple of our ! so sorry!
try we do the best for a great place where stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: 100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.