We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy Repeat customers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Nosara, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very happy Repeat customers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I would like to first let everyone know that we have stayed here 8 times this year and EVERYTIME we have been pleased. I read the review before us and I was quite saddened by their review as we repeatedly stay here because of the great service, the comfortable beds, and the location is very easy to get to the malls, bank, hostpital and restaurants. ( we have a car everytime so that does help). The staff all know us by our first names and it really makes us feel 'at home' away from home. They are very accommodating if we need a special room, and even warned us about the possibility of construction next door ( which was never an issue).
The only reason I do not give it 5 stars is that my 3 children love typical Tico breakfast which is not offered. The price is always great and I have recommended this hotel to many of our friends and their visiting families and everyone agrees it is a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: I always ask for rooms on the ground or first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    208
    58
    12
    12
See reviews for
137
250
67
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I usually do not write reviews but now I see the importance of it. Not a very good experience, dirty bathroom, fairly old towels with smell, small hand soap to take a bath and they only provide one soap per person, nothing is near by, so if you HAVE to eat at the hotel extremely high prices for bad food, if you ask for a taxi, the hotel offers their own TAXI for high prices, they offer coffee in the lobby but always old, I received a letter from the owner, which I imagine everyone does, he is unable to reach, in his letter he states that you can ask for coffee maker at the desk to have fresh coffee, first I was told they do not have them anymore, went to front desk and ask why does owner offer coffee makers in room if they do not have them, the lady clerk said they have them and got one for me, it was nice but..... I would have to go and buy my own coffee filters and coffee, lol I had to laugh.... not very helpful or friendly staff, they have signs with their rules at the front desk, read them and comply with them to the tee otherwise you will be penalized monetarily even if you check out ONE minute later, overall... not a good place to be and have a vacation, very far from everything

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel unless you want to over spend your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
dear Mario
thanks for take a time to write a review
so sorry if don't found with Hotel Luisiana your perfect hotel
hotel Luisiana is a 40$ hotel with led flat google internet TV , free coffee in lobby and free international call, suite rooms , stone pool!
i'm so sorry if you don't like our black coffee, is free and is 24 h in the lobby
if you want to use a coffee maker in your room , i provide you a coffee maker but not coffe .
is rule , is the word , something is free , something is down payment.......
our flat sheet and duvet cover are 360 line and good quality ,i think one of the best quality in 4 stars hotel in costa rica !
soap is under your need , if you need more , ask for it..........we put one ..but no problem with soap , you can use 10 for day if you need.
finally is a pleasure to respond such review like this , because we found our client in the middle of the people , our really client , our perfect client.
i put a letter in every room , every day , because if the client need some special help from me , i'm under your order............but you don't ask me nothing .
so sorry for that ................
when you ask new sheet and new towel , we think clean mot really new....!!!!
is impossible to provide you a new ....new towel every check in with 40$ hotel , i think is possible only in a 7 stars hotel under 2000$ a day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here after we landed in San Jose. It was a good clean place with friendly staff. Randall was really helpful. He negotiated our rental car, gave us very detailed directions on how to get out of the city (this is important in San Jose) and served us a great breakfast in the morning. The rooms were nice and they had a fridge stocked with beer and wine. This was very appreciated after a long flight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is one of the best options for price/value in the San Jose area. The rooms (I have been in a balcony room and in one of the smaller rooms on the top floor) are generous, the beds firm and comfortable, bathroom ample, shower great, staff always willing to help, and taxi service to airport very useful. It is hidden away within Santa Ana, but with a car you are close to both the Santa Ana area, Lindora and to Escazu. In addition, you are around 20 minutes away from the airport. Save your money for the beach or the restaurants, and stay at a great place.

Room Tip: balcony rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Small and comfortable with amenities. Javier and Rebecca were super friendly and helpful. The personalized touch letter, in the room by the owner was very welcoming...have to say that is very classy! And most importantly, that salmon! OMG best I've ever had!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We've stayed only one night in this hotel, as we arrived in Costa Rica at 7.30 pm. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood, not much to do around, but not far away from the airport and for about $20 they provide transportation to there.
Front desk staff is very attentive and the gentleman there gave us all the information we asked for and even some advice about travelling in Costa Rica. The hotel is new, very clean with a nice decoration.
Our room had enough space, a smart-tv, good wi-fi network and a good bathroom. They give attention to the details, as you can see in their amenities and all the decoration.
Breakfast is good and well-balanced, they provide a menu and then you can choose from the options.
We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice.
I was sorry we could not stay more days in this hotel, but we had to depart early the next morning, but we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We went to Costa Rica for the first time and were kinda cautious as this was an international travel. We decided to take a night halt in San Jose and then proceed to our next hop the next day. The hotel is very well kept. Its clean with all the required amenities, AC, safe, iron, mini refrigerator. The staff here is very helpful and polite. The breakfast was very good. The location of the hotel is also very good. There is a 24 hr gas station at the next block. The Lindora area where all the good restaurants are located is about a 10 min drive from the hotel. The hotel charges you a $100 deposit at the time of check-in. We paid it in cash and got it back at the time our check-out. Its easier that way. All in all, its a very good place to stay after you arrive in San Jose.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.