We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, memorable visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$49 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Santa Ana
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, memorable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This trip was for my brother-in-law's wedding - hosted by the Hotel Luisiana. This is a great value...actually a steal for what you get: Centrally located, short drive from the airport, friendly and accommodating staff (hats off to Angie, Rebecca, and the entire afternoon shift who went above and beyond to appeal to our requests...always gracious and pleasant throughout the entire wedding process), great food and relaxing environment. I'd also like to thank the hotel owner who allowed for the last minute wedding arrangements at this wonderful property.

If we come back to Costa Rica, we'll definitely stay at Luisiana.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
dear guest was a pleasur to assist you in your beautiful marriage , hope we see soon , thanks for your great word from the entire staff !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    177
    47
    9
    8
See reviews for
111
222
55
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Luisiana several times and find it very clean and comfortable. When we have guests coming or going to our hotel in Manuel Antonio "Jungle Creek" from San Jose we recommend this hotel. Easily accessible and they have a $20 shuttle to Airport.. The rooms are very clean and the staff is excellent. Because of the price"very very good" they are busy so you need to book online ahead of time.

Room Tip: Rooms by pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was suggested to us by the women from whom we were renting a house in Dominical. It was a great suggestion. It is close to the highway going to the Pacific coast and was convenient for staying, both coming and going. The breakfast is generous and delicious and the dinners were great, especially the pasta dishes. The dining room is charming and offers a nice selection of wines. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We were a family of 10 and were able to get rooms next to each other. A warm and friendly place. We hope to return there someday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nosara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Located near Santana/Escazu area this hotel offers a great value. Comfortable and clean rooms at a good price. Every time my wife and I are in San Jose this is our hotel of choice! Secure parking for your car. There is a swimming pool and patio chairs outside your room which makes it quint. Rooms come with Wi-Fi and free Netflix so if the weather is bad you can just relax in your room. There are plenty of high quality restaurants nearby and the Multiplex. It is also close to the CIMA Hospital as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilito, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is hotel is a great find. We have stayed there on several occasions. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and all have A/C, internet, computers or smart TV's. The parking lot is secure, the people friendly and the beds are comfortable. I highly recommend this as a first choice in the Santa Ana, Ezcazu areas and it is only 10 min or so to the SJO airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruce
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I really like this place. I needed a night to stay over in SJ area and got through Kayak a great deal for this Hotel. I was really surprise how good it was. great Internet conection, excellent bed, clean rooms, quite area. If I ever need to stay extra days in SJ I will definitely pick this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place was great! I got some of the best sleep here that I got in my whole 2 months trip. The beds are super comfortable. It was nice to have a kitchenette to keep costs down. This place was conveniently located close to the hwy, tons of restaurants, grocery store, and airport. We ended up staying here twice on two different excursions. My only complaint is that they have a secure parking lot (which is great..), but I had to get out of the car every time we wanted to leave and walk through the lobby, where someone is staring at a security camera monitoring screen and they always knew we were there, so why not just hit the button anyway and open the gate... That seems pretty lazy of me, but it would have improved my stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Google Translation
estamada huespede
sorry por el manejo de las camara de seguridad ! tratamo de abrir solo en el caso que estamos seguro que un huespede registrado , yo se que la seguridad alta a veces molesta , pero' es para el biene estar de los huspedes mismo...............
mucha gracias por tan buen commentario!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: 100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.