We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique-like hotel at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Boutique-like hotel at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Overall, I was VERY pleasantly surprised by Hotel Luisiana. I had already stayed at the Wyndham in San Jose & the Barceló on this particular trip, and so I expected the worst because of the budget-friendly pricing. But this hotel has a nice Indie-like quality. Low budget but well-done, nicely decorated and a sort of hip vibe.
Our experience would really be more of a 2.5 to 3-star, but I think that is due to the fact that we had one of only a couple very small rooms in the front over the office area. These rooms are odd-shaped, have some shower issues, and the roll-away bed we requested was probably the worst mattress I've ever slept on.
HOWEVER...the hotel lobby is very nice, and though small it is every bit as classy as the large hotels with their large prices. The restaurant looks very nice, and it was great to see the Italian theme and wine choices instead of Imperial beer! (Just don't get your hopes up for real tiramisu, though. It IS Costa Rica, after all.)
We didn't have a chance to use the pool, but it looked nice (though modest). The lobby staff had some good tourism advice mixed with some not-so-good (if you're with children, avoid Jaco!), but they were friendly and helpful. The area was nicer than the large resort-hotels mentioned previously; somewhat of an upscale suburb; another pleasant surprise. I didn't know about a fitness center. (?)
Overall, this hotel is the nicest you'll ever find for the price.

Room Tip: Don't get the small ones over the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    209
    58
    12
    11
See reviews for
137
250
69
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Beautiful property and décor. I was very impressed with the clean, modern room that was probably more comfortable than your average American hotel room. The hotel was also surprisingly homey and quaint thanks to the personal letter from the owner and friendliness of all the staff. I will definitely stay here again when I am back in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It is a very nice hotel, especially the old building with big verandas outside, relaxed atmosphere, not so many rules. If one doesn't have a car there are buses all the way into downtown San Jose. A nice bottle of wine on the sidetable, affordable. Very smart letter from the owner, who asks actually the guest to think twice before witing a negative review on just this site, Tripadviser. As a hotel owner myself, I agree to 100%.

Room Tip: If you plan to extend your stay, make sure with the reception they got that message. We told the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before moving on to Orosi. We are a family of four, with two children aged 11 and 8. The hotel was lovely and the car was safe as the hotel is tucked away behind security gates. The beds were really comfortable and the room was very big. The only difficulty that we had was funding the place as it is quite tucked away and out satnav took us somewhere comp,etsy different.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are good as these allow direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a wonderful and unique hotel, a rare experience. Staff always went above and beyond our needs. I have stayed in hotels all over the world, and this was head and shoulders above any competition. I will definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: King Bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when we first got into Costa Rica. It was a very comfortable stay. The beds were super comfy and the staff was very nice and accommodating. Also, we were able to go into town to grab dinner and some water at the market. It was about a 15 minute walk. I would recommend this place. Great place for a great value

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Luisiana at least 20 times in the last 10 months. It's our home away from home. The cleanliness is consistent and the reception is always friendly. Because it is so affordable, we are able to come back again and again. We make many trips into San Jose (which is 4 hours away from where we live) and we are so glad that we have a place to stay that is clean, friendly and affordable! Thank you, Mr. Ivan!
Jim and Gloria Matthews

Room Tip: I like the rooms with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.