We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel AND price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$49 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Leduc Alberta
1 review
“Fantastic hotel AND price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Hotel Luisiana when we first arrived in Costa Rica. Never having been to the country before, I was a little unsure what to expect, and any fears I had were gone when we reached this hotel. The people at the check in desk were exceptional - Randall took us up to our room, ensured everything was in working order and that we weren't in need of anything. He answered our questions about Santa Ana and Costa Rica with phenomenal English! The hotel was exceptionally clean; the beds were very comfortable, there was a fridge in the room, stocked with a bottle of wine, an in-room safe and a very modern shower with good water pressure. The hotel had free wi-fi and a gated parking lot although we felt very safe during our entire trip to the country. We thoroughly enjoyed drinking our coffee in the morning on the beautiful patio outside of our room. While we didn't use it, there is a pool on the property that is beautiful. There is also a restaurant at the hotel which looked fantastic! All of this for an incredible price!! We will definitely return and would like to thank Ivan, the owner, and all of the staff for making our stay such an enjoyable one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    181
    50
    9
    10
See reviews for
119
228
58
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved the hotel! It was so nice and clean, big rooms with VERY comfy beds. The air conditioning units were quiet and efficient so you could enjoy the temp you wanted without the noise. We have a one year old and the pool was perfect! it ha a very gradual incline deeper to the main part so our child could walk around in the shallow end. The only negative is the restaurant was overpriced for average food and it took longer than expected to get to the airport, that being said we will be staying here in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica, since it is close to the airport. After staying in hostels all week, this hotel was a nice treat! It was very clean and stylish, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and modern. This hotel is not easy to find, but once we found it, we were glad we did. The Italian food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and was a nice change after eating rice and beans all week. The breakfast was also good. The pool looked nice, but we didn't have time to use it. Would definitely recommend for days coming to/from the san jose airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice place. Clean rooms, modern conveniences (smart TV, 2 ply toilet paper, AC), very nice staff. Weird location, inside a neighborhood, between a warehouse and houses. Great price but be sure that when budgeting to account for $20 taxi into the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Thanks for having us once again, will keep on visiting Hotel Luisiana every time I'm in the area for pleasure or business trips.
I will also make sure to recommend your services to all my friends staying in the Central Valley area.
Keep on the great work!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I only stay for two days but it was a great choice. Inexpensive, beautiful and with great service. Keep in mind that is a little bit far from the center of the city in a more suburban area but this also makes it very peaceful. Also you will have to cover the fee for the airport shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice set up. I really liked it but the insects were too much. I went to front and all they did was spray the room, which only made the bugs come out to die on the bed and on my luggage. Got another room that also had bugs, the saturated the room which smelled like raid and the bugs were still there. After switching twice and both rooms were infested. I just left and stayed at another hotel.

Room Tip: Request they spray your room for bugs before you get there. Switched rooms twice and both had bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Google Translation
estimado cliente , lo siento mucho por lo occurido , pero' hay que recordarse que costa rica es un pais tropical y tiene sus especie de insectos .....esta no es mi justificacion de lo ocurido , solo tuvimos 1 semana un poquito dificil y tuvimos que fumegar varias veces todo el hotel , le pido mil disculpa y le pido me contacte para poderle regalar una noche ! saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: 100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.