We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location in Santa Ana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$49 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Santa Ana
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Convenient location in Santa Ana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was my second experience at Hotel Luisiana and it remains a favorite. While our room this time was on the third floor and thus no outside sitting area, the couple who accompanied us had a room on the second floor and a sitting area. We had a wonderful dinner at the hotel restaurant and the absolute favorite entree was the pasta with clam sauce - don't miss it! Computers in each room mean you don't have to bring your own with you and you can call both local and international free from the room - very convenient. Personnel at the reception desk are very helpful. Will continue to stay here when we need a hotel in Santa Ana.

Room Tip: If you value an outside sitting area let them know when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    182
    46
    12
    9
See reviews for
105
214
50
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We travel to San Jose at least once a month to buy supplies. We are so happy to have found this hotel. It is perfectly located for our needs.
The hotel is charrming. The rooms spacious and beautifully decorated. Our room had a lovely deep bath to relax in. Each room has a little sitting area on the large wrap around porch. The bed was luxurious. Everything was so clean. The staff polite, friendly and helpful.
The only thing I thought could be improved is the landscaping around the pool. I am sure this is a work in progress.
I usually dread our monthly jaunts to the big city but I am already looking forward to our next trip even though we just got home today!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have traveled all over the world and have stayed in many many hotels, this hotel Luisiana has been the BEST for my money. It is very hard to find (thank God I know spanish) the signs were very small & hard to find but well worth it when we did find it. The people at reception are the greatest they do everything to make your stay wonderful. They made arrangements for all of our tours (& they were fantastic river rafting was the best!). The room was very roomy but the bed was the best better than the one I sleep at home. Had free internet with a free apple computer in each room (so I didn't need to take my laptop) Had free calls to the US so I could call home free. TV was the greatest with free netflex & over 30 channels to watch. Overall it was just awesome & the price was perfect. Will definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: renting a car is a good idea the hotel has a lock up parking area that was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I flew into San Jose airport and spent the first night at this hotel due to its close location to the airport. It was extremely affordable and very clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. I will use this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newaygo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

20 minutes to the airport in a nice neighborhood. Close to lots of places to eat. Nice pool and nice rooms. I would definitely stay here again. The dinner was included and pretty good. Each room has a little table on the balcony to relax

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband, 12 year old daughter and I stayed at Hotel Luisiana during the first and last night of our vacation in Costa Rica. The rates are very affordable and the room was spacious and clean. The front desk staff Ronald was very kind and accommodating as were the other staff we met. We had a wonderful dinner in the hotel restaurant the first night. The pumpkin ravioli in mushroom sauce was delicious. Breakfast the next morning was also great and came with fresh cut watermelon and pineapple. The coffee was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others looking for good value and good service. The beds were very comfortable as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is a 20-minute cab ride from the San Jose airport and offers the comfort and safety of being so.

The hotel and grounds are architecturally beautiful, designed by its Italian owner. Wi-fi and phone calls to the US are free.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: 100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.